Tenchu: Wrath of Heaven PlayStation 2

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2015
    2
    Huge downgrade from Tenchu 2. Many cool features were taken. Awesome human bosses were replaced with zombies, ghosts or characters with super powers and combo attacks in hack'n slash style. It had good multiplayer and fun gameplay, but it didn't have original Tenchu feeling so i can't give it higher score than this. This game was not made by the same people and it is noticeable after firstHuge downgrade from Tenchu 2. Many cool features were taken. Awesome human bosses were replaced with zombies, ghosts or characters with super powers and combo attacks in hack'n slash style. It had good multiplayer and fun gameplay, but it didn't have original Tenchu feeling so i can't give it higher score than this. This game was not made by the same people and it is noticeable after first minutes of playing. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    My favorite one
    Prefect, new challenge, new ways to kill, is just the best!
    I love ninja games, Like Shinobi and Night shade, but tenchu its my favorite one, after play this game i just fall in love with all the saga!
  3. AndrewJ.
    Feb 4, 2004
    8
    A great fun ninja game.
  4. DavidN.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    This game iz DA BOMB the steath kills the graphics n EVERYTHING!!!!!!any ways i never played the first one but the first time i played this game i loved it!!!!!!!!!then i played the second one and it didnt make any sense cause rikimaru had his full eye so i guess they screwed up on that one.the only game series as good as this is the MGS series n the dynasty warriors series thos ones rThis game iz DA BOMB the steath kills the graphics n EVERYTHING!!!!!!any ways i never played the first one but the first time i played this game i loved it!!!!!!!!!then i played the second one and it didnt make any sense cause rikimaru had his full eye so i guess they screwed up on that one.the only game series as good as this is the MGS series n the dynasty warriors series thos ones r tight. so in the end this game iz tight so im totaly buyin the fourth one!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    9
    I really liked this game, probally the best stealth game of the year. The gameplay is really rewarding seeing how they give you stuff for stealth killing people in this game,unlike many other games. The graphics are ok, the lighting effects were awesome but the characters could have been improved. The storyline is the games weakest point. All it is is about some lunatic wanting to revive I really liked this game, probally the best stealth game of the year. The gameplay is really rewarding seeing how they give you stuff for stealth killing people in this game,unlike many other games. The graphics are ok, the lighting effects were awesome but the characters could have been improved. The storyline is the games weakest point. All it is is about some lunatic wanting to revive lord Mei-Oh to take over Japan and you have to stop him. I kinda liked where it was going when I heard about Lord Mei-Oh again but it really doesn't play an important role in the story. The sound is pretty good the voice actors are ok and the music set the mood, but nothing revolutionary. However I have heard people expecting this game to be a ninja simulator, well don't count on it. The game is unrealistic but that is why it is probally so fun. I really would have hated it if I had to slowly climb a rope up a building instead of just being propelled up there. Secondly why would people think this is a ninja simulator? K2 didn't say it was going to be a ninja simulator so you really shouldn't expect one. Back to the game now. The game has tons of replay value. While every level may be the same for every character, the different enemy layouts compensate for that. And there are three different enemy layouts for each stage for each character. Overall, TWoH is an awesome stealth game that I will play for months to come, but, like everything, it is not suited for everyone. Expand
  6. David
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    If you liked the original tenchu you are gonna love this game. It has the same tense exciting gameplay as the first 2 tenchu games. With improved graphics and a new character and a fun multiplayer mode which make the game more replayable. However the same 2 flaws that have haunted the series (weak AI, and bad camera angles) are still not fixed.
  7. RobP.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    A great game, but all the bad points of the previous tenchus are still here such as bad camera angles which annoy and stupid enemies! a great game however.
  8. Jon
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game F@%$in rocks.
  9. AdamD.
    Jul 10, 2003
    9
    When is the fourth installment coming out?
  10. GabP.
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    This game is cool. I like to play it with my friend or by my self. The graphic are really good.
  11. SeanB.
    Apr 15, 2003
    9
    I thought this game was great untill i fell in a pit i didn't see and had to do the level over again.
  12. Sithknight1
    Apr 14, 2003
    9
    This game rocks!!!!!!! Is the closest to the original tenchu, which is a blast 'cause the original was amonfst my favorite ps1 games. I hated the second one. If you share my opinions, the you'll love Wrath of heaven. i took one piont from thescore, 'cause as you may've heard, it's a little frustrating when u play 25 minutes of a level 100% carefully of everything, This game rocks!!!!!!! Is the closest to the original tenchu, which is a blast 'cause the original was amonfst my favorite ps1 games. I hated the second one. If you share my opinions, the you'll love Wrath of heaven. i took one piont from thescore, 'cause as you may've heard, it's a little frustrating when u play 25 minutes of a level 100% carefully of everything, and suddenly u die'cause u fell into a stupid pitfall the camera didn't alñlowed u to see(maybe this is intended) and u have to reaply all the freakin' leavel again. But details aside, this is what every videogame shoul be. Lots of fun, u fellin' badass, and the imposibility to let go off the controller. i think that the Kanji letters u earn 4 stelth moves, and then gathering those u earn new abilities, is brilliant. U reallky start thinking as a ninja. " i cannot be seen, when they're less expecting it i'll appear like the wrhath of heaven, slashing them, they'll never know what hit them, i cannot kill innocents, i must achieve ninja perfection" i've got three words 4 this game: Zen like state. Expand
  13. Colin
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    There is simply nothing better out there now.
  14. jimtrashash
    Mar 20, 2003
    1
    i hate this game i hate every thing about it,not only did it suck but the only reason it got a 1 was because i was able to sell it to some stupid jewish kid for 80 dollars,i hope he enjoys it cause im going to enjoy spending this 80 dollars on beer pizza and weed,hahahahahaha
  15. GrahamM.
    Mar 15, 2003
    9
    Awesome! if you like ninjas, this game is awesome!!!!
  16. EagleEye
    Mar 9, 2003
    9
    It's really enjoyable, very stealthy and basically kicks ass, especially the co op multiplayer mode.
  17. MattP.
    Mar 9, 2003
    7
    This game is definitely worth playing but don't expect to be blown away, after getting as far as the third level it's difficult to shake the feeling that it was only 80% finished on it's release. The looks and sound are good but not great, the AI is laughable (enemys repeatedly walking into walls etc) not to mention the frustaration of having to start each level again if This game is definitely worth playing but don't expect to be blown away, after getting as far as the third level it's difficult to shake the feeling that it was only 80% finished on it's release. The looks and sound are good but not great, the AI is laughable (enemys repeatedly walking into walls etc) not to mention the frustaration of having to start each level again if you fall into a hole. But the controlls are passable and the stealth kills are fun, worth getting. Expand
  18. PhillipR.
    Mar 8, 2003
    9
    Definitely worth the price, does its predecessors proud, my only complaint is the voice acting could have been a bit better, but hey, who cares?
  19. Angelus
    Mar 7, 2003
    9
    This game is a big improvement over the previous tenchu titles. The combat system has been improved, the graphics are very solid, and the stealth kiils alone are worth the 50$.

Awards & Rankings

#68 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#16 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Perhaps the most puzzling thing of all is what happens when an enemy gets really, really confused. Most commonly you'll see them walk into a wall or some other barrier.
  2. Game Informer
    90
    The ninja game the world has been waiting for. It fights with honor, but still handily slays the competition. [Apr 2003, p.80]
  3. Although its plot didn’t captivate me, its exciting gameplay did. Gameplay is covert, yet exciting and had my heart beating rapidly each time I crept up on an enemy for a stealth kill.