• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2002
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For twenty pounds you get arguably the greatest arcade fighting game ever created. That’s half the price of the forthcoming (and similarly but differently remarkable) "Soul Calibur 2."
  2. Sure, the great graphics and sound and the bonus Tekken Force mode are all good selling points, but the biggest reason to pick up Tekken 4 is that the gameplay not only lives up to the fine presentation; it surpasses it. [Import]
  3. 90
    Mechanically superior and definitely oriented to the expert crowd, Namco's brand of four-limbed combat is comparable to just about anything out there. [Import review previously scored as a 94.]
  4. A leaner, more vicious Tekken for a competitive age - surprising how much two new characters add to an already classy game. [Import, PSM2]
  5. This latest edition has not broken [my heart], although my hopes for what it should have been were slightly disappointed. [Oct 2002, p.78]
  6. 90
    The series could use a bit more depth and original features, but its pedigree as a top-ranked fighter remains intact.
  7. Not as groundbreaking as it should have been. It may be hard to admit, but "Virtua Fighter 4" has taken a giant leap compared to Tekken 4’s bunny hop. But now that Namco has hit the nail on the head when it comes to fighting depth and detail, it is time for change.
  8. One of the best multiplayer games you'll find on the PS2. I loved it at the arcade and I love it at home. I just wish it was a new experience.
  9. There is certainly no danger of Tekken fans, or fight-game fans in general being disappointed by the great, glossy, fast-paced brawler that Tekken 4 is.
  10. Although the improvements are small and some pre-existing flaws were ignored, it’s still a great fighter.
  11. An extremely solid, long-lasting, accessible, and fun-to-play fighting game.
  12. It just seems that there's been little improvement to the overall fighting system and single-player experience. [Oct 2002, p.34]
  13. One can’t help but think that Namco slightly rushed the title to get it out in time for "Virtua Fighter 4," the visuals aren’t exactly eye dropping but the gameplay is fast fluid and consistent. [Import]
  14. STILL a force to be reckoned with, it's just not the must have game of the year it has been in the past. Namco needs to focus heavily on "Soul Calibur 2" for a while and let Tekken take a vacation.
  15. 71
    I have to say that I personally liked this better than "VF4," but they were both a bit disappointing overall.
  16. 71
    It looks a little better, but underneath the new trappings lies the same old game.
  17. The need for strategy, technical handling, and overall expertise with a character has been but on the backburner in favor of interactive environments and limited space to fight.
  18. Feels stale and rehashed. In a lot of ways, this is pretty much the same game we've been playing since 1997, but without the refinement of "Tekken 3" or the added team complexity of "Tekken Tag Tournament." [Oct 2002, p.190]
  19. A solid update to the series that doesn't really break any new ground, but shouldn't disappoint diehard fans of the Tekken line either.
  20. Maybe "VF4" spoiled things for us all, but there's no arguing that the bar was raised back in March, and Tekken 4 has failed to jump over it. [Oct 2002, p.144]
  21. 60
    Fulfills bare minimum expectations of the typical fighting game sequel. It delivers more of the same with slight tweaks in the character roster.
  22. The game itself is also showing slight strain: still not a lot of freedom of movement. [Oct 2002, p.85]
  23. 50
    "VF4" puts it to shame. [Nov 2002, p.58]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. AnsonG.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Great fighting action game i ever played.
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Tekken 4 is a very good fighting game, which brought fresh air to the tekken series. I like the graphics and animations but 21 characters are too few.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2002
    6
    Doesn't even come close to Tekken Tag, a few steps backward for the series IMO. It has a couple cool new characters and the 3d arenas are ~okay~ but just dont feel like Tekken. Rental. Full Review »