Test Drive: Eve of Destruction PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2004
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
Buy On
  1. 90
    Instead of just slapping together a string of mayhem-filled events, Monster created an absorbing and surprisingly unique Career mode that makes the game worth playing for a good while. [Oct 2004, p.78]
  2. The one thing that would have made this game a true gem would have been some online play, but the multiplayer is so entertaining that it’s easy to overlook.
  3. AceGamez
    90
    The best budget game I've played on the PS2; it's so good it even gives "Burnout" a run for its money.
  4. A great game to pull out if you have a few friends over, but online multiplayer would have made it worth keeping close to the console, to pop in for regular, online smash-'em-up racing. Even without online multiplayer, it's still worth checking out.
  5. The game packs plenty of playability, with easily 30 hours of gameplay under the hood, along with the expected mass hysteria whenever a gaggle of players shows up at your doorstep.
  6. One thing that’s subtle-yet-striking is that you can tell the difference when you hit someone and when you’re getting being hit by the way the screen shakes.
  7. And while the whole demolition derby thing may have been done before, it has never been done this well – with this much care.
  8. 85
    If you get three other players involved and a nice warm bottle of Mad Dog or a fifth of Ripple for the discerning 'neck, you’re looking at days of game play.
  9. While it may not be for everybody, EoD provides a great wrecking racing experience that I personally think is better than any other one out to date.
  10. 80
    Bears the gift of immense replayability, lending itself to quick, low-commitment gameplay sessions.
  11. Drivables—from hearses to school buses to muscle cars—all handle differently, but their arcade-style ease nicely compliments an overall dumb-ass experience that’s as fun as getting a bellyful of corn liquor and chasing a greased piglet.
  12. PSM Magazine
    80
    The best part, however, is the career mode, which lets you work your way up from lowly demo derby wannabe to Czar of Demolition. Check this one out. [Dec 2004, p.90]
  13. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    It's not "Burnout" by any means, but the way the whole experience revels in its country-boy demeanor oddly satisfies. [Oct 2004, p.100]
  14. Game Informer
    78
    The racing genre has been loking for a new hook for a while now, and I htink that Monster has started its own fun method of mayhem. [Oct 2004, p.123]
  15. 77
    The best game of its kind on the console, primarily due to its excellent free-roam career mode that adds extra realism and enjoyment, doing away with the standard menus that some other games still employ.
  16. The career mode while a nice idea, is boring, the physics are questionable, and while there is multi-player, the lack of online support is sorely missed. If you can pick it up for a good price, and you know what you're getting into, then it could be worth a purchase.
  17. It may be a little cheaper but its worth forking out the extra for "Flatout" unless the modes unique to this game really impress you.
  18. While there is nothing particularly wrong with it, it just doesn’t do much beyond what is expected in terms of actual gameplay.
  19. Impressively addictive, and manages a quiet grace about itself in presentation -- despite being about smashing the crap out of every moving thing in sight. It's just that without any online options, very little in the way customization and a set of races that towards the end of the game begin to feel a bit stale, it's hard to recommend this as a full-price option.

Awards & Rankings

#85 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    12 years after its release this is plain and simple the best destruction derby simulator ever made. The cars are all beater types, there are12 years after its release this is plain and simple the best destruction derby simulator ever made. The cars are all beater types, there are buses, ambulances, trailer races, flag pole races on and on and on. If its at the derby its in this one. No one has made a racer dedicated exclusively to the derby since this one. Sometimes the critics don't GET a type of culture. If you like derby this is your game. Full Review »
  2. Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Why does this game only have a score of 73%?

    If you ask me, I can tell you that I would consider this one of the greatest games of all
    Why does this game only have a score of 73%?

    If you ask me, I can tell you that I would consider this one of the greatest games of all time. First, the music is simply fantastic, the graphics (for the time) are brilliant and the game play is.. AMAZING.

    I remember playing this game when I was younger on the old PS2, it was the only game I ever played...

    Good times.....
    Full Review »
  3. Sablicious...
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. Scores of tracks/track variations; plenty of vehicles; unlockable extras/modes; vehicle upgrades (*in campaign); very decent (for Ps2/Xbox) damage modeling... Oh! Did I mention that it has a comprehensive 2-4 player split-screen in most all modes also?! (*not in campaign) Not just that, but it's not your token 'head-to-head' crap where you and another player meander around a barren track on your lonesome(s) due to MIA cpu opponents, oh no! 'Eve' has 8 cpu cars in addition to 2 human players in all modes except campaign! Better showing in this respect than Mario Karts of the same or earlier era(s)!! Great fun multiplayer game which actually takes a modicum of skill to master (unlike most games these days -_-). Due to its late release in relation to the console generation's life-cycle, the game got mostly unnoticed. Nevertheless, 'Eve' is the best game of the 'destruction derby' genre I've encountered. Highly recommended for fans of knock-about racers like this. Full Review »