• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RegnR8E
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    Having played every Tenchu game to date, I can say without a doubt, this is the best one so far. All previous Tenchu games have had camera problems, along with nearly every other 3rd person game to date, so one learns to compensate. The AI is still stupid at times, but they are far more difficult to get rid of and will chase you forever and not give up unless you are hidden really well. Having played every Tenchu game to date, I can say without a doubt, this is the best one so far. All previous Tenchu games have had camera problems, along with nearly every other 3rd person game to date, so one learns to compensate. The AI is still stupid at times, but they are far more difficult to get rid of and will chase you forever and not give up unless you are hidden really well. This game is far more difficult than previus Tenchu games and I think it desreves a better overall rating than most people have given it. You really must be extra quiet and stealthy througt the entire game. Sure, it doesn't advance the stealth genere any but, Tenchu stays true to it's roots while offering up better level design, improved AI, more difficult boss battles and, praise the designers, terrific maps for once! Expand
  2. Nick
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    F... people who say the camera is sh...y. Its fine for me! Oh, and the dude who says there's not enough checkpoints.waah wahh...does the BABY need a checkpoint because he keeps dying? Hey remember mario brothers? you get 3 lives to beat the game...thats it. No checkpoint, no f...ing save points. Idiot. Don't listen to anyone who says this game sucks, cause it totally does NOT! F... people who say the camera is sh...y. Its fine for me! Oh, and the dude who says there's not enough checkpoints.waah wahh...does the BABY need a checkpoint because he keeps dying? Hey remember mario brothers? you get 3 lives to beat the game...thats it. No checkpoint, no f...ing save points. Idiot. Don't listen to anyone who says this game sucks, cause it totally does NOT! One thing that everyone is saying that is kinda true though is that its just like wrath of heaven. But who the f..k cares?! NOT ME! Tenchu rocks, and more levels equals more boners from ME! Expand
  3. MaycoS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    A great game that is to the same level of his precesors...Im a big fan of Tenchu Games and this give me lots of fun.
  4. lisap
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    i don't know why so many people don't like this game. sure it has it's flaws, but so do all games. personally i think it's the best ninja stealth game i've ever played. maybe not the best in the stealth genre, but the best ninja one. this was the first tenchu game i ever played and since then i've become a huge fan of the others as well. i guess it's alli don't know why so many people don't like this game. sure it has it's flaws, but so do all games. personally i think it's the best ninja stealth game i've ever played. maybe not the best in the stealth genre, but the best ninja one. this was the first tenchu game i ever played and since then i've become a huge fan of the others as well. i guess it's all a matter of preference with the variety of ratings for this..but i loved it. Expand
  5. Mr.Norman
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    This game is awesome simply the best tench EVER! I REALLY hope this game comes stateside!!!
  6. G
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!
  7. MattijsS.
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    Great game if you have the hang of it because sneaking is hard when you just started.
  8. Patrick
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    This game rocks!!!! Best Tenchu yet!!!!
  9. ElyseS.
    Mar 10, 2005
    0
    I really, really, really, exceedingly, hated this stupid game!!! I don't want to play this game because its so simple unlike any other games, the graphics are great but it sucks!! I was jwasting my money for buying this game!!!!!
  10. Legion
    May 26, 2005
    9
    Why bother putting zero as a rating? clearly this isnt Elyse S's genre of game, in which case the opinion is hugely biased and should be discounted. The only balanced opinion i can see is that of RegnR8 E - bang on the money - it doesnt improve the genre, but then it wasnt really trying to, it feels and plays more like a refinement of wrath of heaven than anything else,if you look at Why bother putting zero as a rating? clearly this isnt Elyse S's genre of game, in which case the opinion is hugely biased and should be discounted. The only balanced opinion i can see is that of RegnR8 E - bang on the money - it doesnt improve the genre, but then it wasnt really trying to, it feels and plays more like a refinement of wrath of heaven than anything else,if you look at fatal shadows as an expansion to wrath of heaven then suddenly it all makes sense and you realise that in this context, the game is successful. As for the game being to easy...for me, the difficulty has never been the point of playing ANY of the tenchu games - it has been the lurking, putting you in the shadows, waiting with baited breath as a patrolling guard begins to inch towards your hiding place, and trying to organise a method of attack to proceed as quickly and quietly as possible through the areas. (personally, i do find it hugely entertaining to kill every last opponent regardless of wether i need to or not) The only thing missing from this series now, is the ability to stealth-kill an opponent as they come around a corner without having to perform some cunning control pad acrobatics to postion yourself - a simple stab-blade into the throat/heart as they come alongside would be sufficient..never even know what hit 'em - EXACTLY as it should be. Legion out. Expand
  11. AshuryaB.
    Feb 16, 2005
    7
    This game is very impresive than latest version, but the problem in this game is very simple to solve and finish.
  12. May 25, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth it! Don't listen to everyone saying this one is bad, or worse that Wrath of Heaven. In fact, this one is definitely better than Wrath of Heaven! If you haven't played Tenchu before, it might will be difficult, but just play it for a bit and you'll get the hang of it.

    This Tenchu (Tenchu Fatal Shadows or [kurenai] in japan) is very similar to Tenchu Wrath of Heaven
    Definitely worth it! Don't listen to everyone saying this one is bad, or worse that Wrath of Heaven. In fact, this one is definitely better than Wrath of Heaven! If you haven't played Tenchu before, it might will be difficult, but just play it for a bit and you'll get the hang of it.

    This Tenchu (Tenchu Fatal Shadows or [kurenai] in japan) is very similar to Tenchu Wrath of Heaven because the same developer (K2 LLC), however, this one is a bit different with how you will obtain new techniques. In Tenchu WoH you will easily obtain all the techniques as long as you kill a number of enemies in a map. However in the Tenchu FS it's different, you will get scroll books every time you stealth-kill enemies, from one to five, that changes depending on the difficulty when killing, if it's a fatal kill or not, or when the enemy is strong or not. After you have finished the level the scroll books will be counted and it's just like a milestone (or whatever it's called), e.g Tech 1 with 10 scroll books, Tech 2 with 20 Scroll books, etc. It made us have to repeat more quest to obtain the techniques, hence increasing play time. Even with that, this game is so fun! Because there are many, many improvement over WoH that's made the game better.

    Some of the improvement: improved enemies A.I, better graphics (FYI Ayame's totally hotter than in WoH), the enemy could stealth-kill-counter (rare) when you are hiding too close if you're gonna kill the enemy, interesting new char (Rin), the level is more challenging, and the rest just check 'em yourself!

    This one is far the best Tenchu game I've ever played. So I gave it a 10 (bravo!) because it's just soooo fun and cool.
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Few games can capture the sense of being in the hunt so well, and by degrees few games can disappoint so much when this sense is lost to wrangling with the camera or gawkish, unpredictable controls shackling your weightlessness. [Oct 2004, p.108]
  2. 9 / 7 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 815; 30 July 2004]
  3. One thing that fans of the Tenchu series will enjoy is the enemies have increased AI. You can't just hide in a bunch of bushes and be "invisible" to enemies anymore. [JPN Import]