• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tekken 4 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tekken 4 marks the return of Namco's premier fighting franchise. Tekken strikes back with new jaw-dropping graphics, game play mechanics, and fearsome fighters. Newcomers engage old favorites in interactive, multi-leveled arenas. New strategies in fighting are introduced with the addition of walls, terrain effects, position changes, and enhanced side-stepping. Expanded game modes such as Training, Team Battle and the new Tekken Force provide the player with a deeper game play experience. [Namco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For twenty pounds you get arguably the greatest arcade fighting game ever created. That’s half the price of the forthcoming (and similarly but differently remarkable) "Soul Calibur 2."
  2. This latest edition has not broken [my heart], although my hopes for what it should have been were slightly disappointed. [Oct 2002, p.78]
  3. 90
    Mechanically superior and definitely oriented to the expert crowd, Namco's brand of four-limbed combat is comparable to just about anything out there. [Import review previously scored as a 94.]
  4. STILL a force to be reckoned with, it's just not the must have game of the year it has been in the past. Namco needs to focus heavily on "Soul Calibur 2" for a while and let Tekken take a vacation.
  5. It just seems that there's been little improvement to the overall fighting system and single-player experience. [Oct 2002, p.34]
  6. 71
    It looks a little better, but underneath the new trappings lies the same old game.
  7. 50
    "VF4" puts it to shame. [Nov 2002, p.58]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. May 7, 2012
    10
    i believe this game revolutionized the Tekken franchise. It had, by far, the best realistic stages of any fighting game, best Tekken story but didn't have that big of a roster. I really wish the franchise would go back into the Tekken 4 stages because it was amazing. Also, it's soundtrack is amazing. Not as good as Tekken 3 but its up their. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Tekken 4 is a very good fighting game, which brought fresh air to the tekken series. I like the graphics and animations but 21 characters are too few.
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    My favorite that the ps2 had to offer. Best artistic cinematic approach. People could actually take these characters seriously (despite the bears) ,different story lines ending with different end bosses. Best Tekken track to date. Interesting battle zones. Switch maneuvers and breakable objects. People complained about competitive play for Jin having overpowered moves that easily dominated matches. With that all i agree, but i dont agree that people complained about the stages. They were innovative and something new. I wish the developers would really remake some stages & songs for their future Tekken titles. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Not as good as its predecessor. Tekken 4 more or less is the same as 3, just with improved visuals and a few new characters. It was a little bit of a let down at the time as I had expected so much more from it.

    Overall:
    On par with 3 but it should have been better.
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    Tekken 4 was the first Tekken game I've ever played. I bought it at a pawn shop when I was in 6th grade. Now that I've played all of the other Tekken games, I don't play 4 as much as I used to. But I still think it's a great game.

    The story isn't really much. All there is to know is that every character has entered the KOIF4 and for their own reasons. As for why, Arcade mode is there for that. The prologues are quite a nice addition compared to the previous Tekken games. Now you know why the characters are entering the tournament. Plot holes filled. Some stories aren't as exciting as others and some stories (and endings) are intertwined with each other. But if you wish to unlock more characters, you have to play through Arcade mode. No ifs, ands, or buts about it.

    The characters roster is small compared to Tekken Tag and Tekken 3 but I prefer quality over quantity. Kazuya Mishima returns (despite being killed off in Tekken 2) and he's better than ever! There are three new characters introduced in this game: Steve Fox a British boxer, Christie Montiero a female student of Eddy Gordo, and Craig Marduk a Vale Tudo fighter who's the target of revenge, They make a great and diverse addition to the roster and their fighting styles shine quite nicely amongst the other characters.

    The gameplay is probably the weakest point in the game. Apparently Namco decided to experiment with the fighting system, adding things that didn't need to be added. It also confuses a lot of longtime Tekken fans. Namco should've just left well enough alone. The gameplay is also unbalanced which is bad if you play multiplayer. If you're gonna experiment on a game, do it right.

    The music is nice and fits the stages well. It may not be what most Tekken fans are used to but it's good enough. Some of the tracks are a pleasure to listen to and I enjoy listening to them in Theater mode. The stages are realistic and very interactive. You can use wall combos and use the stage to damage your opponent. Very nice. That's one change Namco did right at least.

    Tekken Force returns from Tekken 3 and with a vengeance. The mode is much better in this game and it's actually a challenge. The stages in this mode are based off of stages from the game and look stunning. The enemies have different classes and varying levels of strength and defense. At the end of each stage is a boss which is a character. To unlock one of the stages, you have to complete Tekken Force. The least Namco could've done was put a save feature for this mode so you won't have to start over every damn time!

    Tekken 4 is the black sheep of the Tekken franchise and it's actually a good black sheep. I recommend this game if you're just beginning to play fighting games. If you're a long-time gamer, you may wanna stay away.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    after playing tekken 3 tekken 4 is back with better graphics and cool characters there are not much characters like tekken 3 though but still has that addictive game play Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    Unlike the other Tekken games, this game has nothing fantastical about it. It's all too realistic. Though bashing people into things is fun. This is a Tekken game, except without all of the things thank you think Tekken should have. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews