Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. A great game where the multiplayer mode is an integral part of the gameplay, rather than just a bonus add-on.
  2. Fairly shallow as racing games go but provides upwards of 40 hours of single player action and a never ending supply of online entertainment.
  3. A little underwhelming. Although I do enjoy the occasional escape from the daily grind, I have to say such a mellow atmosphere kinda makes me want to hit the off button. Not that I have anything against the zen and peace facilitated by Test Drive Unlimited, but I feel that it's not what racing games should be.
  4. Solid racing and a good online premise save this game from being a ho-hum racer. It may not be jaw dropping and great, but it is good and that's all that some games need to be.
  5. Compared only to PS2 racers, Test Drive Unlimited is a really impressive title, worthy of a purchase. The content is deceivingly deep and the replay value for fans of the title is excellent.
  6. It's a great game for cruising, and if you're looking for something to mellow out with after a hard day it's a great game. Hardcore race fans will want to look to other titles.
  7. Even though it's lazy journalism of the worst kind, it's also a pretty accurate summation of Unlimited's appeal - a game where the journey is just as enjoyable as the destination.
  8. What impressed as a bold experiment on Xbox 360 seems almost redundant on PS2. [Mar 2007, p.81]
  9. A few aspects of Test Drive Unlimited have been lost in translation from the Xbox 360 to the PlayStation 2, but even still, the game is an impressive piece of online-racing technology.
  10. 70
    The unique inter-weaving of online and offline play alone makes it worth checking out. Add to that the solid look and the open-ended gameplay and you've got another disc that'll put a smile on current-gen gamers living in a next-gen world.
  11. Compared only to PS2 racers, Test Drive Unlimited is fantastic. The content is amazingly deep. If there’s a sports car you’d love to drive, chances are it can be found in this game.
  12. If you're looking for a lengthy racing game for the PlayStation 2 then Test Drive Unlimited is well worth checking out, even if there's not a lot of variety in the actual events.
  13. 73
    The whole isn't quite as good as the potential behind it and some may find the lack of direction or features wanting, but the entire package is still strong enough to warrant a look for those that don't have the option of playing it on a more powerful console.
  14. It’s a full blown advert for anyone doubting the need to upgrade and a serious slur on the series’ newfound "Unlimited" take on the racer.
  15. Impressive, immense and pretty but somehow it fails to achieve greatness due to shortage of a variety of high-speed thrills. [Feb 2007, p.72]
  16. The PS2 conversion of a next-gen title is stripped down, but the beautiful sandbox of Oahu remains. There is plenty to do, but it is mostly the same not-so-fun driving and a couple of mission types over and over again. [Apr 2007]
  17. 76
    Yes it's an extremely solid racer, and yes it does a good job at emulating the original 360 game, but ultimately, there are far better racers available. [Issue # 149, p.86]
  18. 77
    As a game its certainty one for the good pile, and will provide hours of solid well made driving entertainment on and off line, however having created such an open and immersive world so impressively it fails to build on that potential by not offering the player any real sense of progression or involvement in it beyond simply moving from race to race and buying more cars.
  19. Unlimited? Not quite. Expansive But Ultimately Shallow would be better, but that probably wouldn't fit on the box. [Mar 2007]
  20. The PS2 version has a great Auto GPS system in the form of a HUD map that works with voice prompts and really comes in handy when trying to find races. [June 2007, p.80]
  21. A consuming driving experience that's not the most exciting, but makes up for it with its mellow side. [Mar 2007, p.56]
  22. It has some pretty obscure problems, like incorrect specifications for cars and no control configuration, and only one fifth of the soundtrack is worth listening to. But the rest of it is a pretty enjoyable experience from start to finish, as long as you don’t expect an immense amount of depth.
  23. 79
    An incredible accomplishment on the PS2. While it has lost a few features compared to the 360 version, most of the concept and game has remained intact, and remains enjoyable to play.
  24. It's a breath of fresh air to the racing genre and features some of the best online integration to date, although you'll be better off getting hold of the far superior Xbox 360 or PC versions.
  25. The overall strength of Test Drive Unlimited on the PS2 isn't in its presentation — these sights and sounds are far better on other consoles — but the scope of what it set out to do in the first place, which was to really bring about the next evolution in the genre.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. RyanK.
    May 28, 2007
    8
    This game is a great driving game, and a pretty damn good racing game. It has an expansive environment with lots to do and see. Its not a This game is a great driving game, and a pretty damn good racing game. It has an expansive environment with lots to do and see. Its not a good hardcore racing game, because there isnt enough to do with your cars, but its the best overall driving game ive played. I gave it only an 8 because of the lacking features on the ps2 version. I would have loved the motorcycles and more cars like it has on xbox. Also, in multiplayer mode, its hard to find races because there arent that many people on. Full Review »
  2. RyanP.
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    I live in in the 50th state, and I thought this game would be fun to play and watch since I live here in Hawaii. Though it's not I live in in the 50th state, and I thought this game would be fun to play and watch since I live here in Hawaii. Though it's not accurate in the environments, as an expansive racing game it's fun! I like being able to drive anywhere around the island, whether you wanna race or just cruise around the landscape! If you live in Hawaii, this will be more entertaining. Full Review »