• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2003
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 80
  2. Negative: 21 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J.C.
    Jun 6, 2007
    1
    Oh dear, this game has aged like a pint of milk. Nice representation of London, some of the worst controls I've ever come across.
  2. JoshH.
    Jul 17, 2003
    4
    I know that this rating looks bad, but it's probably more than it deserves. It is quite a fun game for about a half hour, but then it gets less interesting. GTAIII/VC are more fast paced and have more weapons, so that makes them fun for hours on end. If the Getaway interests you, then try the GTA series. This game is Impressive in terms of graphics, but, being 14, the more pumped up I know that this rating looks bad, but it's probably more than it deserves. It is quite a fun game for about a half hour, but then it gets less interesting. GTAIII/VC are more fast paced and have more weapons, so that makes them fun for hours on end. If the Getaway interests you, then try the GTA series. This game is Impressive in terms of graphics, but, being 14, the more pumped up violence in the GTA series is so much more fun. Plus, Someone said there isn't a tank. That's not true. Collapse
  3. AdamB.
    Apr 4, 2006
    1
    Absolutely unplayable. I can usually find some redeeming quality in a game, but this was one of the few I quit before finishing (and folks, I suffered all the way through Haven: Call of the King). The driving part of the game is average, and it is neat the way they recreated London, but the game is an absolute disaster when you are on foot. The control of the main character is beyond Absolutely unplayable. I can usually find some redeeming quality in a game, but this was one of the few I quit before finishing (and folks, I suffered all the way through Haven: Call of the King). The driving part of the game is average, and it is neat the way they recreated London, but the game is an absolute disaster when you are on foot. The control of the main character is beyond infuriating - the auto aim feature takes control away from you when you need it the most and just getting the guy to walk in a straight line is nearly impossible. Any props it would get from me for the London recreation it loses for unplayability during the stealth missions. Stick with Metal Gear Solid and the GTA series and you'll be glad you did. I ended up paying a net of $2.10 for my gaming experience on the Getaway and I still feel ripped off. Those are hours I'll never get back. Expand
  4. JohnD.
    Dec 13, 2007
    1
    Driving around a lovingly rendered London works well enough and the plot has promise, but the controls are so bad for the on-foot missions that you feel like you are fighting with the developer rather than the on-screen bad guys.
  5. MattY.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    When you first put the game into your console your jaw will drop. The graphics are amazing, as well as the London envirement. But once you touch your controller, you'll know that The Getaway is worth a pound or a penny. The controls are unbelievably stiff. I feel as if im hooked with a ball and chain. Once you hop into a car, you cant even hit a curb without fearing that it will When you first put the game into your console your jaw will drop. The graphics are amazing, as well as the London envirement. But once you touch your controller, you'll know that The Getaway is worth a pound or a penny. The controls are unbelievably stiff. I feel as if im hooked with a ball and chain. Once you hop into a car, you cant even hit a curb without fearing that it will stall. Your car has no strength to take you half. The worst thing is the health. Theres no health meter. To regain health you must lean against a wall for a long amount of time. Aint that stupid. Rent the movie Lock Stock and Two Smoking barrels and you will have expiereced a much better London gangster simulator. Expand
  6. ChaosS.
    Apr 20, 2003
    0
    This game is pathetic. graphics are awesome, but the game play is about as interesting as watching paint dry. i couldnt believe it. those bastards that made this game even took the fun out of shooting people... thats hard to do. the controls are the worst since rainbow 6 rogue spear for psx. the storyline starts out confusing but it may get better. truly i dont know. after my fifth time ofThis game is pathetic. graphics are awesome, but the game play is about as interesting as watching paint dry. i couldnt believe it. those bastards that made this game even took the fun out of shooting people... thats hard to do. the controls are the worst since rainbow 6 rogue spear for psx. the storyline starts out confusing but it may get better. truly i dont know. after my fifth time of fighting my way to teh end of teh levela nd being killed i got frustrated. there's not even a health meter or ammo meter! couldnt teh idiots have just put in afew meters, some better camera angles, the ABILITY TO RUN, and an obvious ingame way to regain health. this game is a true disappointment. Expand
  7. ArmaniG.
    Dec 19, 2002
    4
    OK so its british...... big deal, the story's not to bad but the cars are so lame not enough choice at all...... and you can only carry hand guns the americans suck arse but vice city is much better!!!!!
  8. BendO.
    Jan 15, 2003
    0
    Sluggish control, horrible driving physics, basically horrible gameplay. as great as the graphics are, it aint enough to save this title! I give it a 1 point score for the graphics.
  9. DamianJ.
    Jan 2, 2003
    4
    While the game is realistic, it's ditched most gaming convensions in the process. Leaning up against a wall to regain health makes for much start-stop gameplay. This game is definately not GTA: Vice City, and whoever said Vice City was for kids needs their head checked. Senseless random violence? How about "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want"? The Getaway does While the game is realistic, it's ditched most gaming convensions in the process. Leaning up against a wall to regain health makes for much start-stop gameplay. This game is definately not GTA: Vice City, and whoever said Vice City was for kids needs their head checked. Senseless random violence? How about "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want"? The Getaway does indeed blur the lines between game and movie, and that's the worst thing I could possibly have in a game. If this is where realism is taking us, I'd rather more creativity and imagination in the form of genre defiance. This game's no fun, and that's all that matters. Not the graphics. Not the scope. Not the cinematics. I play games for fun. If I want a movie, I'll buy a movie. Expand
  10. BenN.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    What's the big deal about this game, it ain't that great at all, I personally thought the car driving graphics where not bad but dissapointing, and the control system for the game is the worst on any game like this for a long time, my advice is to buy GTA vice city, don't get me wrong i can see why peaple would like this game but beware some out there will be veryWhat's the big deal about this game, it ain't that great at all, I personally thought the car driving graphics where not bad but dissapointing, and the control system for the game is the worst on any game like this for a long time, my advice is to buy GTA vice city, don't get me wrong i can see why peaple would like this game but beware some out there will be very disappointed, especially if you own Vice City! Expand
  11. ZACKM.
    Apr 2, 2003
    1
    This game should be renamed to "Run Away" because it was lacking in so many areas. I wish I had rented something else that was worth my $5 bucks.
  12. AdamJ.
    Dec 15, 2002
    2
    Its awful!! The Graphics are too detailed and don't seem realistic, the Game is awful to play with Dreadful Control system and you can't use the auto-aim as its unnefficient and doesn't pick the most dangerous target, the cars handle like Shopping Carts/Trolleys on Treacle and the Police A.I is incredibly brutal!! Cannot Recommend this to anyone, Get GTA, its so much more fun!
  13. ChristianM.
    Dec 22, 2002
    4
    VERY average. terrible camera when out of the car, dogy frame rate, bad targetting system and poor texture resoultion. Only really good if u live in london and want to show ur friends where u live/work.
  14. Sam
    Nov 12, 2004
    2
    It looks gorgeous, but the controls are so confusing and the plot is another, get revenge on the jackasses that killed my wife and kidnapped my kid plot. Not immpressive. Perhaps the sequel will focus on the flaws like the biggest that is the controls. But until then I am staying far away from this game.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. This game deserves a look at, even if just to admire the scope to which Lindon was recreated and the movie-like feel.
  2. The level of detail is extraordinary... but the slickest graphic presentation can't cover for Getaway's flawed script... In a game infused with more humor and less pretentious aspirations, these flaws would be more forgivable. [24 Jan 2003, p.106]
  3. It's definitely the closest video games have ever come to capturing the essence of a kick-ass action flick. [Feb 2003, p.92]