User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SakariO.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, a big Kummeli hand for the greatest action packed gorefested masterpiece. Almost beats Manhunt and Die-Hard Trilogy...almost.
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 20, 2004
    5
    This game lost all that was fun about it. The game play used to include sneaking around, shooting people from far away, a much more interesting and challenging weapon-aiming gameplay. Now it's just a run around and shoot people game. The original syphon filter was different from all other mission games, it's not lost all it's originality.
  3. GabeL.
    May 6, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome!!!
  4. PartyBoy
    May 7, 2004
    0
    This game was absolutely horrible... it hasnt really changed 2 much since the ones on ps1.
  5. AnsonG
    Dec 7, 2006
    3
    This is Syphon Filter??? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the original Syphon Filter, u could hardly tell the difference. The whole scenery in this game, no matter what level, is choppy and more like Playstation game. But i do know what or when someone in main character is killed one thing I will state right off the bat this-Syphon Filter TOS dont feel like a new SF game. ItThis is Syphon Filter??? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the original Syphon Filter, u could hardly tell the difference. The whole scenery in this game, no matter what level, is choppy and more like Playstation game. But i do know what or when someone in main character is killed one thing I will state right off the bat this-Syphon Filter TOS dont feel like a new SF game. It feels more like expansion pack. In this game, u take command of an agent for Gabe Logan and numerous other people. The "heroes" of the older games are now "retired" in a sense, even though they do not look as if they have aged at all. How ever, terrible control worsen an already lackluster performance for Syphon Filter. I remember when Syphon first come out on the ps1 . The great game leads many to believe that it could have been as great as MGS(Metal Gear Solid) was. SF could Have accomplished that task if somebody didnt get lazy when they designedthis game. If u are ging to "resurrect" a series completely. Stay away from this game and play the original Syphon Filters on the ps1 because that is the memory u should have of a great series, not this terrible memory that this game has given me. Expand
  6. OmarM.
    May 4, 2004
    10
    It was awesome I really enjoyed beating this game the gameplay is truly remarkable!
  7. JoeyDude
    May 9, 2004
    10
    It is awesome don't listen to the reviewers, because it's awesome!
  8. SaraS.
    Aug 6, 2004
    3
    This game was a disappointment from start to middle, which was when I frustratingly stopped playing. As a very big fan of the series I eagerly anticipated the arrival of the PS2 title and was bitterly disappointed with the result. Not playing as Gabe was a shock in itself along with the impossible map-during-gameplay and the fact that failing an objective meant you had to start all over This game was a disappointment from start to middle, which was when I frustratingly stopped playing. As a very big fan of the series I eagerly anticipated the arrival of the PS2 title and was bitterly disappointed with the result. Not playing as Gabe was a shock in itself along with the impossible map-during-gameplay and the fact that failing an objective meant you had to start all over again. This game threw away everything that was good about it's predecessors along with probably half of its fan-base. Expand
  9. TonyB.
    Jan 30, 2006
    3
    The reason I gave this game a 3 is becouse of the respect that I have for 1,2, and 3. Im not to sure if I played the 2nd 1. But I did play and beat 1 and 3 becouse of all the different weaponry and that taser. But every one I talked to said that this one SFthe omega srtain sucked, I didnt take there word for it and wasted my money on buying the game. I've only gotn through the lil The reason I gave this game a 3 is becouse of the respect that I have for 1,2, and 3. Im not to sure if I played the 2nd 1. But I did play and beat 1 and 3 becouse of all the different weaponry and that taser. But every one I talked to said that this one SFthe omega srtain sucked, I didnt take there word for it and wasted my money on buying the game. I've only gotn through the lil training part and I've gotn a huge dis like and thats the freakn control, the camer, and what happnd to the lock on target thing that the other Syphon's had? Not to mention not being able to play as Gabe! Uhhh, It make me made just thinkn about it. I hope the game gets better as I go... Cuz if not ya'll gonna have ta step it up not 1 but 2 notches for the next game cuz that took ya'll ratings down with me BIG time. Expand
  10. AnsonG
    Jul 31, 2006
    2
    This is a huge what the heck? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the orginal of Spyhon Filter 1,2, and 3, u could hardly tell the difference. The whole scenery in this game, no matter what level, is choppy and more like a playsation game. But, u will not be able to tell that much. The game was mainly overshadowed by darkness, terrible controls, as well as terrible scenery, even This is a huge what the heck? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the orginal of Spyhon Filter 1,2, and 3, u could hardly tell the difference. The whole scenery in this game, no matter what level, is choppy and more like a playsation game. But, u will not be able to tell that much. The game was mainly overshadowed by darkness, terrible controls, as well as terrible scenery, even overshadow a lackluster preformance. Also, I maybe or not maybe be a soldier in a war, but i do know that when someone was killed, their body does not look like that of someone who is prefectly fine. This mainly applies for when a "main" character is killed. Syphon Filter The Omega Strain does not fell a "new" Syphon Filter" game. It feels more like an expansion pack. In this game, u take command of an agent for Gabe Logan and numerous other people. The heroes of the older games are now retired in a past sense, even though they do not look as if they have aged at all. However, terrible controls worse an already lackluster performance for Syphon Filter. The sound were highpoint of the game, but its far from perfect. It was extremely hard to hear what the mission is supposed to be because the characters speak to quiet unless the volume on your televison is at 70%. u will have trouble trying to get backgrond information on your duties. i remember when Syphon First came out on the playstation. That great game leads many to believe that it could have been as great as Metal Gear Solid was. Syphon Filter could have accompolished that task of somebody didn't get lazy when they designed this game. If u are resurrect a series form the dead, make sure that u dont ruin the series completely . Stay away from the game and play the original Syphon Filters on the ps1, because that is the memory you should have of a great series, not this terrible memory that this game has given me. So dont let it tempt to u. Expand
  11. DareO.
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    I am a fan of dis game and i think its the best game on ps it may be furstrating at times but its great.
  12. Gamegriller
    Jul 27, 2004
    5
    How can so many people rave about this? Don't believe the hype. Because if they actually played it they would see how mediocre and disappointing the controls, camera, and overall pace, are, not to manetion the lousy level select interface
  13. MarkHenderson
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    The Game is great, I love the series. But the only thing i do not like about it is how it punishes people for not playing online. All but Three of the commendations are attainable and only 4 or 5 medal can be gotten. it should have been made like Rainbow six 3 where you still have 3 people helping you but they are controlled by the cpu.
  14. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    In Omega Strain you are some kind of Virus cop. You navigate the map, shoot, collect ammo, and find action stations that advance the plot to your next way-point. The music is awesome. The controls are fluid. The graphics are amazing with lots of particle and lighting effects. The gameplay is pretty straight forward, but very very exciting. The levels might be too long with too much backIn Omega Strain you are some kind of Virus cop. You navigate the map, shoot, collect ammo, and find action stations that advance the plot to your next way-point. The music is awesome. The controls are fluid. The graphics are amazing with lots of particle and lighting effects. The gameplay is pretty straight forward, but very very exciting. The levels might be too long with too much back tracking. Its a disappointment to fail the final objective and play the level again. That might be enough to quit playing actually. The rest of the time you can regenerate to a checkpoint if you die. Your character is mostly a cardboard cut out, that you create, and the story is some kind of Die-hard movie. The production value is high and graphics are good with progressive scan. Super exciting but definitely missing something that could have made it more fun. Its definitely cinematic. I suppose it was meant to be played online and I guess that would have been fun. They should have made the levels shorter with less backtracking. They probably should have made it more cinematic with pauses in the level. It really is run and blast. If you are close enough you don't even have to aim. Pretty fun 3rd person shooter. Not the greatest game. Worth trying out. Expand
  15. Dec 9, 2015
    3
    I hated this game at the time and after giving it another chance much much later, I can see why. The biggest issue with this game, is the constantly re-spawning enemies. It just makes the whole shooting of enemies feel pointless and anger inducing. The women on the radio is really annoying also and seems to only be there to tell you to hurry up and tell you often, The checkpoints are not aI hated this game at the time and after giving it another chance much much later, I can see why. The biggest issue with this game, is the constantly re-spawning enemies. It just makes the whole shooting of enemies feel pointless and anger inducing. The women on the radio is really annoying also and seems to only be there to tell you to hurry up and tell you often, The checkpoints are not a checkpoints, they are re-spawn points and your re-spawning with the ammo missing you used after reaching it and if you failed a side objective after it and before dying, it's still failed. If you died because you was out of ammo then you will re-spawn with no ammo. The game would be a great test as to if you need anger management or not. Expand
  16. Feb 4, 2016
    8
    An insanely fun and quite exceptional shooter that got negative attention in droves without reason. One of the best TPS games I've played so far, and one of the best of the Syphon Filter series. It plays like a classic Syphon Filter, and that's what people sadly hated about it. While many shall not show the proper love this game deserves, I shall show my appreciation and stand up for oneAn insanely fun and quite exceptional shooter that got negative attention in droves without reason. One of the best TPS games I've played so far, and one of the best of the Syphon Filter series. It plays like a classic Syphon Filter, and that's what people sadly hated about it. While many shall not show the proper love this game deserves, I shall show my appreciation and stand up for one kickass game. Expand
  17. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    What can be said about Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain? I **** love it. Its one of my favorite PlayStation 2 games of all time along with Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Resident Evil Code: Veronica X, an Sonic Heroes. There are some games I like and some I don't like but Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain is one of the games I love to death. I need to seeWhat can be said about Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain? I **** love it. Its one of my favorite PlayStation 2 games of all time along with Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Resident Evil Code: Veronica X, an Sonic Heroes. There are some games I like and some I don't like but Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain is one of the games I love to death. I need to see a reboot of the series. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#53 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#99 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. Cooperative multiplayer and the basic gunplay thrills don't quite make up for bad control and ugly graphics.
  2. A disappointing package that clocks in much closer to the other Syphon Filter sequels instead of standing up to the fantastic original game.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The sound effects are varied and realistic but the musical soundtrack steals the show. Not only is there plenty of musical variation but it matches the moods of the game perfectly.