The Getaway PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2003
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 87
  2. Negative: 21 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC.
    Feb 7, 2003
    7
    I liked this game for it's cinematic qualities, mostly. I really felt as though I'm playing in a Guy Richie flick. But nothing else really stuck out. The story was good, graphics were well done, and the driving gives Grand Theft Auto a run for its money. I disagree with Bend on the car physics (I think they're dead-on), but the controls are kinda hard to get use to, I liked this game for it's cinematic qualities, mostly. I really felt as though I'm playing in a Guy Richie flick. But nothing else really stuck out. The story was good, graphics were well done, and the driving gives Grand Theft Auto a run for its money. I disagree with Bend on the car physics (I think they're dead-on), but the controls are kinda hard to get use to, especially in a shootout. Also, the cut-scenes sometimes dragged on. What's most annoying is that there is no map to help you or arrows to guide you to your destination while driving(not everyone lives in London, you know.) It's worth a shot if your into crime drama. Expand
  2. THeimminent26
    Mar 6, 2003
    7
    If you enjoy action games you should at least give this game a try, while not an unbelivable title I think most people should enjoy this game. However at times this game can really get annyoying, I wouldn't recomend it for the shortempered. THe driving segments at first are very sweet but I easily bored of the very repititive steal car, drive to other side of town with cops chasing If you enjoy action games you should at least give this game a try, while not an unbelivable title I think most people should enjoy this game. However at times this game can really get annyoying, I wouldn't recomend it for the shortempered. THe driving segments at first are very sweet but I easily bored of the very repititive steal car, drive to other side of town with cops chasing you the entire way, to much traffic feel. THe story was pretty entertaining, and think it is pretty nice to see people making movie like games. If you prefer complete realism (or something like it) play the getaway, If you'd like unrealism Play GTA. THat is pretty much it. .........Listen to the massive 26......... Expand
  3. D.Farr
    Dec 17, 2002
    7
    Well worth renting for a night or 2 but would not reccomend parting with your hard earned cash for it!!! GTA Vice city is by far the better purchase however you have to admire the level of detail put into this title its just a shame they didnt put the same level of thought into the gameplay.
  4. HonestOpinion
    Dec 19, 2002
    7
    This is a good game but not without its faults, london is perfectly re-created but with no in game map is hard to negotiate unless you're a london cab driver. well worth a look but not as good as gta vice city.
  5. Stomp
    Jan 11, 2003
    7
    Damian J: (About GTA VC) "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want" - Yep. As long as you do something violent. I agree with Freud, GTA VC is more of a kiddy game. Nevertheless, I think The Getaway has some serious shortcomings. The camera being the major one. Still, a great game.
  6. JesseE.
    Jan 8, 2003
    7
    I really wanted to give this game a 6.5. While I really enjoyed parts of this game, I found myself REALLY NOT ENJOYING other parts. For example, I felt the indicator system in the vehicles was confusing - leading to going around in circles. The save points were FAR, FAR, FAR to spread out - especially when you get into levels like the mansion where the awkward control method almost always I really wanted to give this game a 6.5. While I really enjoyed parts of this game, I found myself REALLY NOT ENJOYING other parts. For example, I felt the indicator system in the vehicles was confusing - leading to going around in circles. The save points were FAR, FAR, FAR to spread out - especially when you get into levels like the mansion where the awkward control method almost always invariably made you trip the lasers. Controlling the character was mostly fun, but prone to annoying vagrancies. For example, when hiding up against a wall, or an object for cover you had to press x to target anything other than the door you are adjacent to. ANNOYING. Still good for a rental though. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    The Getaway is a fun game, but not in the sense that you will get an exceptional amount of enjoyment out of the act of playing. Its fun because of the obscurity and the fact that you're trying something new. The graphics are astonishing but the gameplay is tiring and boring. This game, if it were a film, would succeed massively. It has an astonishing plot, great voice acting and is wellThe Getaway is a fun game, but not in the sense that you will get an exceptional amount of enjoyment out of the act of playing. Its fun because of the obscurity and the fact that you're trying something new. The graphics are astonishing but the gameplay is tiring and boring. This game, if it were a film, would succeed massively. It has an astonishing plot, great voice acting and is well written on the whole. It works very well as a film, but as a game? No. Sorry. Expand
  8. MicahC.
    Mar 8, 2003
    6
    One of the few games where u don't wanna skip the cutscenes.
  9. Chuck76
    Mar 31, 2003
    6
    Probably the most hyped and over-rated game of the year (in the uk anyway). The humour, graphics and superb story line are the biggest acheivment of this title. Once you've got used to the sluggish controls, slightly too realistic driving physics and the awkward but rewarding aiming system this game can be pretty cool. But as you get further you grow bored of the cut scenes, the Probably the most hyped and over-rated game of the year (in the uk anyway). The humour, graphics and superb story line are the biggest acheivment of this title. Once you've got used to the sluggish controls, slightly too realistic driving physics and the awkward but rewarding aiming system this game can be pretty cool. But as you get further you grow bored of the cut scenes, the constant repeating of the same tasks and similar missions. A word of warning, if you're the kinda guy who gets infuriated to the point where you wanna put your controller through the TV give this game a miss! The feel of a movie is what this game stes out to do and it delivers but that's also the biggest flaw. If I wanna watch a movie I will. Definitely worth playin' should take a week or less to crack. Try an take advantage of some stores 10 day return policy (oops shouldn't really say that, ha). A must if you live in London though. Expand
  10. UnBiased
    Dec 16, 2002
    6
    Would have been good, had GTA3 not come out a year earlier and done everything this game tries to do better. Vice city is a far more expansive experience and isn't ashamed of being a game, as this appears to be.
  11. MathewP.
    Jan 1, 2004
    5
    Now don't get me wrong, I really wanted to like this game. I really like British gangster films (and they go beyond Snatch and Lock Stock people). But his game has some major drawbacks. The controls are frustratingly stiff, and the cars are painful to drive. Realism is always a nice touch, but i could not for the life of me, get passed the guy with the shottie, when going dowenstairs Now don't get me wrong, I really wanted to like this game. I really like British gangster films (and they go beyond Snatch and Lock Stock people). But his game has some major drawbacks. The controls are frustratingly stiff, and the cars are painful to drive. Realism is always a nice touch, but i could not for the life of me, get passed the guy with the shottie, when going dowenstairs in the museum. Mark cannot take too much damage. On a good note, the graphics are pretty damn nice, and the cut scenes are a joy to watch. But sadly, I just didn't find it Fun. And that, first and foremost are what games are supposed to be to me. Expand
  12. NeilC.
    Feb 25, 2003
    5
    Not as challenging as Vice, the levels feel far more staged, and there is a feeling of the user getting herded into doing things. Anybody looking for realism in a game should perhaps stick to movies and not comment on video games. To those who said it couldn't be done - correct.
  13. Zack
    Apr 27, 2003
    5
    I didn't necassarily like this game but i didn't dislike it. Rockstar should combine the graphics from the Getaway to the freedom and fun of Vice City. That would be a great game but the getaway was kind of a movie. also the controls sucked.

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#87 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. This game deserves a look at, even if just to admire the scope to which Lindon was recreated and the movie-like feel.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    25
    The level of detail is extraordinary... but the slickest graphic presentation can't cover for Getaway's flawed script... In a game infused with more humor and less pretentious aspirations, these flaws would be more forgivable. [24 Jan 2003, p.106]
  3. Game Informer
    90
    It's definitely the closest video games have ever come to capturing the essence of a kick-ass action flick. [Feb 2003, p.92]