Summoner 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2002
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    The original Summoner was, and continues to be, one of my all time favourite games.

    This 'sequel' in a sense does it justice. It continues to be a very fun game, complete with an interesting story and a correspondingly intricate lore/mythos to accompany it. The game's main downfall is of course the combat system, which usually results in button mashing. The combat itself is still a
    The original Summoner was, and continues to be, one of my all time favourite games.

    This 'sequel' in a sense does it justice. It continues to be a very fun game, complete with an interesting story and a correspondingly intricate lore/mythos to accompany it.

    The game's main downfall is of course the combat system, which usually results in button mashing. The combat itself is still a large improvement over the original's robotic d-pad button pushing however, and is still largely quite enjoyable.

    The other downfalls include the very linear game progression, some small bugs and how sick of Queen Maia you are by the end of the game.

    Overall a great PS2 title, definitely worth a play.
    Expand
  2. Airshod
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    Great game, enjoyed it when it was released, and have just started to play again (3 odd years later) and it is just as engrossing and fun as I remember. A must have for any RPG fan.
  3. SirRook
    Mar 1, 2003
    9
    Well done Action/RPG that should appeal to even strict turn-based RPG fans. I personally prefer turn-based RPG's being somewhat tactically minded but Summoner 2 does a great job of mixing an action based fighting system with a nice skill system and plenty of quests in a very large world. Cut-Scenes are gorgeous and voices are well-done. A very satisfying experience that most RPG and Well done Action/RPG that should appeal to even strict turn-based RPG fans. I personally prefer turn-based RPG's being somewhat tactically minded but Summoner 2 does a great job of mixing an action based fighting system with a nice skill system and plenty of quests in a very large world. Cut-Scenes are gorgeous and voices are well-done. A very satisfying experience that most RPG and Action fans will enjoy. Expand
  4. KimberlyC.
    Dec 26, 2002
    9
    This game is awesome! I started playing it, and every day I couldn't wait to get home from work just so I could play. Fantastic storyline, great enemies, this game rules.
  5. TommyE.
    Nov 28, 2002
    7
    Excellent game but too many glitches.
  6. Tony
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Great challenge !! I never played first one, hear that was a good thing.
  7. I.F.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    I thought the first game was great, but this is even better.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    The best rpg ever all other games will bend over and take it from summoner 2 or THQ will send out Urath, god of all.
  9. JoeM.
    Oct 7, 2002
    1
    This game was a disgrace. Sure we can all agree with the new battle system taking care of the quick tap to increase your damage, but now we have resorted to a mindless button mash. Something reserved for fighting games. And the boring level system. You complete an area and go to the castle then go to another level for the same mindless button mash. The game is a pathetic sequel to a great This game was a disgrace. Sure we can all agree with the new battle system taking care of the quick tap to increase your damage, but now we have resorted to a mindless button mash. Something reserved for fighting games. And the boring level system. You complete an area and go to the castle then go to another level for the same mindless button mash. The game is a pathetic sequel to a great game and should not be bought for any reason aside from the company going bankrupt and they are giving them out for free. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#86 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#54 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Summoner 2 is to the original Summoner what a case of shower grout is to a clogged drainpipe full of hair.
  2. Play Magazine
    60
    Animation-wise, what's here is nice, and the models are very good, but Maia especially needs more variety. [Nov 2002, p.85]
  3. Packing a solid plot, creative elements not really seen in RPGs, and tons of action, Volition looks to have another hit on their hands.