• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 15, 2003
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
Buy On
  1. It may be too kiddie for some, but it’s a solid platformer with a great looking world and really inventive puzzles, and above all else it’s a lot of fun. Plus, the voice acting is stellar and I’ve been busting a gut at some of the lines.
  2. Overall, it looks terrific, but there are some issues. Environments are a bit blocky, textures are a bit drab, and there are some noticeable framerate hitches, but Tak and the Power of Juju still looks great despite these faults.
  3. 86
    It's solid gameplay along with the comical and loveable characters make Tak an overriding success. Outstanding graphics and a splendid voice acting dialogue are all apart of a package that appeals to the masses.
  4. Play Magazine
    83
    Tak is one of the most detailed platformers I've ever seen, and possesses a measure of style that sets the universe apart, akin to what Michel Ancel accomplished with "Rayman." [Nov 2003, p.82]
  5. It has all the standard components of traditional platform titles but disguises them with clever game design, intuitive character interaction, and constant humor.
  6. If you only have a PS2 and thus cannot get Zelda, TPJ will fill the gap adequately; however I don't imagine big brothers and big sisters will find it as magical and likeable as their annoying and bratty counterparts.
  7. While certainly nothing for the self proclaimed 'hardcore' to worry about, those looking for some light fun will be more than content with Tak and his shit-eating grin.
  8. 79
    Perhaps it's because of the goofy main character, a humorous plot line, or some creative ways to present age old puzzles, but you're compelled to play through Tak.
  9. Will give younger players a lot of replay time, but it is not a title for older gamers.
  10. It’s a confident attempt at tackling the platform genre, but the playing mechanics don’t quite meet the expectations set by the accomplished artwork and graphics.
  11. PSM Magazine
    70
    It's a well crafted, if not overly ambitious, jungle adventure. [Holiday 2003, p.46]
  12. GMR Magazine
    70
    Casual gamers will be able to tear through Tak quickly, but younger children might find some of the puzzles frustrating. [Dec 2003, p.67]
  13. 70
    The entire experience, to me, felt like I was playing through the tutorial – for the second time. However, children ten and under could learn to love the relaxed, fairly undemanding, nature of Tak.
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    After a few hours, the boredom sets in, and the number of reasons you have for wanting to beat the damn thing is less than one. It's just not fun enough. [Dec 2003, p.178]
  15. The game's got a distinctive look to it, and some good moments, but some tedious collection tasks and exploration elements drag the game down.
  16. Game Informer
    67
    Tak becomes more pedestrian and predictable as each area unfolds. [Nov. 2003, p.150]
  17. GameNow
    67
    Patience is required to get through this game. [Jan 2004, p.60]
  18. This game is for the kiddies and most hard-core gamers will not find anything that keeps them playing to the end, but as a game for parents to buy for the youngsters, it's not a bad buy at all.
  19. 60
    It's too complex for the very young, and there's not much of interest here for older players. As such, the game seems best suited for parents seeking some non-offensive entertainment for their kids.
  20. 60
    An excellent example of a "slacker" game: it gets as little done as it can while making sure it fills its quota so it can be out the door for the day. There isn't a thing new here and it makes no attempt to improve the genre.
  21. 60
    Interacting with the animals and learning their different idiosyncrasies is compelling and fun, but it takes a backseat to the conventional platformer mechanics that the genre is slowly leaving behind.
  22. Be it gold teeth, feathers or whatever, the same worn-out old gameplay devices are trotted out one after another – there’s nothing in Tak we haven’t seen many times before and, in the likes of Rayman, Banjo-Kazooie and Mario, done much better.
  23. 50
    Despite its kiddy appearance and theme, it's far too frustrating and unhelpful to recommend for a youngster. Or anyone that hasn't exhausted the many better options, for that matter.
  24. Problematically, it just doesn’t do too anything new and doesn’t space itself out from the crowd. It feels like you’ve played this game before and you probably have - in better, more interesting forms.
  25. It’s hard not to feel that everybody would have been happier if Tak went straight to the TV screens.
  26. Cheat Code Central
    50
    It does have its charm but it's neither a great game to play nor is it any real shakes to look at.
  27. It’s dull, repetitive and often annoying. Even the kindergarten target audience will find themselves alienated while older gamers will just be bored.

Awards & Rankings

70
#70 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
42
#42 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. JohnM.
    Jan 28, 2009
    6
    I wanted to like this one. Good visuals and humor are pluses. Unfortunately, the controls are just bad (maybe it's just me?). Hard to I wanted to like this one. Good visuals and humor are pluses. Unfortunately, the controls are just bad (maybe it's just me?). Hard to explain, but compared to Rayman, Mario, Banjo, Jak & Daxter, Ratchet & Clank, Psychonauts...pretty much any other platformer, there's just something wrong with the mechanics here. Completely turned me off. Could've been an 8 easily if not for this weirdness. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    Tak and the power of juju is one of those games that I ever laughed at when I was a kid. It has some funniest moments, funniest diologue andTak and the power of juju is one of those games that I ever laughed at when I was a kid. It has some funniest moments, funniest diologue and the one of my favourite characters is Jibolba. He's the one who tells a story about the pupanunu people got turned into sheep and he's funny. All the characters are funny too, like Tak, Lok, the juju's and all kinds of them. The only funny character in the franchise is Lok because don't get me wrong, he's the only guy who makes me laugh.
    Like the resurrection revenge scene for example where he says
    ''All of my training has prepared me for this moment. I am ready, Jibolba, for I am the mighty warrior called for by the poo poo! Awww poo poo poo... OHW OHW!
    And then he farts which really made me laugh.
    Anyways, the tutorial is challenging, getting the plants for Jibolba which that the plants sure looks like the ones from Little Shop of Horrors, the yorbels are hard to find and the moonstones are hard to find too because I have to complete the level which is by defeating Pins and Needles. And the boss is just sooo dawn hard and easy all at the same time. I really enjoyed this game when I was a kid and further than that, the sequels are.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 17, 2016
    10
    When I first bought Tak and the Power of Juju for my PS2 as a kid, I LAUGHED MY BUTT OFF! The game was just so quirky, hilarious, and overallWhen I first bought Tak and the Power of Juju for my PS2 as a kid, I LAUGHED MY BUTT OFF! The game was just so quirky, hilarious, and overall fun. I have to admit I miss a lot 3d platformer series but this is 1 of those forgotten gems that holds a special place in my childhood. Full Review »