• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Test Drive Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocket through crowded cities, opponents and the law on your tail, in the ultimate test of man and machine. Features over 20 of the hottest licensed exotic sports cars and all-American muscle cars; 4 stunningly realistic and highly-detailed real-world cities; and fully interactiveRocket through crowded cities, opponents and the law on your tail, in the ultimate test of man and machine. Features over 20 of the hottest licensed exotic sports cars and all-American muscle cars; 4 stunningly realistic and highly-detailed real-world cities; and fully interactive environments including competitive AI, unpredictable cross-traffic, reactive pedestrians, gravity-defying jumps, smashable street-side objects and relentless cops. [Infogrames] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Test Drive is all about unlocking fast cars and then unleashing them on the streets at mach speeds. [July 2002, p.80]
  2. For short spurts Test Drive is pure racing joy. As you whiz your car in and out of traffic you feel like a god on his chariot, but unfortunately too often you come crashing back to earth after hitting something or having something hit you.
  3. 71
    Looks good and sounds great, but in a racing game to have the sensation of speed constantly interrupted is very damaging.
  4. Most of the things that I like about it are overshadowed by the things that frustrate me.
  5. 70
    Test Drive needed this reboot, and the gritty, underground-racing angle isn’t bad; it just doesn’t feel as thrilling or daring as it should.
  6. A mixed bag of intense and exciting racing action which suffers terribly from a total lack of extras and is beset by weak collision physics, bad camera angles and crappy load times.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. PrestonS.
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    i loved this game great storyline and unforgetable characters the soundtrack could have been better but other than that this games is a must have.
  2. DudeK.
    Jul 6, 2003
    9
    I thing this game is kool and it sould get a good rating so there i gave it a 9.
  3. RedFoxBevis
    Oct 12, 2004
    9
    This is game is cool the whole idea you can race people for their cars and drag race and even also run from the cops.
  4. TreyG.
    Jun 14, 2002
    7
    When you first get this game you think you are in for a treat, but what you are in far is a difficult, challenging, and, sometimes When you first get this game you think you are in for a treat, but what you are in far is a difficult, challenging, and, sometimes frustrating game. However, the graphics are simply realistic, but there is one major flaw, THERE ARE NO DAMAGE PHYSICS!! On the back of the box it says Huge Wrecks! Yeah, only if you're talking about Test Drive 1. This is definitely a game you will want to rent before buying. Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jun 22, 2002
    7
    The graphics are good, and the music is AWESOME, but it is just a plain arcade style racing game. Definitely rent this before you decide to buy it.
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    5
    Nice looking game, fast and drives well (if you like arcade style racing), now why the low rating? It gets pretty much ruined by the extremeNice looking game, fast and drives well (if you like arcade style racing), now why the low rating? It gets pretty much ruined by the extreme rubber band ai and, for my taste, also the set time limits between checkpoints.
    You can basically park for a while, turn slowly around the next corner, and all the competitors will wait for you there. Losing them when in the lead is just as tricky, so driving skills go out of the window. All of this could still be mindless fun as the traffic and tracks keep you on your toes, alas there are pretty strict time limits so a few crashes, some of them are just down to luck, can end the race for you. I found this frankly infuriating after a while.

    You do get Pong as loading screen though, so I give it an extra point for that.
    Expand
  7. DualehA.
    Jun 22, 2002
    3
    The game has good graphics and great game play and sound. this game got me incredibly built up by the hype. but it is just hype. the game isThe game has good graphics and great game play and sound. this game got me incredibly built up by the hype. but it is just hype. the game is incredibly fustrating especially the 10 degree angles that the competition seems to take easily. almost impossible to get out of sliding out of control. and completely annoying. loading takes like two minutes ( even though u can playatar's classic pong while your waiting). the crashes are un real. since there are no changes in the car when it was at 200 mile per hour it hit a 18 wheeler head on . and all it does is bounce but the truck spins around in three circles before it stops. come on! this game sucks and i don't think anyone should buy it at all. the commercials are completley misleading. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews