Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Omega Strain, an intense action game, offers more of what sparked the franchise?s popularity with the addition of four-player cooperative peer-to-peer online play, an innovative character customization feature, all-new features and weapons, and larger, richly-detailed, intenseThe Omega Strain, an intense action game, offers more of what sparked the franchise?s popularity with the addition of four-player cooperative peer-to-peer online play, an innovative character customization feature, all-new features and weapons, and larger, richly-detailed, intense international environments. Featuring a lethal arsenal of all-new, high-tech weaponry and sophisticated gunplay, players can take on hostile terrorists alone or band together with up to three other agents online to combat world terror as a team. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. 95
    A chunky online component will keep you coming back for more than just the 40 or so hours of solo game play.
  2. Tense, powerful, and gripping.
  3. What Sony forgot to do was fix the control scheme and think a bit harder about how the game was presented in the single-player section.
  4. 70
    Espionage action games have evolved beyond the standards this series helped establish, but Syphon Filter's combat and accompanying controls remain too old-school for their own good. [June 2004, p.65]
  5. If the control had been more intuitive and the combat had been tightened up, the game could have been more enjoyable, but as things stand, most should give Sony's new shooter a wide birth.
  6. Cooperative multiplayer and the basic gunplay thrills don't quite make up for bad control and ugly graphics.
  7. Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain easily ranks among the worst titles I have ever played on the PlayStation 2, an astounding feat considering that the game came from Sony themselves.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. SakariO.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, a big Kummeli hand for the greatest action packed gorefested masterpiece. Almost beats Manhunt and Die-Hard Trilogy...almost.
  2. GabeL.
    May 6, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome!!!
  3. Jul 29, 2015
    10
    What can be said about Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain? I **** love it. Its one of my favorite PlayStation 2 games of all time along with TombWhat can be said about Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain? I **** love it. Its one of my favorite PlayStation 2 games of all time along with Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Resident Evil Code: Veronica X, an Sonic Heroes. There are some games I like and some I don't like but Syphon Filter: The Omega Strain is one of the games I love to death. I need to see a reboot of the series. Expand
  4. MarkHenderson
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    The Game is great, I love the series. But the only thing i do not like about it is how it punishes people for not playing online. All but The Game is great, I love the series. But the only thing i do not like about it is how it punishes people for not playing online. All but Three of the commendations are attainable and only 4 or 5 medal can be gotten. it should have been made like Rainbow six 3 where you still have 3 people helping you but they are controlled by the cpu. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    May 20, 2004
    5
    This game lost all that was fun about it. The game play used to include sneaking around, shooting people from far away, a much more This game lost all that was fun about it. The game play used to include sneaking around, shooting people from far away, a much more interesting and challenging weapon-aiming gameplay. Now it's just a run around and shoot people game. The original syphon filter was different from all other mission games, it's not lost all it's originality. Expand
  6. AnsonG
    Dec 7, 2006
    3
    This is Syphon Filter??? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the original Syphon Filter, u could hardly tell the difference. TheThis is Syphon Filter??? If i put on an older game, and compared it to the original Syphon Filter, u could hardly tell the difference. The whole scenery in this game, no matter what level, is choppy and more like Playstation game. But i do know what or when someone in main character is killed one thing I will state right off the bat this-Syphon Filter TOS dont feel like a new SF game. It feels more like expansion pack. In this game, u take command of an agent for Gabe Logan and numerous other people. The "heroes" of the older games are now "retired" in a sense, even though they do not look as if they have aged at all. How ever, terrible control worsen an already lackluster performance for Syphon Filter. I remember when Syphon first come out on the ps1 . The great game leads many to believe that it could have been as great as MGS(Metal Gear Solid) was. SF could Have accomplished that task if somebody didnt get lazy when they designedthis game. If u are ging to "resurrect" a series completely. Stay away from this game and play the original Syphon Filters on the ps1 because that is the memory u should have of a great series, not this terrible memory that this game has given me. Expand
  7. PartyBoy
    May 7, 2004
    0
    This game was absolutely horrible... it hasnt really changed 2 much since the ones on ps1.

See all 17 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

54
#54 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004