Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Controls are solid, graphics are passable, and the upgradable weapons are a nice touch. [Dec 2003, p.150]
  2. 70
    SWAT’s action isn’t of the highest caliber. But with 21 levels, some cool concepts, and great multiplayer support, it’s a fine rental for most and an enjoyable mission for FPS fans.
  3. 66
    It'll make for a pretty good rental, especially if you have a headset lying around.
  4. Edge Magazine
    60
    There are neat touches: you've got infinite ammo, brilliantly, and inhaling gas leaves you with a temporary cough that ruins your aim … but it needs a few more tactics to make it more than the sum of its admittedly solid parts. [Christmas 2003, p.116]
  5. GMR Magazine
    60
    The novelty of yapping it up boosts this game from mere mediocrity into a somewhat-intriguing solid title. [Dec 2003, p.86]
  6. A very average game that is perhaps worth a weekend rental. There's too many other games that are more fun out now to give this game a better rating.
  7. Despite the crushing averageness that SWAT displays in the visuals and the by the numbers level design, it's a strange experience to reflect on how much we enjoyed it.
  8. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    A competent shooter for gamers not quite ready for "Rainbow Six" - despite the questionable feature of essentially letting you command your team to do everything required, which almost means you're having the A.I. finish the game for you. [Nov 2003, p.142]
  9. Play Magazine
    58
    The most interesting shakeup to the action is the emphasis being placed on incapacitating thugs instead of always going in with guns set on blood-thirsty kill, but this idea works much better in theory, growing old fast and never playing out like you might expect. [Dec 2003, p.82]
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    50
    Shawn's right about the wonky enemy A.I., and SWAT's crude, blocky graphics feel seriously dated. Some exciting teamwork potential exists (especially in co-op missions), but sloppy execution bogs it down. [Dec 2003, p.192]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. LEEP.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    Superb features,weapons, and gameplay. it's ace and I don't even have a headset!
  2. TyC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    5
    This game is good and bad for a variety of reasons. This is good, having a new police related, first-person shooter. It's fun using the This game is good and bad for a variety of reasons. This is good, having a new police related, first-person shooter. It's fun using the compliance meter to make the enemies surrender, but I found it disappointing that there was only four weapons that could be used. I found it boring to wait and collect points to upgrade the weapons. I wish they had other things for inventory, and I found no point with the glow-sticks. It has a good multiplayer, but doesn't give much of a twist from the main storyline. It is definitely a renter though. Have Fun---Or Not? Full Review »
  3. PurpleBoy
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Its a cracking game, being able to get people on their knees and shoot them in the back of the head is a hell of a laugh! I didn't findIts a cracking game, being able to get people on their knees and shoot them in the back of the head is a hell of a laugh! I didn't find it particularly 'erotic' though. Full Review »