Suikoden V PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
Buy On
  1. A very average to mediocre game that’s held together by a good story and cast. [JPN Import]
  2. While there are giant leaps towards putting things right this is a game that seems to be grasping for what once was rather than setting its paths straight into a bright and engaging future.
  3. At first glance, Suikoden V looks like just another turn-based RPG in which good and evil face off and destiny conquers all. But in a subtle, subversive way, it shows that we can't take our own goodness for granted. Learning that there is no absolute good in war is an important, and powerful, lesson.
  4. AceGamez
    70
    A move in the right direction in terms of gameplay elements, but the series needs to completely revamp the visual and technical engines backing it next time around. This is far from the best RPG you can find on the PS2, but easily the best Suikoden in a long while.
  5. 65
    It feels like nothing has changed since Suikoden 3; actually, Suikoden 3 probably looks better than 5. Grandia 2 looks better than this. If I had to be a stickler, Chrono Cross for the Playstation was more visually impressive.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    65
    The series needs a major shot in the arm, as it's starting to show its age more than ever. [May 2006, p.103]
  7. Play UK
    63
    Suikoden V doesn't remind us of the past, it reminds us how much games have grown since, which is something this franchise seems intent on not doing. [Issue 145, p.90]
  8. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It does little to update the series' aging formula, but Suikoden V is still an enjoyable experience with a compelling story. [May 2006, p.81]
  9. Instead of picking where to go from a menu on the screen like you were searching for Carmen Sandiego, you actually get to roam around the various cities and other places on the map.
  10. games(TM)
    60
    A great Suikoden game, then, but only a fair role-playing game by today's standards. [Sept 2006, p.128]
  11. Although by no means a perfect RPG, Suikoden V is an enjoyable game, but more so for connoisseurs of the series or RPG fans. Those new to the genre might wish to go for something which is more accessible and moves at a faster pace.
  12. Long loading screens and some bad design decisions make this game a tougher sale than it should be, but a great story and excellent voice acting make for an easy rental.
  13. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    50
    Its intelligent plot and great looks could have made Suikoden V spellbinding - if only it wasn't so tedious. [Nov 2006, p.106]

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#78 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. QquinaU.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    One of the best RPG out there. If you are bored with RPG game with crappy storyline and nothing but graphic show like Kingdom Heart 2. One of the best RPG out there. If you are bored with RPG game with crappy storyline and nothing but graphic show like Kingdom Heart 2. Suikoden V is perfect for you! The graphic of the game is decent. The storyline is BEYOND superb. This is a must-have for every RPG player. Full Review »
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Criminally underrated game in the venerable Suikoden series.

    I chortle at Suikoden V's critic score being lower than the laborious Suikoden
    Criminally underrated game in the venerable Suikoden series.

    I chortle at Suikoden V's critic score being lower than the laborious Suikoden III. Trust me when I say that V is a lot better than III. In fact, V is my favorite after II.

    P.S. Unskippable cutscenes suck.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I have loved all the Suikoden games; I have the first thru the fifth. And especially like the game play and the characters in THIS one. LikeI have loved all the Suikoden games; I have the first thru the fifth. And especially like the game play and the characters in THIS one. Like that you can make orbs and build your skills(great touch). There really isn't anything i don't like about this game. The characters have personalities and a great range of individuality. Enjoy the battles too. Rune archers, infantry, calvary and lots more. Sea and land battles that you have to use your head to win.

    Shopping, treasures, trading, prizes for winning battles and alot more pleasant surprises on your journeys, this games the game worth it. If you decide to get this game in my opinion you won't be disappointed.

    This game has the old school charm of Suikoden 1 & 2. Unfortunately it has the old school camera angle. It's not that the graphics are bad, it's just that at the 3/4 angle view It's kind of hard to see the detail. You can zoom up, but then it's hard to get a view of your surroundings. Plus the non-cinematic cut scenes are in the wide angle.

    My biggest compliment: Replay value

    After obtaining all 108 stars of destiny and playing around with some of the more interesting characters, I clocked in about 62 hours with this game. However, it should be noted that I played 40 of those hours in the matter of one week (and i'm a guy who played Persona 4 for a year)! Suikoden 5 is INCREDIBLY addicting and if you are in the middle of a relationship or attending school at this time, I DON'T recommend you dive into this game right now. Just make sure you get copy though! Who knows how high the price may inflate in the future? PS2 games are hard to find because Sony still doesn't want to bring them out on PS3 or higher systems.

    Drawbacks:
    Tons of cutscenes (like the first Xenosaga)
    Some of the areas have bad music
    Load times can be bad (I guess this might not be a problem in the future with a digital version not on DVD)
    The story takes some time to pick up

    Conclusion: If you are tired of Final Fantasy and all the clones, gives Suiko5 a try. It's not a dungeon crawler; it's not an anime music disguised as a game (looking at you, Xenosaga 1). btw, please leave a review once you play this and please DO give the 108 stars of Destiny a try. That's 70 solid hours of gameplay right there.
    Full Review »