Stuntman PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Stuntman Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rise from rookie driver to hero of the silver screen. Have you got what it takes? In the world of stunt driving, fear is failure. One slip and your Hollywood dreams are over. The higher you climb, the higher the stakes. Grip the wheel, hit the gas, chase the glory. [Infogrames]
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Game Informer
    93
    The near Zen-like state that is required to pull off the scenes - and the adrenaline rush that goes along with it - is what makes Stuntman the great game it is. [July 2002, p.78]
  2. Think about it: How many other games out there can keep our collective attention for so long without even giving us anything as tangible as the thrill of completing a single level?
  3. So annoying, yet so damn addictive. [Gamesmaster]
  4. The only drawbacks from this otherwise stellar title are the twitchy handling and the potential redundancy.
  5. Stuntman is purely about skilled, balletic driving. The redundancy of trying the same stunt over and over again is an exercise in tedium, yet the visual pay off is huge.
  6. 60
    While you’ve gotta love Stuntman’s originality and electrifying stunts, its high level of frustration and repetition will drive many gamers away. Far, far away.
  7. I don’t imagine myself as a gaming whiz by any stretch, but I’m good enough to stay in the running most of the time, and when I started to crack the 20 retries, then 30… then 40… then 50… I stopped having fun and started hating the experience I was being subjected to.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. MattC.
    Jul 1, 2002
    10
    The game is realistic and accurate. I don't think they could have done a better job. I'm really suprised the reviews have not been The game is realistic and accurate. I don't think they could have done a better job. I'm really suprised the reviews have not been a lot higher. The game takes some skill and practice but it is absolutely NOT frustrating. Frustrating is when a game doesn't do what it is supposed to do. If you like cheap arcade games with forgiving AI then you will be frustrated but real gamers will be in heaven. Loading times are not nearly as bad as some say. The game is a total BLAST! and my fave PS2 game to date. Expand
  2. LanaH.
    Jul 2, 2002
    9
    This is a very action packed, addicting and just plain fascinating game. You are an actual Stuntman and you make the movie happen. The movies This is a very action packed, addicting and just plain fascinating game. You are an actual Stuntman and you make the movie happen. The movies are SO extremely sweet and I just can't get enough of those graphics. This game isn't for beginners, although it's not for advanced players either. The game can be difficult for people to beat but once you get the hang if it, you get the idea that is game pure genius. The sound is great and controling the car is simple. It even has a Construction Site in which you create your own stunt using multiple ramps, smashables, and other mind blowing toys. You would need to unlock most of them in the Stuntman career. This game has great replays and their's lots I haven't mentioned. All in all, this is a MUST-BUY for any PS2 fan and I recommend buying it or at least renting it. Expand
  3. HiRoller
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    This is one great game, great graphics sound and gameplay. Yes I admit that it is hard but that what makes it good the fact that you cannot This is one great game, great graphics sound and gameplay. Yes I admit that it is hard but that what makes it good the fact that you cannot complete it in a short amount of time. It is frustrating enough to keep you coming back for more even if the PS2 controller is smashed to gazillion little pieces from previous attempts. Anyone who loved the first 2 Drivers on PSone will drool over the first release from Reflections for the PS2 and for anyone that doesn't like this game because it is too hard..... may I suggest Alfred Chicken?? Expand
  4. SBSpence
    Jul 16, 2002
    6
    Very engaging game....initially. You soon find it insanely difficult, and tedious with it's painfully long load times. This game is a Very engaging game....initially. You soon find it insanely difficult, and tedious with it's painfully long load times. This game is a BIG letdown for me...I was hoping this game would be a step up from the Driver Duo on PSX, but it's simply wasn't in my book. Part of the charm of the similar Genre..ie Driver (I and II), and GTA3, was the free roaming aspects of the games. There is no such option in this game...sorry but I'm disappointed in this spur of the moment (on my part) purchase. Fool me once... Expand
  5. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 11, 2002
    5
    It's very disappointing overall. The stunts are sometimes very frustrating to pull because they involve many elements and are done It's very disappointing overall. The stunts are sometimes very frustrating to pull because they involve many elements and are done largely by trial and error. Expand
  6. TheSensitiveNakedGamer
    Aug 1, 2002
    5
    Playing this game in full nuditiy, I severly hurt myself when I leaped up to smash my controller against the wall. It was so frustrating, I Playing this game in full nuditiy, I severly hurt myself when I leaped up to smash my controller against the wall. It was so frustrating, I cried myself to sleep while holding the box next to my feverish forehead. Expand
  7. MikEPaYnE
    Jul 8, 2002
    0
    I got so mad at this piece of trash game that right when i screwed up the last stunt about my 500th time i picked up my PS2 and smashed it on I got so mad at this piece of trash game that right when i screwed up the last stunt about my 500th time i picked up my PS2 and smashed it on my floor and beat it into pieces with my bat that i keep by my bed. even though i did lose 200 bucks (even though i paid 300 for it) it was all worth it. BECAUSE STUNTMAN FELT MikEPaYnE. AND THATS THE BOTTOM LINE..... 'CAUSE MikEPaYnE TOLD IT TO YOU. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#50 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#48 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002