Tenchu: Wrath of Heaven Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Move like a shadow. Strike like a snake... After amassing an army of ninjas and lords of darkness, the mysterious Tenrai has begun a quest to conquer 16th-century Japan. Now your master, Lord Gohda, has called upon you - a cunning stealth assassin - to stop Tenrai and his disciples before all is lost. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If you’re the kind of guy who likes to chop his prey into Sizzlean before he gets a whiff of your bad man musk, then the ninjas of Tenchu: Wrath of Heaven are right up your dojo.
  2. The ninja game the world has been waiting for. It fights with honor, but still handily slays the competition. [Apr 2003, p.80]
  3. 85
    The combat engine is solid, the new moves are great, and the stealth-reward system is an excellent, tried-and-true technique that works perfectly here.
  4. 80
    May not be the perfect ninja sim, but it's a ton of fun, and that's far more important than some minor flaws.
  5. This is all fairly familiar, but the key thing is that it's new content, there are new challenges, it all looks spectacular and it'll last you for ages.
  6. If nothing else, Wrath of Heaven succeeds where it absolutely must - executing stealth-kills as a ninja is simply exhilarating, and the animations rock. [Apr 2003, p.118]
  7. The needy camera and the almost forced replaying of the levels frustrated me. I also wish the manual (no item descriptions) and the tutorial (all text) weren't so atrocious.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. DavidN.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    This game iz DA BOMB the steath kills the graphics n EVERYTHING!!!!!!any ways i never played the first one but the first time i played this game i loved it!!!!!!!!!then i played the second one and it didnt make any sense cause rikimaru had his full eye so i guess they screwed up on that one.the only game series as good as this is the MGS series n the dynasty warriors series thos ones r tight. so in the end this game iz tight so im totaly buyin the fourth one!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Colin
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    There is simply nothing better out there now.
  3. Jon
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game F@%$in rocks.
  4. Angelus
    Mar 7, 2003
    9
    This game is a big improvement over the previous tenchu titles. The combat system has been improved, the graphics are very solid, and the stealth kiils alone are worth the 50$. Expand
  5. Sithknight1
    Apr 14, 2003
    9
    This game rocks!!!!!!! Is the closest to the original tenchu, which is a blast 'cause the original was amonfst my favorite ps1 games. I hated the second one. If you share my opinions, the you'll love Wrath of heaven. i took one piont from thescore, 'cause as you may've heard, it's a little frustrating when u play 25 minutes of a level 100% carefully of everything, and suddenly u die'cause u fell into a stupid pitfall the camera didn't alñlowed u to see(maybe this is intended) and u have to reaply all the freakin' leavel again. But details aside, this is what every videogame shoul be. Lots of fun, u fellin' badass, and the imposibility to let go off the controller. i think that the Kanji letters u earn 4 stelth moves, and then gathering those u earn new abilities, is brilliant. U reallky start thinking as a ninja. " i cannot be seen, when they're less expecting it i'll appear like the wrhath of heaven, slashing them, they'll never know what hit them, i cannot kill innocents, i must achieve ninja perfection" i've got three words 4 this game: Zen like state. Expand
  6. EagleEye
    Mar 9, 2003
    9
    It's really enjoyable, very stealthy and basically kicks ass, especially the co op multiplayer mode.
  7. jimtrashash
    Mar 20, 2003
    1
    i hate this game i hate every thing about it,not only did it suck but the only reason it got a 1 was because i was able to sell it to some stupid jewish kid for 80 dollars,i hope he enjoys it cause im going to enjoy spending this 80 dollars on beer pizza and weed,hahahahahaha Expand

See all 18 User Reviews