Tekken 5 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 221
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. felix
    Jul 17, 2008
    6
    i totally loved tekken 4. Great graphics, stages.. seemed like tekken had jumped off ps and was actually taken place in the real world! The voice pronounced the battles was atmospheric, stages totally 3D where not only most objects were crushing, but floor had stairs and players feet where covered in water in the jungle stage. Players bodies were realistic-not too many muscles and the i totally loved tekken 4. Great graphics, stages.. seemed like tekken had jumped off ps and was actually taken place in the real world! The voice pronounced the battles was atmospheric, stages totally 3D where not only most objects were crushing, but floor had stairs and players feet where covered in water in the jungle stage. Players bodies were realistic-not too many muscles and the game's intro was dark and mysterious.. i had to buy tekken 5 back then! but when i played it i was really disappointed! (outraged i should say) the hole game was looking aged..the stages, the graphics, the players.. what went wrong?? it supposed it was a sequel! it had to be be better than the previous. i know it has a lot of players, but i consider quality first. Maybe the creators had in mind to made it suitable for psp also, and that's cheating. So..10 for tekken4 but 6 for tekken5 by me Expand
  2. JoeY.
    Dec 23, 2005
    6
    Sub-par fighting game. DOA Ultimate looks better and has online play. Even Mortal Kombat has online play.
  3. JackK
    Dec 1, 2009
    7
    Though it has a great variety of characters, a nice little way of looking back on Tekken history and some amazingly crisp graphics, the things which holds it back is the secondary side quest, the extremely hard boss and the absolutely abysmal intro music. I unfortunately give this game a seven, keeping
  4. Conrad
    Jul 18, 2005
    5
    This game has the worst final boss I have ever seen. He has absolutley no skill and relies on cheating to win. They could have just left the final boss out and it would have been a great game.
  5. Dave
    Jun 18, 2006
    5
    This game is too difficult and frustrating, at least for the single player. The 'easy' difficulty level on this game is like 'hard' on other fighting games. You need to memorise loads of complicated combo moves - which are all different for each character. Also the boss at the end on the story mode is very cheap - he can blast fire at you from the other side of the This game is too difficult and frustrating, at least for the single player. The 'easy' difficulty level on this game is like 'hard' on other fighting games. You need to memorise loads of complicated combo moves - which are all different for each character. Also the boss at the end on the story mode is very cheap - he can blast fire at you from the other side of the screen and take most of your health in one hit. Yes that's Namco's idea of an 'easy' mode obviously. It's like putting a heavyweight boxer in with a featherweight - an unfair one-sided contest. I play games to relax and have fun, not to be frustrated. Expand
  6. DaveV.
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    After playing Soul Calibur II, it seems there is no going back to Tekken??? Tekken 5 is quite disappointing to be honest. Loved Tekken4, but I suppose after playing SCII, Tekken5 just doesn't cut it. It's an exercise in frustration, and the moves almost seem less intuitive. The standard button combinations now seem to render a simple punch or kick; it's like they After playing Soul Calibur II, it seems there is no going back to Tekken??? Tekken 5 is quite disappointing to be honest. Loved Tekken4, but I suppose after playing SCII, Tekken5 just doesn't cut it. It's an exercise in frustration, and the moves almost seem less intuitive. The standard button combinations now seem to render a simple punch or kick; it's like they overcomplicated the access to the advanced moves. Still need to play more to make a final decision but first impression is quite thumbs down. Expand
  7. CloudStrife
    Apr 18, 2005
    5
    I dont like the game at all. I think that 3 is much better!
  8. Deuce
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    Uhm geat graphics, good environments, hits sound like they brek bones,fluid movements with the exception of some characters.....now for the bad...tekken 5's AI on arcade mode in the higher ranks is a nightmare u cant wake up from. your AI opponents will be able to know wut move ur doing about 5 milliseconds after u press the damn button(human players cant possibly do this). grappling Uhm geat graphics, good environments, hits sound like they brek bones,fluid movements with the exception of some characters.....now for the bad...tekken 5's AI on arcade mode in the higher ranks is a nightmare u cant wake up from. your AI opponents will be able to know wut move ur doing about 5 milliseconds after u press the damn button(human players cant possibly do this). grappling is rendered useless at the higher ranks and side stepping doesnt seem to work as moves follow u during their animations. the cpu players will block n dodge your stylish combos but for some reason they wont be able to learn how to block the simplest moves (jins "corpse thrust")....and the boss...besides killer instinct's eyedol he has to be thee cheapest boss ever(i lost a controller while playing him)...i play on ultra hard because i cant tell the difference from easy mode...id buy this one when its $19.99 Expand
  9. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 90
    From a purely technical standpoint, the frame-rate is rock solid, and the lighting effects are lavish as well, and while not as polished, overall, as the technical achievements of "Dead or Alive Ultimate," come a close second. Matching the visual largesse is a comprehensive features list that does for PS2 what "Dead or Alive Ultimate" did for Xbox.
  2. Fans of the arcade version of Tekken 5 will be happy to see a near flawless port of the game, complete with all of the customization aspects of the arcade game. In addition, you'll find your standard fighting game modes of play, plus an in-depth practice mode, and all three original Tekken arcade titles. Hands down, this is one of the best fighting games available for the PS2.
  3. While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.