• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2002
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy On
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    70
    Feels stale and rehashed. In a lot of ways, this is pretty much the same game we've been playing since 1997, but without the refinement of "Tekken 3" or the added team complexity of "Tekken Tag Tournament." [Oct 2002, p.190]
  2. 60
    Fulfills bare minimum expectations of the typical fighting game sequel. It delivers more of the same with slight tweaks in the character roster.
  3. GameNow
    50
    "VF4" puts it to shame. [Nov 2002, p.58]
  4. 71
    It looks a little better, but underneath the new trappings lies the same old game.
  5. netjak
    71
    I have to say that I personally liked this better than "VF4," but they were both a bit disappointing overall.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    Maybe "VF4" spoiled things for us all, but there's no arguing that the bar was raised back in March, and Tekken 4 has failed to jump over it. [Oct 2002, p.144]
  7. Play Magazine
    60
    The game itself is also showing slight strain: still not a lot of freedom of movement. [Oct 2002, p.85]
  8. The need for strategy, technical handling, and overall expertise with a character has been but on the backburner in favor of interactive environments and limited space to fight.
  9. 70
    A solid update to the series that doesn't really break any new ground, but shouldn't disappoint diehard fans of the Tekken line either.

Awards & Rankings

54
12
#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 133
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Tekken 4 is a very good fighting game, which brought fresh air to the tekken series. I like the graphics and animations but 21 characters are too few.
  2. AnsonG.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Great fighting action game i ever played.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2002
    6
    Doesn't even come close to Tekken Tag, a few steps backward for the series IMO. It has a couple cool new characters and the 3d arenas Doesn't even come close to Tekken Tag, a few steps backward for the series IMO. It has a couple cool new characters and the 3d arenas are ~okay~ but just dont feel like Tekken. Rental. Full Review »