Tekken 5 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 236
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KenT.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Nina, Asuka, and Anna are the most lusty babes i've ever seen in a Video Game....... Until now i stil find Nina as dangerous as ever and Asuka as a very hot teenage babe...harrrrrrrrrr... anyway, the game still rocks as ever and the music has been changed since T4(thank god for that), if you want a very good fighting game the Tekken 5 is the one for you!!!!!!!!!
  2. RenjithR.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    It's superb.
  3. Blackheart
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    The tekken of tekken series. It combines most of the tekken's in one if i may say the BEST tekken game ever. Why? 1.new players 2.advanced property (including jump property) 3.excelent stages 4. New modes and maybe just maybe tag system in konzole version.
  4. BradyY.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    Awesome, Better then the rest as always. Tekken 5 carries on the tradtion of being the best fighting game out there!!! Keep em' coming.
  5. Edwin
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best tekken ever!!!! watch out evolution!!
  6. JamesH.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    Best fighter on ps2 !!!!!
  7. JoelS.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found A great game indeed. This game in my opinion is so in depth that it puts other fighting games to shame. I am currently mastering Lee Chaolan and I am still impressed at all the moves I can perform with him (great indeed since in Tekken 2 he is just acarbon copy of Law with some changes here and there) and how deep as a character he has become. With impressive juggles and wall game I found Lee a powerful dangerous character in the right hand. But Lee isn't the only character who rocks. Paul, Nina, Heichachi, Jin, Asuka, Raven... all these characters in the right hand are deadly (Nina and Paul are apparently the deadliest however with Nina being the most deadly of the two) And the movie sequqneces are breathtaking to say the least. I really can't go on blabbering how great a game this is. Expand
  8. JonL.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best Tekken game yet!
  9. MaganY.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I'm overwhelmed, I'd never thought that Tekken as a series was usually low on the extras and this time there is and this is the best game of the series yet, no question Play this game!
  10. Niveche
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so What a bunch of whiners!!! not easy enough - cmon the easy setting is TOO easy - and i am by no means a tekken lord! its a great game - teh franchise inevitably tried newer formulae but this one goes back to teh real reason why this game played so well - the brilliant arcade style fighting - Soul Calibur is brilliant but Tekken is Tekken - perhaps weapons fighting is too complicated so Tekken rules in ARCADE hand combat - for complete fighting simulation play Virtua Figher and you know the TRUE meaning of a hard game. Tekken 5 rock. can wait for the PSP version so I can never be without my Tekken. Expand
  11. BobStu
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    For those of you who think it's hard maybe you should actually practice. This game is awesome and it was the best fighting game.10 right here.
  12. FaisalA.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing with new and improved graphics and way better gameplay than any of the other tekken titles.
  13. AndrewS.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 ..... Need I say more!!!
  14. BismarkPrince
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    One of da best games in town now.
  15. Andreas
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after Tekken 5 is the best game in the series. Almost every Tekken character is included. (32 in all) Exellent graphics, sound, and fantastic gameplay action! Perfect arcade versions of Tekken 1-2-3 is also included on the disc. PS: Gamers complain about how hard the final boss Jinpachi are, but he can be easely beaten with low-kicks. Just press down and O repeatly, and he is down after two/three rounds... Expand
  16. RingoS.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    Love it, best Tekken I ever played, sometimes if I'm tired I get frustrated when I lose, and Jinpachi isn't so hard at all, if you have a few skills.
  17. DavidP.
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    Brilliant game with excellent graphics i would recommend it to all!! u cant get much better
  18. XRA
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    Everything is good in this game.. Graphics, moves, sound.. Nothing to complain about. And if you think jinpachi is too hard then that just shows you are a sucky player who dont know how to sidestep!
  19. LingX.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Man they brought the hard sidestep back, i hate that because sidestepping's easy in T4 in arcade. but hell, it includes tekken 1-3, i'd get that. oh and it sucks when you can't move before "fight!" in battle. This has got to be the best tekken.
  20. AB
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    After buying the mediocre Tekken 4 I was afraid to buy Tekken 5. But after thinking for a long time I finally picked it up. I'm glad I did as this game kicks ass. There is only one problem: why do you have to use the D-pad? It would be great to at least have a choice for analog control. But that is a minor gripe because it still controls flawlessly. Tekken 5 is easily the second-best After buying the mediocre Tekken 4 I was afraid to buy Tekken 5. But after thinking for a long time I finally picked it up. I'm glad I did as this game kicks ass. There is only one problem: why do you have to use the D-pad? It would be great to at least have a choice for analog control. But that is a minor gripe because it still controls flawlessly. Tekken 5 is easily the second-best fighting game this generation (after Soul Calibur II for GameCube, which has Link and it's not easy to beat that). Expand
  21. PedroB.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, the 'specials' don't require a game bible on your lap to be performed and the speed ... heck this tekken is speedy, not as fast as Soul Calibur 2 but i think they wanted it to be :p The soudtrack is also a plus, it makes you really What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, the 'specials' don't require a game bible on your lap to be performed and the speed ... heck this tekken is speedy, not as fast as Soul Calibur 2 but i think they wanted it to be :p The soudtrack is also a plus, it makes you really wanna kick the other guys butt.. it's like the feeling in Tekken 2, when the music started you were in fighting heaven. The xtras are the best addiction, if you don't know the Tekken Saga, this way you'll know what you've been missing. Devil Within is also good, but i'd rather play Tekken Force... So with all things said ... there isn't a fighting game to ever be a threat to Tekken 5 ... unless Namco launches Soul Calibur 3 (~drool~) Expand
  22. AstemirE.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    I like the characters.
  23. kyuudmc
    Dec 18, 2008
    10
    The second best fighting game of all time! this game kicks major S! the only problem is that the characters need to get a little more balanced ... Nina and Steve are a bit overpowered! anyway Namco already solved this problem in Tekken 5:DR which is the very best fighting game EVER ;P
  24. NinaWillams
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    If you dont like this game you hate fighting games.
  25. GenaroEddie
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    Best tekken game yet, great graphics, great story, great everything.
  26. UnknownChampion
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    It's the best
  27. Matt
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    I love this game. The new characters are awesome and are well balanced. Also, the graphics are incredible, im amazed this is on the PS2. Also, arcade ports of Tekken 1,2, and 3 are on here. If you like fighting games at all, this is a must buy.
  28. Chimp
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    The best fighting game ever made. I was dissapointed in Tekken 4, it had about 12 characters or so. tekken 5 has more than 20. The story mode is good as always, and there is a new version of tekken force, but the best new mode is the whole customization/ranking scheme. GENIUS. also, this one disc carries alot. it has the arcade versions of tekken 1, 2 and 3! you can play these with other The best fighting game ever made. I was dissapointed in Tekken 4, it had about 12 characters or so. tekken 5 has more than 20. The story mode is good as always, and there is a new version of tekken force, but the best new mode is the whole customization/ranking scheme. GENIUS. also, this one disc carries alot. it has the arcade versions of tekken 1, 2 and 3! you can play these with other people and all characters are already unlocked! Basically, this game has GREAT value and amazing replayability. Expand
  29. TheBigmac
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    The tekken series has achieved perfection. If you have never played tekken, Grab this one and find out why the tekken series is considered the top of fighting games. If yu have played tekken, You'll enjoy this game in a way you have no idea. They didn't change or remove any of the previous moves for the characters. Instead, they added a ton of new moves, intuitively integrated The tekken series has achieved perfection. If you have never played tekken, Grab this one and find out why the tekken series is considered the top of fighting games. If yu have played tekken, You'll enjoy this game in a way you have no idea. They didn't change or remove any of the previous moves for the characters. Instead, they added a ton of new moves, intuitively integrated to the old ones. It's amaing. You perform an old move, and istintively you perform an extra combintion after the old move, And it comes out a brand new move, that you have never seen before, but when you pushed the buttons after the old move, is exactly the kind of move you were expecting. How did they did this? No idea. The music is perfect (you'll fell like fighting in the matrix), the graphics are the best i've seen on ps2, and the enviroments are breathtaking. Personally I liked tekken 4 when it came out, but was a, little dissapointed. But with this one Namco rocked the world. This game is...... PERFECT. Expand
  30. BobsU.
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This is without a doubt the best fighing game to date. DOA is slow and lagg like nothing ive seen in a fighting game, no way could you compear it with Tekken 5. SC2 is awesome, but its not quite the same as Tekken, SC@ just has something missing thats all. 10 for me.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 90
    From a purely technical standpoint, the frame-rate is rock solid, and the lighting effects are lavish as well, and while not as polished, overall, as the technical achievements of "Dead or Alive Ultimate," come a close second. Matching the visual largesse is a comprehensive features list that does for PS2 what "Dead or Alive Ultimate" did for Xbox.
  2. Fans of the arcade version of Tekken 5 will be happy to see a near flawless port of the game, complete with all of the customization aspects of the arcade game. In addition, you'll find your standard fighting game modes of play, plus an in-depth practice mode, and all three original Tekken arcade titles. Hands down, this is one of the best fighting games available for the PS2.
  3. While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.