• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 178

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    The best fighting game to date. For me it tops even Tekken 3. Great graphics, smooth animations, many characters and the gameplay is superb. Tops every other fighting game.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    the best tekken ever with amazing visuals and so many characters to choose from it is just amazing the only bad thing about this game is the final boss he is so cheap and so difficult even on the easier difficulties but still the best tekken ever
  3. ERB
    Jul 31, 2013
    9
    Obviously one of the best fighting games you will ever play.Characters are awesome and action and arcade mode are the best.I mean when you beat your enemy you got too see how you beat him with slow motion effects.They should do that in other fighting games too.
  4. May 2, 2015
    9
    While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.
  5. May 7, 2012
    10
    The LAST best Tekken game including Dark Resurrection. Hands down everyone. This game went back into its original roots and played similar like Tekken 3. Its soundtrack was also outstanding but not as good as Tekken 3. This game had the most bonus's ever in the franchise. A Devil Within mode, Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3. Their was also an old shooting game where your in a spacecraft butThe LAST best Tekken game including Dark Resurrection. Hands down everyone. This game went back into its original roots and played similar like Tekken 3. Its soundtrack was also outstanding but not as good as Tekken 3. This game had the most bonus's ever in the franchise. A Devil Within mode, Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3. Their was also an old shooting game where your in a spacecraft but I forget its name. So its got the bonus's/re-play value completely covered. Story is good and goes into cut scenes involving the fighter your playing. This is the last best Tekken game before it all went downhill. Funny because ever since Tekken went mulitplatform it went downhill. Hopefully they return exclusive to the PlayStation brand. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    A good fighting game realized by Namco Bandai, who have crafted a good story mode for each character succeeded, more than 25 characters, versions
    Tekken 1-3 and a good mission with Jin Kozama.
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    This game is really good. I'm not a big fan of fighting games but this one gave me a lot of great fun with (and without) friends. Awesome for VS. mode and really enjoyable for single.
  8. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    This game is a master of fighting genre. If not all, the most of the characters are very interesting and if you decide to master one of them it will take a lot of your time and you'll be happy for that. Arenas are good and music is something from nothing, but if you want to fight in a more serious style, turn it off (I did it for a while). The most important you have to know is that youThis game is a master of fighting genre. If not all, the most of the characters are very interesting and if you decide to master one of them it will take a lot of your time and you'll be happy for that. Arenas are good and music is something from nothing, but if you want to fight in a more serious style, turn it off (I did it for a while). The most important you have to know is that you have to be patient, because the game demands patient players or gamers, who have patience and will be very skillful. Namco didn't create TEKKEN for it to be played from everyone. No, Namco made this game to make fans and it actually worked. Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Well, that's a great fighting game for PS2. The visuals are amazing considering the platform, animations are very good and the combo system is awesome too. Gameplay is harder than its predecessors and that is a great thing, considering they were a little bit easy for hardcore gamers. Another great point of this game is that Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3 arcade modes are available forWell, that's a great fighting game for PS2. The visuals are amazing considering the platform, animations are very good and the combo system is awesome too. Gameplay is harder than its predecessors and that is a great thing, considering they were a little bit easy for hardcore gamers. Another great point of this game is that Tekken, Tekken 2 and Tekken 3 arcade modes are available for playing, that's good for remembering the old times. Unfortunately there's no online mode, but Tekken 5 is a great game where Namco willed it to be. Expand
  10. KenT.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Nina, Asuka, and Anna are the most lusty babes i've ever seen in a Video Game....... Until now i stil find Nina as dangerous as ever and Asuka as a very hot teenage babe...harrrrrrrrrr... anyway, the game still rocks as ever and the music has been changed since T4(thank god for that), if you want a very good fighting game the Tekken 5 is the one for you!!!!!!!!!
  11. RenjithR.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    It's superb.
  12. ChrisJ.
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    Tekken 5 is altimately one of the finest namco games ever produced to date. The graphics are smooth, the story lines have improved, humour has been brought into it and new features are available. This is what tekken is renown for but one thing bugs me with this game. I like the way it the attacks are faster but for a long time craftsman tekken user who studies certain tekken moves to beat Tekken 5 is altimately one of the finest namco games ever produced to date. The graphics are smooth, the story lines have improved, humour has been brought into it and new features are available. This is what tekken is renown for but one thing bugs me with this game. I like the way it the attacks are faster but for a long time craftsman tekken user who studies certain tekken moves to beat the computer and my friends, this has now made the game easier for 'beginners' but harder for 'masters' of tekken. Though, there are no glitches in this game (which i heavily applaude), I have to say it is also VERY annoying not being able to play with Jinapchi! The music and general atmosphere of the game has improved with Tekken 5. After all Tekken 4 was a definate flop because of its draining, depressing music. Though no music can beat Tekken Tag Tournament which unarguably drew all players to addiction. I will DEFINITELY buy tekken 6 if that comes out and i am very happy with this result. Expand
  13. Blackheart
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    The tekken of tekken series. It combines most of the tekken's in one if i may say the BEST tekken game ever. Why? 1.new players 2.advanced property (including jump property) 3.excelent stages 4. New modes and maybe just maybe tag system in konzole version.
  14. BradyY.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    Awesome, Better then the rest as always. Tekken 5 carries on the tradtion of being the best fighting game out there!!! Keep em' coming.
  15. Edwin
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best tekken ever!!!! watch out evolution!!
  16. JamesH.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    Best fighter on ps2 !!!!!
  17. JoelS.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found Lee a powerful dangerous character in the right hand. But Lee isn't the only character who rocks. Paul, Nina, Heichachi, Jin, Asuka, Raven... all these characters in the right hand are deadly (Nina and Paul are apparently the deadliest however with Nina being the most deadly of the two) And the movie sequqneces are breathtaking to say the least. I really can't go on blabbering how great a game this is. Expand
  18. JonL.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best Tekken game yet!
  19. MaganY.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I'm overwhelmed, I'd never thought that Tekken as a series was usually low on the extras and this time there is and this is the best game of the series yet, no question Play this game!
  20. Niveche
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so Tekken rules in ARCADE hand combat - for complete fighting simulation play Virtua Figher and you know the TRUE meaning of a hard game. Tekken 5 rock. can wait for the PSP version so I can never be without my Tekken. Expand
  21. BobStu
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    For those of you who think it's hard maybe you should actually practice. This game is awesome and it was the best fighting game.10 right here.
  22. FaisalA.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing with new and improved graphics and way better gameplay than any of the other tekken titles.
  23. AndrewS.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 ..... Need I say more!!!
  24. BismarkPrince
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    One of da best games in town now.
  25. SidneyY.
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    Should have included tekken force or at least make all characters playable in Devil Within.
  26. Andreas
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after two/three rounds... Expand
  27. MichaelL.
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    Smoothgame play, huge variety of fighting styles and near limitless potential for developing your own fighting style witha charecter. Also, the juggling has been improved.
  28. RingoS.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    Love it, best Tekken I ever played, sometimes if I'm tired I get frustrated when I lose, and Jinpachi isn't so hard at all, if you have a few skills.
  29. TimF.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    While Tekken 4 was somewhat disappointing, Tekken 5 delivers. If you're a fighting game fan, Tekken 5 is a must!
  30. ElTazar
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    Dis game iz da best,nd dnt suk man,Jinpachi can be beaten perfect if u use Heihachi's hammer to Iron Hand,but I also prefer if it had Tekken 4's Tekken force,nd Jinpachi cn git u even if u sidestep,sometyms he shoots this series of shots which cums until he getz u! Itz ol kul thoh,the tougher da game,da beta,adawyz it wudnt b da best fighting game,it wnt ofa a challenge
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 90
    From a purely technical standpoint, the frame-rate is rock solid, and the lighting effects are lavish as well, and while not as polished, overall, as the technical achievements of "Dead or Alive Ultimate," come a close second. Matching the visual largesse is a comprehensive features list that does for PS2 what "Dead or Alive Ultimate" did for Xbox.
  2. Fans of the arcade version of Tekken 5 will be happy to see a near flawless port of the game, complete with all of the customization aspects of the arcade game. In addition, you'll find your standard fighting game modes of play, plus an in-depth practice mode, and all three original Tekken arcade titles. Hands down, this is one of the best fighting games available for the PS2.
  3. While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.