• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 11, 2005
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RasmusB.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    A brilliant game the getaway black monday is 10 times better than the getaway its quite hard in the start but after a few days the game might be your favorite Game..... The getaway is for everybody who likes action and i think that ab maybe is a bit PSYCHO???? The graphics are awesome and this game is one of the most detailed games ever (except for Gta san andreas)! This game deffinentlyA brilliant game the getaway black monday is 10 times better than the getaway its quite hard in the start but after a few days the game might be your favorite Game..... The getaway is for everybody who likes action and i think that ab maybe is a bit PSYCHO???? The graphics are awesome and this game is one of the most detailed games ever (except for Gta san andreas)! This game deffinently deserves a 10!!! Expand
  2. TuomasK.
    Nov 20, 2004
    9
    Game is good, but not excellent. Graphics are great, controls are good after awhile of practise. Cars are from real life, and not that sh.t you see in GTA. I have both games and I like this one better. Yes, maybe there is not same amount of things to do, but great plot, athmospere, and voice acting rise this over average game. Dark, gritty experience and it has 4 different endings. Game is good, but not excellent. Graphics are great, controls are good after awhile of practise. Cars are from real life, and not that sh.t you see in GTA. I have both games and I like this one better. Yes, maybe there is not same amount of things to do, but great plot, athmospere, and voice acting rise this over average game. Dark, gritty experience and it has 4 different endings. Minigames give more age to this game, but multiplayer support would been good too. And now there is a map so you can see it, and it helps you in missions. Only minuses come from framerate, which drops very slow when action is at it's best, and it took about 12-14 hours to complete story. If you liked Getaway 1 or movies like "Snatch" or "Lock, Stock and Couple of Smoking Barrels" you like this. Expand
  3. AB
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    I thought that I could only die once but Sony has appearantly proved me wrong as they've released a crappy sequel to the crappy first "The Getaway" game. The first game had ridiculous control and bad acting, and they've managed to make this one even worse.
  4. Stace
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game, with a great script. Great Location and great vehicles!
  5. RickN.
    Mar 8, 2005
    3
    To all the people who voted this as a 10 and said thats it's "wicked" or whatever. Your wrong. Its boring.
  6. MutherF.
    May 9, 2005
    3
    Game was boring, controls were crap, story line was also crap, the only good thing is the free roam mode, the graphics arnt that good, not worth the money i paid.
  7. Sam
    Nov 4, 2006
    9
    It's almost the same game, but the controls are improved, and that was my only gripe against the original.
  8. JohnS.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Best game ever so shut da hell up you huw say its rubish. [Ed: uh...]
  9. ChristopherC.
    Oct 18, 2005
    9
    The Getaway Black Monday combines fabulous gameplay with a brilliant story line. The fact is that with no help, it is easily completeable, which is a good thing!!! Too many of these games are far too long, leading them to be boring. Also, nice to have a pure english game for once. Driving on the "correct" side is excellent. This game is one of the best I've played...and yes, The Getaway Black Monday combines fabulous gameplay with a brilliant story line. The fact is that with no help, it is easily completeable, which is a good thing!!! Too many of these games are far too long, leading them to be boring. Also, nice to have a pure english game for once. Driving on the "correct" side is excellent. This game is one of the best I've played...and yes, I've played on GTA!!! Expand
  10. KB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    10
    I liked this game. Its different from grand theft auto and the story is well written. The cars are nice and have good damage model on them. Its also realistic that you can get in trouble for crashes and you are able to avoid these by ditching your car or by fleeing. Most people who aren't British may think this game is just for Brits but hey, I like it and I'm not from Britain.
  11. RyanW.
    May 29, 2005
    3
    After playing the original getaway i was expecting more of the same excitement. But I was left feeling bitterly disappointed with this sequel. It bored me to tears.
  12. Alex
    Jun 16, 2005
    5
    It is too short, it disappointed me, i does not woth what I pay for it. I gave 5 because the graphics and the cars are very nice, but it is short and bored. I should buy another game. I'll change this one as soon as possible.
  13. DevinM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    I got for 10 bucks and think the game is pretty dam good! It's about the gaming experience and Black Monday provides a great one. Buy it if it's discounted you won't be sorry.
  14. AndrewN.
    Jul 7, 2007
    5
    Black Monday has all the good, bad and ugly aspects of the original Getaway. Excellent driving sections, poor targeting, crappy camera, woeful stealth and mockney accents. Too bad then that the first game had a much better story, better missions and more entertaining set pieces. All of which were lacking in this sequel. Overly lacklustre and undermined by a lack of polish. A missed oppertunity.
  15. carlos
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    I think saying it's not improved at all from the first is totally wrong. It is improved though it still suffers from some flaws. It's like at time the developers just got really lazy after working really hard on making picadilly look just right. The additions of motorbikes is cool but they are so difficult to control you just don't bother using them. Not to mention that oneI think saying it's not improved at all from the first is totally wrong. It is improved though it still suffers from some flaws. It's like at time the developers just got really lazy after working really hard on making picadilly look just right. The additions of motorbikes is cool but they are so difficult to control you just don't bother using them. Not to mention that one level.. people who have played the game know which one I'm talking about.. is nearly impossible without a guide and the fact that the levels or chapters become so long when you're eddie that you can't save them until totally finishing them is stupid. I think the game looks great and I like how it's more realistic as a whole over something like GTA with real cars and brands etc. Despite its flaws I really enjoy the game and the story is good and engrossing at times. The fact is it's still better than most games you'll play, if the original is a 6 this one's an 8. Was looking forward to a PS3 release but I heard it's been scrapped so looks like this is the best fans or the series will get. Expand
  16. AAneoAAJ.
    Nov 8, 2004
    7
    Same old crap....only this time nearly 3 years have passed. Cars that drive through phonepoles without reveiving damage? It`s laughable and i did like the first game but this one suxxx A$$.
  17. JonR.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    This game is brilliant. First of all, The Getaway 1 was freaking awesome. This Getaway is perfect, and I haven't had ANY camera problems AT ALL, so shut up. You people need to learn to ADAPT.
  18. Michael
    Mar 14, 2005
    9
    The greatest thing about this game is the story and the script. The dialogue is fantastic, especially if you are a fan of Guy Ritchie films. The controls however are a bit spotty, though once you get a hang of them you will overlook the fact that they could have been alot better because the game is just that much fun. I like using the blinkers to tell me where to go and don't The greatest thing about this game is the story and the script. The dialogue is fantastic, especially if you are a fan of Guy Ritchie films. The controls however are a bit spotty, though once you get a hang of them you will overlook the fact that they could have been alot better because the game is just that much fun. I like using the blinkers to tell me where to go and don't understand why so many reviewers frown on this innovation. Is the game as good as GTA: San Andreas? Of course not. But it's like comparing apples and oranges as this game has its own flavor and that flavor is completely story-driven. You'll end up playing all night just to watch the next cut-scene as the script and animations are simply riveting. Don't believe any of the low ratings, you will not be sorry if you rent this game. Expand
  19. SteveM.
    Mar 21, 2005
    7
    Very good graffix and decent plot but way too easy - completed in under 10 hours.
  20. JaynaH.
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    Great follow up to the first game.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    Wikid game, those critics are cr*p at their job if they fail to see how cool thsi game is, it might not touch gta:san andreas but it gets my thumbs up.
  22. Jul 13, 2012
    9
    It is an improvement from the first one. Some may see these games as a game trying to be GTA. It is similar to Grand Theft Auto,but is different in a lot of ways.One big way is that you don't know how much life or ammo you have left and the cops actually try to catch you. The way the cars drive in this game are smoother than the first game.The story is very different from any other game IIt is an improvement from the first one. Some may see these games as a game trying to be GTA. It is similar to Grand Theft Auto,but is different in a lot of ways.One big way is that you don't know how much life or ammo you have left and the cops actually try to catch you. The way the cars drive in this game are smoother than the first game.The story is very different from any other game I have played. The other ending isn't that different and the story doesn't change if you decide to get the other ending.It is a fun game to play even after you beat it because there are other modes you can do as racing,Being a taxi driver,and of course free roam. Expand
  23. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best games I've played on the PS2.

    The cars are good, you can choose how you want to end a mission, and there are a few glitches which ruin the game a bit.
  24. Apr 11, 2015
    8
    A damn fun and challenging game with some great visuals and gameplay for its time and platform. Performance issues occasionally hinder the experience but only marginally. It's super cheap nowadays so if you're looking for a challenging game with great combat mechanics this game is for you. Extra props to the game for being one of the only open-world games set in London.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. The locations feel more spacious than the original, too, and missions are varied so drug busts move into car chases with only the slightest hint of nausea...A limited but exciting experience.
  2. Maybe if any of the significant flaws of the original had been ironed out, and the missions were actually compelling, we wouldn't mind, but the excitement and thirst for vengeance of the original has been replaced by exceptionally ordinary shoot-'em-up missions, one on-rails shooting section, and a few awful stealth encounters.
  3. As it stands Black Monday just cannot compete with the truly impressive games released for the Playstation 2 this year.