• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2004
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    12 years after its release this is plain and simple the best destruction derby simulator ever made. The cars are all beater types, there are buses, ambulances, trailer races, flag pole races on and on and on. If its at the derby its in this one. No one has made a racer dedicated exclusively to the derby since this one. Sometimes the critics don't GET a type of culture. If you like derby12 years after its release this is plain and simple the best destruction derby simulator ever made. The cars are all beater types, there are buses, ambulances, trailer races, flag pole races on and on and on. If its at the derby its in this one. No one has made a racer dedicated exclusively to the derby since this one. Sometimes the critics don't GET a type of culture. If you like derby this is your game. Expand
  2. Sablicious...
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. Scores of tracks/track variations; plenty of vehicles; unlockable extras/modes; vehicle upgrades (*in campaign); very decent (for Ps2/Xbox) damage modeling... Oh! Did I mention that it has a comprehensive 2-4 player split-screen in most all modes About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. Scores of tracks/track variations; plenty of vehicles; unlockable extras/modes; vehicle upgrades (*in campaign); very decent (for Ps2/Xbox) damage modeling... Oh! Did I mention that it has a comprehensive 2-4 player split-screen in most all modes also?! (*not in campaign) Not just that, but it's not your token 'head-to-head' crap where you and another player meander around a barren track on your lonesome(s) due to MIA cpu opponents, oh no! 'Eve' has 8 cpu cars in addition to 2 human players in all modes except campaign! Better showing in this respect than Mario Karts of the same or earlier era(s)!! Great fun multiplayer game which actually takes a modicum of skill to master (unlike most games these days -_-). Due to its late release in relation to the console generation's life-cycle, the game got mostly unnoticed. Nevertheless, 'Eve' is the best game of the 'destruction derby' genre I've encountered. Highly recommended for fans of knock-about racers like this. Expand
  3. Sabbath
    May 15, 2007
    10
    There aren't any demolition games out there that are as realistic as this one. Improvements could be made with game play in scores/drivers but realisticly it is the best demolition game for ps2 on the market,if its not i would like to know what is?if you unlock all the cheats you can have turbo by pushing the r1 button,and really kick some ass!
  4. Chknbone
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    This game is a blast to play and FINALLY somebody put more than just the "far" and "front bumper" views back into a car game. My favorite is the "in car" view with the steering wheel, gauges, etc that I haven't seen since my PC version of Need for Speed Porsche Unleashed. Plus it doesn't require 2 months of your life to be able to be competitive, yet it's challenging enough This game is a blast to play and FINALLY somebody put more than just the "far" and "front bumper" views back into a car game. My favorite is the "in car" view with the steering wheel, gauges, etc that I haven't seen since my PC version of Need for Speed Porsche Unleashed. Plus it doesn't require 2 months of your life to be able to be competitive, yet it's challenging enough to keep you interested for more than just a week or two. I think the only reason it's rated "T" for Teen is because the announcer occasionally says "H*ll" (which is rare) and in career mode you are allowed to bet money against other drivers. However the betting is optional and not a necessity to continue the game. My kids (10 and 5) both loved this game too, and I had no reservations with letting them play it. There's no sex, blood, gore, ghost, goblins, monsters, etc anywhere in the game, which is very hard to find these days. The only reason I didn't give it a "10" is because there are no online capabilities. Collapse
  5. Neil"frog"Warren
    Jan 20, 2005
    8
    Why did this game only get 72%. [Ed: You only gave it an 8!] well, i guess i know why, the graffics arnt no GT3 or concept. but still they are good enough. tho, when u finish the game. thats it.. theres nothing else to do. that was a let down.. took me about 2 weeks to do.. if u played it flat out. prolly take u less then 2 days.. difficulty is good.. tho u cant upgrade to a car thats got Why did this game only get 72%. [Ed: You only gave it an 8!] well, i guess i know why, the graffics arnt no GT3 or concept. but still they are good enough. tho, when u finish the game. thats it.. theres nothing else to do. that was a let down.. took me about 2 weeks to do.. if u played it flat out. prolly take u less then 2 days.. difficulty is good.. tho u cant upgrade to a car thats got the exhausts out the bonnet.. i was waiting for that.. need to use a little common sense while playing this game. u cant just go out and do up one car and make it look and go really cool. coz u'll prolly smash it.. also have back up cars. demolition derby car, and a spare racing car.. all in all.. good game.. go buy it! Expand
  6. LachlanO.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    I rented it and in two days i made it up to 12th ranks i liked it i would like to buy it.
  7. JosephJ.
    Nov 24, 2004
    9
    Really enjoyed it. But I think it's a game I would rent not buy.
  8. BrandonM.
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    It's fun and awesome graphics.
  9. MikeG.
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    A Great Game! If you are looking for a demolition derby game, this is it. Damage looks real. Only thing wrong is the a.i., it could be a little tougher to win. Awesome!
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. The racing genre has been loking for a new hook for a while now, and I htink that Monster has started its own fun method of mayhem. [Oct 2004, p.123]
  2. 60
    But the single-player experience is ultimately too limited to recommend it as anything other than a rental.
  3. The only thing lacking in the game is the gameplay. Sure the Actions mini-events are fun to play, but the fact is, the game is rather slow paced compared to "Burnout3" or "Gran Turismo."