• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tekken 4 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tekken 4 marks the return of Namco's premier fighting franchise. Tekken strikes back with new jaw-dropping graphics, game play mechanics, and fearsome fighters. Newcomers engage old favorites in interactive, multi-leveled arenas. New strategies in fighting are introduced with the addition ofTekken 4 marks the return of Namco's premier fighting franchise. Tekken strikes back with new jaw-dropping graphics, game play mechanics, and fearsome fighters. Newcomers engage old favorites in interactive, multi-leveled arenas. New strategies in fighting are introduced with the addition of walls, terrain effects, position changes, and enhanced side-stepping. Expanded game modes such as Training, Team Battle and the new Tekken Force provide the player with a deeper game play experience. [Namco] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For twenty pounds you get arguably the greatest arcade fighting game ever created. That’s half the price of the forthcoming (and similarly but differently remarkable) "Soul Calibur 2."
  2. 90
    Mechanically superior and definitely oriented to the expert crowd, Namco's brand of four-limbed combat is comparable to just about anything out there. [Import review previously scored as a 94.]
  3. 90
    The series could use a bit more depth and original features, but its pedigree as a top-ranked fighter remains intact.
  4. PSM Magazine
    80
    It just seems that there's been little improvement to the overall fighting system and single-player experience. [Oct 2002, p.34]
  5. One can’t help but think that Namco slightly rushed the title to get it out in time for "Virtua Fighter 4," the visuals aren’t exactly eye dropping but the gameplay is fast fluid and consistent. [Import]
  6. 71
    It looks a little better, but underneath the new trappings lies the same old game.
  7. GameNow
    50
    "VF4" puts it to shame. [Nov 2002, p.58]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. AnsonG.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Great fighting action game i ever played.
  2. RyanS.
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    Great game, wish they put all of the characters in it.
  3. Abigtekkenfan
    May 24, 2004
    10
    It has awsome graphics and is a great game to play. Multiplayer is great fun to play with your friends and the tekken force is brilliant! It has awsome graphics and is a great game to play. Multiplayer is great fun to play with your friends and the tekken force is brilliant! Craig A tekken 5 is coming out so no tekken 4 isn't the last so don't worry ;). Overall say:- Tekken 4 is a totally awsome game and I still enjoy playing it to this day. Expand
  4. AlanP.
    Sep 9, 2002
    8
    Beats the mountains of Chatmandu anyday!
  5. Sep 27, 2017
    8
    I remember the hype for this game and watching gameplay footage on the old British game show Gamezville when I was growing up. I heard thatI remember the hype for this game and watching gameplay footage on the old British game show Gamezville when I was growing up. I heard that this game was the black sheep of the series.

    I never played it but here are my thoughts on the game.

    The graphics were good for the time but when Tekken 5 came out three years later it blew them out of the water. The fighters and stages looked so realistic and were amazing to look at. The music fit the game really well. I liked the Jungle, Laboratory, Airport, Shopping Centre, Mishima Arena and the Honmaru Dojo music. It's the most underrated soundtrack of the series. The sound was refined from Tekken Tag Tournament and this is when I started loving the punches, kicks, throws and deathcries.

    The gameplay is where the game falls down. People didn't like the position change and infinite wall bounce mechanic. I heard there was also many bugs as well. Juggle combos were watered down as some of the iconic fighters moves were changed to stagger moves. Move and throw damage was also watered down exactly like in Tekken Tag Tournament.

    New fighters were added such as Craig Marduk, an Australian Wrestling and Vale Tudo specialist who was released from prison to enter the tournament to fight King, Violet a palette swap of Lee Chaolan and is a scientist who created the Combot, Christie Montiero a Capoeira fighter supposedly trained by Eddy Gordo's ill grandfather, Miraru Hirano, an palette swap of Xiaoyu who Xiaoyu's best friend, Combot, a ripoff of Mokojin and Steve Fox who is a British boxer and is Nina Williams son.
    It brought back most of the beloved fighters from past Tekken games which was good but the roster size was small.

    It has all the modes from the past Tekken games which is great.

    Overall I need to play it as it is the only Tekken game I haven't played. I can see why fans have mixed thoughts on it in terms of gameplay.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Not as good as its predecessor. Tekken 4 more or less is the same as 3, just with improved visuals and a few new characters. It was a littleNot as good as its predecessor. Tekken 4 more or less is the same as 3, just with improved visuals and a few new characters. It was a little bit of a let down at the time as I had expected so much more from it.

    Overall:
    On par with 3 but it should have been better.
    Expand
  7. BobbyS.
    Nov 29, 2002
    0
    Terribly atrocious.

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

54
11
#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002