The Getaway PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2003
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 87
  2. Negative: 21 out of 87
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhillipS.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    This game is cool but the only problem is that the cars are to slow but I think it is still better than Grantheftauto3/vice city.
  2. Chuck76
    Mar 31, 2003
    6
    Probably the most hyped and over-rated game of the year (in the uk anyway). The humour, graphics and superb story line are the biggest acheivment of this title. Once you've got used to the sluggish controls, slightly too realistic driving physics and the awkward but rewarding aiming system this game can be pretty cool. But as you get further you grow bored of the cut scenes, the Probably the most hyped and over-rated game of the year (in the uk anyway). The humour, graphics and superb story line are the biggest acheivment of this title. Once you've got used to the sluggish controls, slightly too realistic driving physics and the awkward but rewarding aiming system this game can be pretty cool. But as you get further you grow bored of the cut scenes, the constant repeating of the same tasks and similar missions. A word of warning, if you're the kinda guy who gets infuriated to the point where you wanna put your controller through the TV give this game a miss! The feel of a movie is what this game stes out to do and it delivers but that's also the biggest flaw. If I wanna watch a movie I will. Definitely worth playin' should take a week or less to crack. Try an take advantage of some stores 10 day return policy (oops shouldn't really say that, ha). A must if you live in London though. Collapse
  3. J.C.
    Jun 6, 2007
    1
    Oh dear, this game has aged like a pint of milk. Nice representation of London, some of the worst controls I've ever come across.
  4. JoshH.
    Jul 17, 2003
    4
    I know that this rating looks bad, but it's probably more than it deserves. It is quite a fun game for about a half hour, but then it gets less interesting. GTAIII/VC are more fast paced and have more weapons, so that makes them fun for hours on end. If the Getaway interests you, then try the GTA series. This game is Impressive in terms of graphics, but, being 14, the more pumped up I know that this rating looks bad, but it's probably more than it deserves. It is quite a fun game for about a half hour, but then it gets less interesting. GTAIII/VC are more fast paced and have more weapons, so that makes them fun for hours on end. If the Getaway interests you, then try the GTA series. This game is Impressive in terms of graphics, but, being 14, the more pumped up violence in the GTA series is so much more fun. Plus, Someone said there isn't a tank. That's not true. Expand
  5. AdamB.
    Apr 4, 2006
    1
    Absolutely unplayable. I can usually find some redeeming quality in a game, but this was one of the few I quit before finishing (and folks, I suffered all the way through Haven: Call of the King). The driving part of the game is average, and it is neat the way they recreated London, but the game is an absolute disaster when you are on foot. The control of the main character is beyond Absolutely unplayable. I can usually find some redeeming quality in a game, but this was one of the few I quit before finishing (and folks, I suffered all the way through Haven: Call of the King). The driving part of the game is average, and it is neat the way they recreated London, but the game is an absolute disaster when you are on foot. The control of the main character is beyond infuriating - the auto aim feature takes control away from you when you need it the most and just getting the guy to walk in a straight line is nearly impossible. Any props it would get from me for the London recreation it loses for unplayability during the stealth missions. Stick with Metal Gear Solid and the GTA series and you'll be glad you did. I ended up paying a net of $2.10 for my gaming experience on the Getaway and I still feel ripped off. Those are hours I'll never get back. Expand
  6. JohnD.
    Dec 13, 2007
    1
    Driving around a lovingly rendered London works well enough and the plot has promise, but the controls are so bad for the on-foot missions that you feel like you are fighting with the developer rather than the on-screen bad guys.
  7. JamieD.
    Oct 20, 2003
    9
    Excellent game. I've had a PS2 for about 4 months and haven't really used it much. Then my brother lent me this game and I've been on it every night. It's really easy to get into and it really sucks you in. It's a great stress reliever too after a hard day!
  8. HazP.
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    First of all to Chaos.S.....u suck. i cant bellev u gave this a 0 u obviously got yor review from yor blind grandpa and he told u. because if u gave it a 0 u defentely havent played it. 10 for graphics 10 for gameplay and 10 for kickin peoples ass. even if u dont like the missions put on the free roaming cheat tri,tri,tri,left,left,squ,tri,tri,tri,left.circle. duh!! and just drive around First of all to Chaos.S.....u suck. i cant bellev u gave this a 0 u obviously got yor review from yor blind grandpa and he told u. because if u gave it a 0 u defentely havent played it. 10 for graphics 10 for gameplay and 10 for kickin peoples ass. even if u dont like the missions put on the free roaming cheat tri,tri,tri,left,left,squ,tri,tri,tri,left.circle. duh!! and just drive around at yor own pace. sure u dont have a health meter and u hav to lean against a wall to gain health but i think the mesage the producers wer trying to get was to make it realistic. if u dont like this game then u dont like real crime. Expand
  9. EricC.
    Feb 7, 2003
    7
    I liked this game for it's cinematic qualities, mostly. I really felt as though I'm playing in a Guy Richie flick. But nothing else really stuck out. The story was good, graphics were well done, and the driving gives Grand Theft Auto a run for its money. I disagree with Bend on the car physics (I think they're dead-on), but the controls are kinda hard to get use to, I liked this game for it's cinematic qualities, mostly. I really felt as though I'm playing in a Guy Richie flick. But nothing else really stuck out. The story was good, graphics were well done, and the driving gives Grand Theft Auto a run for its money. I disagree with Bend on the car physics (I think they're dead-on), but the controls are kinda hard to get use to, especially in a shootout. Also, the cut-scenes sometimes dragged on. What's most annoying is that there is no map to help you or arrows to guide you to your destination while driving(not everyone lives in London, you know.) It's worth a shot if your into crime drama. Expand
  10. THeimminent26
    Mar 6, 2003
    7
    If you enjoy action games you should at least give this game a try, while not an unbelivable title I think most people should enjoy this game. However at times this game can really get annyoying, I wouldn't recomend it for the shortempered. THe driving segments at first are very sweet but I easily bored of the very repititive steal car, drive to other side of town with cops chasing If you enjoy action games you should at least give this game a try, while not an unbelivable title I think most people should enjoy this game. However at times this game can really get annyoying, I wouldn't recomend it for the shortempered. THe driving segments at first are very sweet but I easily bored of the very repititive steal car, drive to other side of town with cops chasing you the entire way, to much traffic feel. THe story was pretty entertaining, and think it is pretty nice to see people making movie like games. If you prefer complete realism (or something like it) play the getaway, If you'd like unrealism Play GTA. THat is pretty much it. .........Listen to the massive 26......... Expand
  11. MattY.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    When you first put the game into your console your jaw will drop. The graphics are amazing, as well as the London envirement. But once you touch your controller, you'll know that The Getaway is worth a pound or a penny. The controls are unbelievably stiff. I feel as if im hooked with a ball and chain. Once you hop into a car, you cant even hit a curb without fearing that it will When you first put the game into your console your jaw will drop. The graphics are amazing, as well as the London envirement. But once you touch your controller, you'll know that The Getaway is worth a pound or a penny. The controls are unbelievably stiff. I feel as if im hooked with a ball and chain. Once you hop into a car, you cant even hit a curb without fearing that it will stall. Your car has no strength to take you half. The worst thing is the health. Theres no health meter. To regain health you must lean against a wall for a long amount of time. Aint that stupid. Rent the movie Lock Stock and Two Smoking barrels and you will have expiereced a much better London gangster simulator. Expand
  12. D.Farr
    Dec 17, 2002
    7
    Well worth renting for a night or 2 but would not reccomend parting with your hard earned cash for it!!! GTA Vice city is by far the better purchase however you have to admire the level of detail put into this title its just a shame they didnt put the same level of thought into the gameplay.
  13. HonestOpinion
    Dec 19, 2002
    7
    This is a good game but not without its faults, london is perfectly re-created but with no in game map is hard to negotiate unless you're a london cab driver. well worth a look but not as good as gta vice city.
  14. TimV.
    Dec 29, 2002
    9
    If u llike a huge city (50x bigger then GTAIII) and british humor, buy it. Otherwise dont.
  15. PaulC.
    Dec 30, 2002
    9
    This is one of the better games on offer at the moment. The graphics are superb and the gameplay very challenging. The days of cartoon games are numbered, realism is what we really want, nice one SoHo.
  16. NinjaMafia
    Nov 23, 2003
    8
    This game is like watching a movie, too bad you couldn't put down the controller and just watch it. The whole game has such a cinematic atmosphere that I couldn't help but keep on playing it. But seriously now, on to the review. The game starts out with our protaganist, Mark Hammond, witnessing the death of his wife and kidnapping of his son. When he goes after his son, he gets This game is like watching a movie, too bad you couldn't put down the controller and just watch it. The whole game has such a cinematic atmosphere that I couldn't help but keep on playing it. But seriously now, on to the review. The game starts out with our protaganist, Mark Hammond, witnessing the death of his wife and kidnapping of his son. When he goes after his son, he gets into a intersting position with London's supreme crime boss. Thus you are thrust into a world of betrayal, crime and violence. The games story is actually pretty interesting if you are willing to keep with this game for all of it. The gameplay, is kind of a mixed bag. The driving around was sort of boring, your car would get screwed over in seconds by the cops. The gun fights were awesome though. I like the whole usse of hiding behind an object and then shotting without even looking, more games need to do that. The gun fights were like watching a movie, I only wish they added a few things to the gun fights to make them more interesting, like alot more guns or different manuevers. The sound in this game is really good. The voice acting is anyway. I love the voice acting, it really was like a movie. The music, however, was pretty forgetable ( was there any music?). The graphics are astounding. I actually watched a movie that was filmed in London and I could reconize some of the streets. The characters look great, the enviroment looks great, Londnon was created in an almost perfect fashion. So, after all my praising of the game, why am I only giving it an 8? Well, there is no replay value. Sure there is an unlockable character with his own story and free ride mode but heres my problewm. Free Ride is kind of pointless since you have no way of telling where gangs are that you can start a gun fight with. If there was some way to tell, I would actually buy this game. I would do nothing but start giun fights with gangs and such, however, there is no way of telling where gangs are. This game is actually really good if you can take the mature content ( I didn't really notice much but they say f*ck al ot in this game.) If they aren't making a movie of this game yet then I will kill myself. Expand
  17. RicoA.
    Jan 3, 2003
    9
    Just need to come out and say it: I absolutely love and am addicted to this game!!! If you are anything like me, and like (slight understatement for me) cars, driving them, racing them and all this on a brilliant games console like the PS2, then you truly have to get this game. For those of you who know and respected the PC game "Driver" (also released on PS One I think), then you will beJust need to come out and say it: I absolutely love and am addicted to this game!!! If you are anything like me, and like (slight understatement for me) cars, driving them, racing them and all this on a brilliant games console like the PS2, then you truly have to get this game. For those of you who know and respected the PC game "Driver" (also released on PS One I think), then you will be blown away with this game. It combines all the driving fun, adrenaline and realism plus a whole spectrum of other "pleasures" such as great graphics, details and story-line. Without wanting to spoil the plot or fun for anyone, the story is that you start off by playing an ex-gang member in London (great detail, if you have a huge screen/TV you think you're actually in the city) who's wife has just been murdered and your kid has just been kidnapped by one of your "ex-friends". Obviously, you are going to do everything you can in order to get your kid back; and this is where the fun starts! You get given missions to complete which take you all around London and various dodgy areas of the city, and all the time you can drive around the city in a whole range of vehicles performing all kinds of driving stunts (you can even steal police vehicles and joy ride them or use them on a more serious note to try and complete the task at hand. Nah, trashing them is way more fun for me..... The kid can wait a bit longer...). Seriously, If you are thinking about a great game to get for your PS2 (or a friend's console for that matter), or if you are "thinking/hesitating/contemplating" of getting this game, stop thinking and go out and get it. Expand
  18. A.H.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    Kick ass.
  19. MicahC.
    Mar 8, 2003
    6
    One of the few games where u don't wanna skip the cutscenes.
  20. ChaosS.
    Apr 20, 2003
    0
    This game is pathetic. graphics are awesome, but the game play is about as interesting as watching paint dry. i couldnt believe it. those bastards that made this game even took the fun out of shooting people... thats hard to do. the controls are the worst since rainbow 6 rogue spear for psx. the storyline starts out confusing but it may get better. truly i dont know. after my fifth time ofThis game is pathetic. graphics are awesome, but the game play is about as interesting as watching paint dry. i couldnt believe it. those bastards that made this game even took the fun out of shooting people... thats hard to do. the controls are the worst since rainbow 6 rogue spear for psx. the storyline starts out confusing but it may get better. truly i dont know. after my fifth time of fighting my way to teh end of teh levela nd being killed i got frustrated. there's not even a health meter or ammo meter! couldnt teh idiots have just put in afew meters, some better camera angles, the ABILITY TO RUN, and an obvious ingame way to regain health. this game is a true disappointment. Expand
  21. AlexanderK.
    May 5, 2003
    9
    OK I've decided that the game needs more guns and vehicles such as tanks, hummers, and boats. The graphics are good and the game is fun to play. All I would add to it is more characters.
  22. StevenS.
    May 9, 2003
    10
    The graphics on this game bbbbbaaaammmm!!!!!!!!! but make missions not long peace.
  23. MathewP.
    Jan 1, 2004
    5
    Now don't get me wrong, I really wanted to like this game. I really like British gangster films (and they go beyond Snatch and Lock Stock people). But his game has some major drawbacks. The controls are frustratingly stiff, and the cars are painful to drive. Realism is always a nice touch, but i could not for the life of me, get passed the guy with the shottie, when going dowenstairs Now don't get me wrong, I really wanted to like this game. I really like British gangster films (and they go beyond Snatch and Lock Stock people). But his game has some major drawbacks. The controls are frustratingly stiff, and the cars are painful to drive. Realism is always a nice touch, but i could not for the life of me, get passed the guy with the shottie, when going dowenstairs in the museum. Mark cannot take too much damage. On a good note, the graphics are pretty damn nice, and the cut scenes are a joy to watch. But sadly, I just didn't find it Fun. And that, first and foremost are what games are supposed to be to me. Expand
  24. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    8
    Spanish comment: Pues a mi me gusto. Es entretenido, buena accion partes dificiles... buena historia... Pero! me parecio que es facil, corto... la segunda parte es mas facil ya pasando la primera... casi que sin mucha emocion... Pero es buen juego...
  25. TuomasK.
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    Great graphics, which stands up to todays PC standards. Looses last point because sluggish control that sometimes kill player. Very enterteining, and good driving sequences, I hope Getaway Black Monday gets even better.
  26. ArmaniG.
    Dec 19, 2002
    4
    OK so its british...... big deal, the story's not to bad but the cars are so lame not enough choice at all...... and you can only carry hand guns the americans suck arse but vice city is much better!!!!!
  27. KevinC.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    Eveybody compares this game to gta vice city, the getaway is a totally different game than vice city. The getaway is more like an action game where you can drive with cars in london, vice city is just a huge city where you can do what you want. About the getaway it's a bomb!!
  28. Freud
    Dec 28, 2002
    8
    GTA VC is for kids - it´s filled with cartoonish gameplay, ridicilous weapons, senseless random violence ("cool, I killed the prostitute"),etc. The Getaway is far more realistic and feels more challenging.
  29. Stomp
    Jan 11, 2003
    7
    Damian J: (About GTA VC) "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want" - Yep. As long as you do something violent. I agree with Freud, GTA VC is more of a kiddy game. Nevertheless, I think The Getaway has some serious shortcomings. The camera being the major one. Still, a great game.
  30. BendO.
    Jan 15, 2003
    0
    Sluggish control, horrible driving physics, basically horrible gameplay. as great as the graphics are, it aint enough to save this title! I give it a 1 point score for the graphics.
  31. DamianJ.
    Jan 2, 2003
    4
    While the game is realistic, it's ditched most gaming convensions in the process. Leaning up against a wall to regain health makes for much start-stop gameplay. This game is definately not GTA: Vice City, and whoever said Vice City was for kids needs their head checked. Senseless random violence? How about "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want"? The Getaway does While the game is realistic, it's ditched most gaming convensions in the process. Leaning up against a wall to regain health makes for much start-stop gameplay. This game is definately not GTA: Vice City, and whoever said Vice City was for kids needs their head checked. Senseless random violence? How about "living, breathing world where you can do anything you want"? The Getaway does indeed blur the lines between game and movie, and that's the worst thing I could possibly have in a game. If this is where realism is taking us, I'd rather more creativity and imagination in the form of genre defiance. This game's no fun, and that's all that matters. Not the graphics. Not the scope. Not the cinematics. I play games for fun. If I want a movie, I'll buy a movie. Expand
  32. JesseE.
    Jan 8, 2003
    7
    I really wanted to give this game a 6.5. While I really enjoyed parts of this game, I found myself REALLY NOT ENJOYING other parts. For example, I felt the indicator system in the vehicles was confusing - leading to going around in circles. The save points were FAR, FAR, FAR to spread out - especially when you get into levels like the mansion where the awkward control method almost always I really wanted to give this game a 6.5. While I really enjoyed parts of this game, I found myself REALLY NOT ENJOYING other parts. For example, I felt the indicator system in the vehicles was confusing - leading to going around in circles. The save points were FAR, FAR, FAR to spread out - especially when you get into levels like the mansion where the awkward control method almost always invariably made you trip the lasers. Controlling the character was mostly fun, but prone to annoying vagrancies. For example, when hiding up against a wall, or an object for cover you had to press x to target anything other than the door you are adjacent to. ANNOYING. Still good for a rental though. Expand
  33. NeilC.
    Feb 25, 2003
    5
    Not as challenging as Vice, the levels feel far more staged, and there is a feeling of the user getting herded into doing things. Anybody looking for realism in a game should perhaps stick to movies and not comment on video games. To those who said it couldn't be done - correct.
  34. Katiria
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    I love this game. ^_^ I could go on about the various aspects I like about it, but I think others have aptly summed them up already.
  35. BenN.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    What's the big deal about this game, it ain't that great at all, I personally thought the car driving graphics where not bad but dissapointing, and the control system for the game is the worst on any game like this for a long time, my advice is to buy GTA vice city, don't get me wrong i can see why peaple would like this game but beware some out there will be veryWhat's the big deal about this game, it ain't that great at all, I personally thought the car driving graphics where not bad but dissapointing, and the control system for the game is the worst on any game like this for a long time, my advice is to buy GTA vice city, don't get me wrong i can see why peaple would like this game but beware some out there will be very disappointed, especially if you own Vice City! Expand
  36. ZACKM.
    Apr 2, 2003
    1
    This game should be renamed to "Run Away" because it was lacking in so many areas. I wish I had rented something else that was worth my $5 bucks.
  37. KevB.
    Jul 22, 2003
    8
    Brilliant game, slick look , cool missions, the two points lost go solely to the controls which are weak at times, solve this for a sequel and its a classic, metal gear solid meets gta, next game should be based in Paris.
  38. KenR.
    Apr 13, 2004
    9
    The getaway was lent to me by one of my friends as i had just received a PS2 and needed a great action game to get me going. i played it and was blown away by the entertaining videos, the incredibly relistic driving levels and tense and difficult shooting and kicking everyones ass levels. The accent, swearing, and variety of angry gangs make the game all the more entertaining and The getaway was lent to me by one of my friends as i had just received a PS2 and needed a great action game to get me going. i played it and was blown away by the entertaining videos, the incredibly relistic driving levels and tense and difficult shooting and kicking everyones ass levels. The accent, swearing, and variety of angry gangs make the game all the more entertaining and exciting. The graphics were good.. not great but so much work was put into the 40 squared kilos of london and other details like cars .. enemies ect. how could there be incredible graphics?? ALL PS2 players with any sense at all should try this game. CUZ WOW! Expand
  39. MarcP.
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    This game is great, takes a while to get used to the direction instructions (no arrows, car indicators flash to show which way to turn, so you need to learn to keep an eye on the back of the car!) but it sems so real & gritty, compared to the likes of GTA Vice City. London location is a bonus, with recognisable cars & you can take any, even the memorial Tank near Buck Palace! I cant wait This game is great, takes a while to get used to the direction instructions (no arrows, car indicators flash to show which way to turn, so you need to learn to keep an eye on the back of the car!) but it sems so real & gritty, compared to the likes of GTA Vice City. London location is a bonus, with recognisable cars & you can take any, even the memorial Tank near Buck Palace! I cant wait for the next installment...... Expand
  40. T.J.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    It's great! i Love it! its better than GTA Vice City!
  41. OrenM.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    It?s the best game of his kind; I am not the only one that thinks that way. Please update your database because simple search in google brings better scores then yours. Not all the best games must come from the USA, Japan end the UK are not less talent.
  42. AdamJ.
    Dec 15, 2002
    2
    Its awful!! The Graphics are too detailed and don't seem realistic, the Game is awful to play with Dreadful Control system and you can't use the auto-aim as its unnefficient and doesn't pick the most dangerous target, the cars handle like Shopping Carts/Trolleys on Treacle and the Police A.I is incredibly brutal!! Cannot Recommend this to anyone, Get GTA, its so much more fun!
  43. JohnR.
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    Awesome title, classy Brit game, stunning graphics (and thats 99% of the value) get this game now boys and girls!
  44. KaspervanMerrienboer
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    They put real cars in this game like renault laguna and i think Tommy Vercety from Vice City sucks, Mark is much cooler from the getaway. And London is just cool to drive in.
  45. CraigC.
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    Sweet game. london did not look better. fun to play.
  46. JoshC.
    Mar 22, 2003
    9
    It's a shame that Vice City and The Getaway were released so closely together. The fact is that too many people are comparing these games when these games are not related. This game is more of a James Bond type game where you do your missions and save the girl. Personally I rate this game a 9/10. The storyline is great, the characters are fun and I hope Studio Soho can duplicate this It's a shame that Vice City and The Getaway were released so closely together. The fact is that too many people are comparing these games when these games are not related. This game is more of a James Bond type game where you do your missions and save the girl. Personally I rate this game a 9/10. The storyline is great, the characters are fun and I hope Studio Soho can duplicate this awesome, fast paced thriller of a game. Expand
  47. DevlinC.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    I love this game it keeps you on the edge of your seat trying to get futher and further into the game to find out what happens in the story, I would say that playstation made a platinum game.
  48. Zack
    Apr 27, 2003
    5
    I didn't necassarily like this game but i didn't dislike it. Rockstar should combine the graphics from the Getaway to the freedom and fun of Vice City. That would be a great game but the getaway was kind of a movie. also the controls sucked.
  49. Fasn8u
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    a really excellent game, though the gameplay could have been improved, like more variety of gun's.
  50. A.A.
    Dec 11, 2002
    9
    WHYYY!!?...this is good game...why?
  51. UnBiased
    Dec 16, 2002
    6
    Would have been good, had GTA3 not come out a year earlier and done everything this game tries to do better. Vice city is a far more expansive experience and isn't ashamed of being a game, as this appears to be.
  52. ChristianM.
    Dec 22, 2002
    4
    VERY average. terrible camera when out of the car, dogy frame rate, bad targetting system and poor texture resoultion. Only really good if u live in london and want to show ur friends where u live/work.
  53. Sam
    Nov 12, 2004
    2
    It looks gorgeous, but the controls are so confusing and the plot is another, get revenge on the jackasses that killed my wife and kidnapped my kid plot. Not immpressive. Perhaps the sequel will focus on the flaws like the biggest that is the controls. But until then I am staying far away from this game.
  54. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    This game is a British version of grant theft auto. It takes place in England, it has a lot in common with GTA, it has real cars,but no bars for health and it doesn't tell you how much ammo you have left. It kinda feels more like you are playing the person and not just controlling them. The story has been used alot,but isn't bad,the driving does get a bit wacky at times, the gun play isThis game is a British version of grant theft auto. It takes place in England, it has a lot in common with GTA, it has real cars,but no bars for health and it doesn't tell you how much ammo you have left. It kinda feels more like you are playing the person and not just controlling them. The story has been used alot,but isn't bad,the driving does get a bit wacky at times, the gun play is great and has good aim. Overall its a good games. Expand
  55. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game with a focus on immersion. The world is well crafted and the licensed vehicles are a nice touch. Don't expect it to play like GTA. It feels much more realistic, which can be good or bad depending on your taste.
  56. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    The Getaway is a fun game, but not in the sense that you will get an exceptional amount of enjoyment out of the act of playing. Its fun because of the obscurity and the fact that you're trying something new. The graphics are astonishing but the gameplay is tiring and boring. This game, if it were a film, would succeed massively. It has an astonishing plot, great voice acting and is wellThe Getaway is a fun game, but not in the sense that you will get an exceptional amount of enjoyment out of the act of playing. Its fun because of the obscurity and the fact that you're trying something new. The graphics are astonishing but the gameplay is tiring and boring. This game, if it were a film, would succeed massively. It has an astonishing plot, great voice acting and is well written on the whole. It works very well as a film, but as a game? No. Sorry. Expand
  57. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    The getaway was a very good game. It had an amazing story, and the gameplay was decent and pretty fun. The city itself is kind of lifeless with not much to do, but the story was immersive to the point I want to keep playing to see the ending. The driving was good and the setting pretty big, overall a good open world game with a very immersive story, but lacking of things to do outside theThe getaway was a very good game. It had an amazing story, and the gameplay was decent and pretty fun. The city itself is kind of lifeless with not much to do, but the story was immersive to the point I want to keep playing to see the ending. The driving was good and the setting pretty big, overall a good open world game with a very immersive story, but lacking of things to do outside the main missions. Expand
  58. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    The Getaway is a good game, it has some problems in terms of controls and some bugs, but it has a compelling story with good characters. The voice acting is good especially the police officer Frank Carter. The game does a great representation of London and manages to capture its atmosphere. Overall it is a good game.
  59. Sep 28, 2015
    9
    'The Getaway' is an excellent title that captures the dirty underworld of British crime in the early 2000's.
    You play through the 24 mission story list as 2 characters, with 12 missions suited to each. The twist is that the game adds depth to its storyline by making you play from different perspectives of the story, through each character. Mark Hammond; an ex-gangster, is hunted down by
    'The Getaway' is an excellent title that captures the dirty underworld of British crime in the early 2000's.
    You play through the 24 mission story list as 2 characters, with 12 missions suited to each. The twist is that the game adds depth to its storyline by making you play from different perspectives of the story, through each character. Mark Hammond; an ex-gangster, is hunted down by an old rival gang boss who uses Mark's skills and techniques to help take down a lot of the crime underworld in London. You will then play as the police officer who sees the story as it unfolds, away from Marks eyes.
    The gameplay is fluid and new, with no HUD. You rely on your sense for magazine counts, sound and your own surroundings and awareness. This makes the combat a lot more interesting and different from other shooters of the time.
    The driving sequences are... Mediocre, they offer no real change from titles such as 'GTA' and 'DRIVER' . The AI is odd and jerky, but the driving is still interesting as you will see well known stores, such as Carphone Warehouse. And vans like Royal Mail and FedEx this just adds a sense of realism when you are driving around London. If you live in the UK, you will enjoy it even more as you will notice the look of everything, even police cars look very familiar. The absence of a HUD makes it difficilt to know where to go when you are driving, the use of the vehicle's indicators show you where to turn automatically, which is a very nice feature. This also means, no map or objective icon, you just simply pause the game and listen to the audio tape for the objective that is taken from the previous cutscene, genius. To heal, you simply stand next to a wall and rest as your character places his arm on there to catch his breath back. This is a handy feature as you will notice when to heal, by looking at your blood soaked clothing and the way your character moves, whether his arms hang down and flail, or his legs look like they will give in at any moment. This new system really makes the game more immersive and interesting. Overall, 'The Getaway' is definitely up there as being one of my favourite PS2 games of all time.
    Expand
  60. Mar 4, 2016
    8
    Good graphics for a 2003 PS2 game, pretty good physic too, mediocre sound, good soundtrack, addictive story mode with two different points of view, Mark Hammond, the main character and Frank Carter the secondary character.
    Good gameplay, it's one of my favourite PS2 games

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#92 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49
  1. This game deserves a look at, even if just to admire the scope to which Lindon was recreated and the movie-like feel.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    25
    The level of detail is extraordinary... but the slickest graphic presentation can't cover for Getaway's flawed script... In a game infused with more humor and less pretentious aspirations, these flaws would be more forgivable. [24 Jan 2003, p.106]
  3. Game Informer
    90
    It's definitely the closest video games have ever come to capturing the essence of a kick-ass action flick. [Feb 2003, p.92]