Tak 2: The Staff of Dreams PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2004
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
Buy On
  1. 84
    Kids will undoubtedly like Tak 2's intuitive control mechanics and colorful characters while adults will -- as we did -- be able to appreciate the underlying humor and the clever puzzles that lie in wait.
  2. It’s a bit on the short side of things and the camera can be a little tricky at times, but overall this is a nice, shiny package worthy of your consideration.
  3. The colorful visuals, well-paced gameplay and smart dialog came as a bit of a shock. Even more surprising was the part where I kept playing, not because I had to review it, but because I wanted to.
  4. While the gameplay in Tak 2: The Staff of Dreams isn’t that original, Avalanche succeeds at making you care for the characters because of their distinctive personality, which shines through the story.
  5. The fantastic cast of characters will keep us laughing throughout the adventure and the mini-games will allow us to involve an occasional buddy in our cartoon fun. Unfortunately, the PS2 already has dozens of platformers and Tak 2 doesn’t seem to add enough to the genre to rise above its competitors.
  6. With new powers, new weapons, new enemies, and new challenges to take on, Tak 2 proves itself a second time as one of the best platform titles of the year.
  7. AceGamez
    80
    One of the best platform offerings to hit these systems in a while, plus a quality children's game for which the competition is extremely limited.
  8. It's not a perfect game, but it does so many things well that missing out on it would be a crime.
  9. With its plethora of options and playability, this is a stellar buy for the younger crowd.
  10. Once you understand the animals the levels become small puzzles rather than living environments. You don't see a bear, but rather you see a trampoline that has to be moved.
  11. It’s genuinely funny without ever bordering on tacky and it really does test anyone who plays it.
  12. It’s good to look at, the humour in the script actually works, it’s fun to play for the most part and it will bring you back for more...but probably only if you’ve nothing much better to do.
  13. Game Informer
    73
    The art direction, character design, and storytelling are all top notch. [Nov 2004, p.146]
  14. All in all, this isn't the sort of game I'd pickup for anyone but a younger kid, but it's not too shabby, and you might find it worth a drive around the block.
  15. 70
    Combines great gameplay with entertaining characters and extremely pretty visuals for a surprisingly fun gaming experience.
  16. 70
    Tak 2's biggest flaw is that we've seen it all before. It's not a bad game, and is certainly a lot better than its predecessor, but it really doesn't do anything particularly well.
  17. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    As long as you and yours can stand some frustration, it's a solid purchase. [Jan 2005, p.106]
  18. GMR Magazine
    70
    There's solid ground on which to build a game, but compared to what Insomniac is doing, much work remains. [Dec 2004, p.126]
  19. Although it may not be as complex or well rounded as many other platforming titles already on the market today, the game does a solid job.
  20. Even for those not willing to hop into gaming’s “kiddy pool,” come on in: the water’s fine.
  21. It's a cute platformer that fills the gap between the overly-kiddified TY the Tasmanian Tiger 2 and Sony's more challenging Jak and Ratchet games. [PSW]
  22. One of many mediocre platformer games available today. If you are looking for an in-depth captivating experience, then there are certainly better games on the market to fit your needs.
  23. Play Magazine
    67
    Tak 2 is a solid day's worth of trippy fun and visual euphoria...but they had to check "epic" at the door to make it happen. [Nov 2004, p.52]
  24. Definitely a more well-conceived game than The Power of Juju, and there are some genuinely fresh, inventive ideas at work here. The problem is, the whole experience is muddled by an inconsistent difficulty and slapdash level designs, and these good ideas don't quite coalesce into a good game.
  25. PSM Magazine
    65
    Great-looking platform game with clever puzzles and excellent character designs. [Holiday 2004, p.86]
  26. Featuring jumping, gliding, twatting things with sticks, and bucket loads of what some would call “wit”, this game has it all.
  27. 60
    Your appreciation of Tak 2 largely depends on the number of 3D platform games you’ve seen over the years. The more you’ve experienced, the less impressive Tak 2 is to play, which means younger audiences will love it.
  28. Pelaaja (Finland)
    60
    The game is better suited for younger gamers, but as an solid platformer, it’s still enjoyable for the mature, genre-loving gamers as well [May 2005, p.75]
  29. But beyond the odd wild ride on the back of a beast, negotiating the levels is a tame affair. This could prove frustrating for some, as the level of difficulty is often unbalanced.
  30. 50
    Tak 2: Staff of Dreams fails to provide an engaging platform experience, and would be better used as a cure for insomnia.
  31. Yet again, it is the inability of Tak 2: The Staff of Dreams to deal with 3D and learn from what has gone before that will leave the majority of gamers unenthused. There is nothing new to be learned here and no moments that are particularly original or unique.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    Meanwhile after the first game, Tak has been falling asleep for 16 days and Jibolba and Lok had to wake him up. By the way I forgot to tellMeanwhile after the first game, Tak has been falling asleep for 16 days and Jibolba and Lok had to wake him up. By the way I forgot to tell that I've been teasing my friend Jessica Thomas about what I just said at the first game so that doesn't matter, at least I can go for the what Lok says which he is funny as always.
    When my friend Nathan interrupt me I've said to Jessica
    ''Hey you, wakey wakey! Good morning sunshine, rise and shine! Open up those eyes of yours sleepy head! Stop it, Nathan, I'm trying to tease Jessica Thomas.
    The scenes are funny as always as I say so myself. Oh and also the levels are hard, some parts. But also my favourite character Jibolba turned himself into a bug who looks like Jiminy Cricket. And finally there's a mini game challenge in it so years ago this'll be a lot of fun.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    A rather standard and generic platformer, but still a good one. The funny thing is a TV show was based off this game rather than the gameA rather standard and generic platformer, but still a good one. The funny thing is a TV show was based off this game rather than the game based off a TV show, but of course better than a lot of licensed games since they usually suck. The story is rather average. Tak is inside the dream world for 16 days and then finally wakes up and is told monsters are coming from the dream to take over the real world. So Tak is told to go find the staff of dreams which is the only weapon that can stop them. The setup is pretty good for a cartoony platformer, but it goes nowhere with it. There are no plot twists and everything that happens you expect it to happen. It is a platformer so you will be jumping over lots of pits onto platforms while collecting power ups, solving simple puzzles and whacking cartoony and easy enemies. I like the diversity in the levels. Being Tak is a native tribesman there are jungle levels, and also snow, swamp, lava, etc. there are a few unique levels such as the planetarium and dream world of course. The most interesting mechanic is being able to transform into different animals to get through certain obstacles and areas. But besides that, most of the other stuff is pretty generic that I've seen in most other platformers and doesn't feel very inspired. The enemies are surprisingly interesting. There are creepy dream world monsters that are quite challenging to take down. There are also woodies which are fun at first but get predictable. Although the giant mini boss woodies are really cool. You can just whack enemies with your wooden stick thing, but it's more fun to use juju magic powers. Although the game is a bit hit and miss with difficulty. It does have a nice steady ramp up in difficulty. But while sometimes it's a legitimate challenge, other times it feels cheap and unfair and won't let me do anything to overcome it's challenges.The graphics look pretty good for 2004, the environments are very colorful and many textures are very detailed. The cutscenes graphics look amazing however, it looks like an actual fully animated cartoon. The sound design is nothing special, voice acting is good enough, but the soundtrack can be very good and put you in the mood for certain levels. If your a fan of platformers, than I wouldn't necessarily hunt this game down. But if you happen to come across it for a cheap price like I did, then it's definitely worth picking up. It's for the most part generic but there where a few memorable and outstanding levels. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2014
    8
    this was a very over looked game. I don't know how much I would like it now, as opposed to ten years ago or so when I played it, but Ithis was a very over looked game. I don't know how much I would like it now, as opposed to ten years ago or so when I played it, but I remember it being funny, having pretty good gameplay, and very fun characters. a great humorous game in my opinion, which is a genre I wish I could see more of. again, I don't have the ability to play this game now, but from what I remember, it was pretty good Full Review »