• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2002
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. A few rough edges remain, but aside from that Suikoden III is a well planed and executed Strategy Rpg, that draws the player into the game in a way that few Rpg’s do.
  2. Although Suikoden 3 is better than the average Japenese RPG, it's clear that with the move to 3D Konami has tried to freshen the formula. But by watering down the series' bastion gameplay elements it may have alienated all but the fanatics. [Sept 2003]
  3. It won't blow you away, but RPG fans who can see beyond the drab look and slow intro will find a rewarding epic. [Dec 2002, p.218]
  4. Epic in scale, grandiose in presentation, and fun to play. This kind of game comes along so rarely, and when it does it shows off what a RPG can be.
  5. 100
    Sadly, true quality storytelling is extremely rare in this age of overblown and pretentious stories so commonly found in the "Final Fantasy" series and its imitators. Suikoden 3 is a welcome and finely-crafted exception.
  6. This game does what all RPGs (and good books) set out to do: harness your emotions. I couldn't recomend it more. [Dec 2002, p.107]
  7. Although it has some technical issues and has some dated gameplay features, Suikoden III's enormous breadth, creative triptych storytelling approach and monstrous character list give it a distinct edge.
  8. 90
    Improved in more ways than is physically possible to list.
  9. Tells a great story with great characters, offers a lot of variety and, despite its graphical and audio deficiencies, is still the best RPG of 2002.
  10. A little rough in spots, but it has the makings of a classic.
  11. 84
    Suikoden fans will immediately "hate" the new battle system, while they will probably just "dislike" the world map and the move to 3D graphics with no camera control.
  12. The writing weighs down the gameplay, too many cutscenes slow the course through it, and a linear path will drive some gameplayers right up a wall.
  13. On top of that flexibility lies one of the better written stories in recent memory, and then thrown in is one of the most ingenious ways of telling it.
  14. 94
    One of the most enjoyable, deep, and pleasing Role-Playing adventures I've ever experienced, Konami's three-time lucky masterpiece is as close to perfection as I could have hoped.
  15. The story campaign will take you around 50 hours to complete with all the characters, which is a very solid amount of time for a game of this stature.
  16. The story is both huge and deep and the game itself will provide you will a serious challenge. In fact, you may find yourself dead a huge number of times as many battles will require strategy and planning just to survive. When you finally get through the game, you'll feel rewarded for the effort.
  17. It may not live up to Hard core fans’ expectations, but by no means is it a weak RPG.
  18. 96
    A masterpiece in the world of console RPGs...bringing in one of the most engrossing storylines ever, impressive battle systems, and some good visuals into an overall incredible package.
  19. The story is like a bag of bricks I had to heave along as I slogged my way forward...What a disappointment. [Dec 2002, p.172]
  20. I've just played the most majestic, delicately crafted role-playing game since "Chrono Cross." [Dec 2002, p.77]
  21. Phenomenal storyline. [Holiday 2002, p.37]
  22. Its deep plot, decent battle system and engaging character personalities make Suikoden III an easy choice for players that value story-telling prowess over flashy visuals.
  23. 91
    All things considered, Suikoden III is one of the best RPG titles there is. The deep story, character development, and combat system come together perfectly to bring you at minimum forty hours of entertainment.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. It has not a lot of music and the graphics aren't the best, but the story is so good, that I couldn't stop playing. It is one of the best storylines that I ever saw! Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    One of best Suikoden games in the series. Not great like II, but best of the Ps2 and handhelds generations. Suikoden V has more overated because of the combat system. Suikoden III brings combat system in 6 party members, but is diferent from previous games, and have a slower flow. But this game really shines on plotline, one of best I ever seen. A must for Suikoden old series fans. Full Review »
  3. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Extremely refreshing game in an era that was saturated with mediocre RPGs. This game stood up heads and shoulders over most of the other games of it's time. Full Review »