• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 2003
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. 60
    In short, this is a completely standard beat 'em up with nothing innovative, nothing that stands out, and a number of features that have been less than ideally copied from other games. Beyond that, it's a decent title.
  2. If you have a little Turtle fan running around at home, or if you want a trip down memory lane, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles comes heartily recommended. You get exactly what the game promises and in this case that is a good thing.
  3. Compared to other action games, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles has little to offer other than a trip down memory lane.
  4. The new game is a little bland, and just doesn’t really excite the same way that the old ones do. It’s the worst game under the Ninja Turtle franchise, and is worth a rental at most.
  5. Feels cheeky to be criticising a scrolling beat 'em up for being too shallow, but TMNT is possibly one of the most tedious ever. Repetition is only acceptable when you're repeating something gratifying. [Jan 2004, p.109]
  6. Yet, with the game rooted in arcade sensibilities, TMNT ends up a short and repetitive journey. Noninteractive environments and scant gameplay differences among the four turtles diminish my desire to replay.
  7. It plays the role of an updated "Final Fight" clone quite well, but the lion’s share of today’s gamers demand a little more depth for their hard earned money.
  8. It's not bad because it's unplayable. It's bad because everything it sets out to do feels 15 years old, or frustrating and repetitive.
  9. The graphics are fantastic and simply smoke the traditionally animated cutscenes - which look drap and lifeless in comparison. [Dec 2003, p.144]
  10. It’s sad to think that with all its high-tech fanciness of the new console generation, TMNT can’t even muster up the personality and gameplay of the old arcade games.
  11. 67
    Slick enough to make wading through oceans of thugs, robots, and enemy ninjas a pleasure. [Nov 2003, p.46]
  12. 80
    It’s both fun and immensely frustrating, and it’s so old-school you’d swear you’d have to blow on a cartridge to get it to work, but it’s a very good example of an ancient, long-missing genre.
  13. The action is a little too samey, and things become just too repetitive. Aside from scenery variations, FMV cut-scenes and the odd boss fight, the game is practically the same from start to finish. [Jan 2004, p.125]
  14. TMNT doesn't wear its nostalgic aspects particularly well, and the remaining components simply don't make for a very entertaining experience.
  15. 40
    Another annoying aspect of TMNT is its overly punishing difficulty. While you can coast through early portions by mashing away, later stages and boss fights can be stupid-hard.
  16. Even though TMNT was a huge disappointment for me I could see this being a good game for kids, but for more experienced gamers it’s just too boring and uneventful.
  17. I really wish the designers had done something far more creative with the characters. There is a rich universe here to play with, but they took the easiest road out it seems instead of trying something different.
  18. The Versus mode, the generally solid beat-em-up action, and the nostalgia factor somewhat save these turtles from obscurity. [Dec 2003, p.92]
  19. 53
    It's a typical boring and repetitive brawler. You die cheaply, are forced to repeatedly play through unimaginative stages, and don't have a whole lot of fun in the process. In fact, playing through any part of the game is painful.
  20. All the fun elements of a are present: wave after wave of enemies, boss characters, various weapons etc. but some people will find it repetitive. There's no real variation from start to finish other than different enemies and areas to move through.
  21. A decent game. The graphics, sound and gameplay are all entertaining enough to keep most gamers happy. The challenge isn’t exactly that of Everest, but it is definitely worth one run through.
  22. The game gets unreasonably hard near the end, where you really start to hate the archaic continue system. It frustrates me that I haven't beaten Shredder--I can't even get to him. I feel so turtle powerless.
  23. The angles are fabulous -- never staying in one place too long while framing the action with cinematic flair. [Nov 2003, p.91]
  24. 50
    It is not that the game doesn't have its fun moments, because it can be that, it is just that they are very short-lived and don't really go any further than the first level. Disappointing.
  25. A repetitive game that even the biggest fans will have problems with. [Holiday 2003, p.48]
  26. The cel shaded visuals of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles take full advantage of today’s powerful consoles except for the linear-to-a-fault design of the game’s 30+ stages.
  27. The gameplay itself is fun in moderate doses.
  28. A hugely disappointing update to a franchise that was once reverred in the videogames industry - why is there no 4P option?
  29. It's a decent action fighter, but definitely repetitive and has little to increase its short life span. The button-masher crowd should have a good time, but we don't think the heroes in a half-shell deserve too much pizza money out of this one.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    Good brawler for younglings , and very nice levels to say. Simple gameplay and cool cartoonish graphics makes a nice feeling. And everyGood brawler for younglings , and very nice levels to say. Simple gameplay and cool cartoonish graphics makes a nice feeling. And every character has that unique way too play, that you already have a bond with their abilities and style. Full Review »
  2. AnonymousMC
    Dec 23, 2003
    0
    well, i cant lie... you people have read my reviews in the past "Signed SHURNKEN SCROT" i rated many games including swat global strikewell, i cant lie... you people have read my reviews in the past "Signed SHURNKEN SCROT" i rated many games including swat global strike team. i will now attempt to rate it, the turtle boys turn me on... its true and i am not ashamed... there bandanas make my genitals levitate! it is a very erotic game ... in the game you beat little children with num chuck fus! this is dishonurable, they run to your turtle master (who is a sewer rat with a pink robe) and molest him.. they really enjoy shoving turtle soup down their throats... the turtles love themselvs and they love me.. i cannot lie... we have mated on many occasions... if you wish for more information about our love life... visit www.magesandminions.com it should clearly explain everything to you about our life ... i love you all, i want the red turtle to unleash his genitals and make love to the blue one right infront of me... i know they would do it if i requested it.. they are a group of pedefiles... this is clear and honourable... i wish to molest the blue bandana turtle! ITS A SEXY TIRTLE... them and the teletubies should hook up and mate! it would be beautiful... i would bend over and lick my balls.... they are quiet round shaped... it shouldne be too hard to like them.. would you like to try licking your own genitals? heres what you do.
    1. you grab your penis and yank it off (this may cause great pain and may kill you)
    2. shove it up your ass
    3.push it in extremely hard and you have to be honourable!
    4. eventually this should make your penis turn white and should automatically make you perform a hamasuckywayu... (this is when you break your ribs and suck your own nuts)
    5. who want try? www.magesandminions.com should have the full detail with animation and several annotated diagrams... thank you for your time my love...
    *MOLESTS THE BLUE TURTLE*

    *****signed.....
    leet
    Full Review »
  3. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Dec 19, 2003
    8
    Slice'n' Dice Slice'n' Dice Slice'n' dice Slice'n-okay shut the heck up dude!!!They always repeat the same Slice'n' Dice Slice'n' Dice Slice'n' dice Slice'n-okay shut the heck up dude!!!They always repeat the same line over & over but that is the only thing wrong with it & yes it's so annoying I take off 2 points. Full Review »