User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AliM.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    This game rocks... Hell yeah.
  2. AdrianM.
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    This game is awsome. I've been playing the KOF games since KOF '94 came. This game has to be the best 2D fighting game out on the market. People are going to be amazed. If you think KOF DreamMatch and Evolution were the evolved series. Well check this game out soon. IT ROCKS!
  3. Elhard
    Dec 10, 2003
    2
    this game gets your money on old winning formula , how comercial , and on top of that genre is advancing and not going back!!!!
  4. TaiweeT.
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    This game is great, however, the change in 2001 is just too much for me to handle. The striker takes off one special and 2 special could do and ultimate super moves. Overall the 2 game is hype and who ever rate the game lower than 8, this person never really play game, don't know it's improvement and significant.
  5. Eddy:P
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    ALL KOF ROCKS!
  6. BrandonN.
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    Old? It is not old, Just 3 years ago! ok so a little, But this game is very fun to play. I only around my early teens and i love 2D fighting games! Despite the fact that the graphics look a little pixelated, you'll enjoy 2001 alot! Kof 2000 is just ported from the neogeo. KOF 2001 was made from scrath then that uber wierd neogeo version. But the graphics were still the same though a Old? It is not old, Just 3 years ago! ok so a little, But this game is very fun to play. I only around my early teens and i love 2D fighting games! Despite the fact that the graphics look a little pixelated, you'll enjoy 2001 alot! Kof 2000 is just ported from the neogeo. KOF 2001 was made from scrath then that uber wierd neogeo version. But the graphics were still the same though a little smoother but still pixelated. Expand
  7. GeorgeC.
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    WHO cares if the game is old? Who cares?! as long as it's the WINNING formula then its good. A must play for KOF fans.

Awards & Rankings

#52 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. These two versions of SNK’s long-running franchise compensate for their outdated visuals and muffled sounds with well-honed and rewarding gameplay that’s as hard as it is rewarding if you’re into this type of game.
  2. All in all KOF 2000 and 2001 are average games. The gameplay is the same as in any other fighting game. Plus, there is a lack of customization in every department.
  3. For those who missed the boat on those games and really like the King of Fighters series, or are just looking for a new 2D fighter, this title won’t disappoint despite looking a tad dated.