The Legend of Spyro: The Eternal Night Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Spyro: The Eternal Night continues the strong action-infused gameplay focus established in The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning and takes it even further with new powers, including: Four new, upgradeable Breath Attacks (one for each element type), such as Ice Bomb, ElectricThe Legend of Spyro: The Eternal Night continues the strong action-infused gameplay focus established in The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning and takes it even further with new powers, including: Four new, upgradeable Breath Attacks (one for each element type), such as Ice Bomb, Electric Orb, Earth Vine, Enhanced Fire; Four new elemental melee moves, including Comet Dash, Artic Blast, Earth Pound, Electric Spin; Four new Fury attacks – Earth, Electricity, Ice, Fire; Monstrous new and explosive boss battles against the likes of Skabb the Pirate, Gaul the Ape King and more. The Legend of Spyro: The Eternal Night also expands Spyro's combat arsenal by adding "Dragon Time," a new advanced move that allows Spyro to bend time to his will. Players can engage Dragon Time to dodge attacks, out-maneuver enemies or solve tricky time-based environmental puzzles. [Sierra Entertainment] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Play Magazine
    85
    What Insomniac began Krome have now made completely their own, taking Spyro from a lighthearted adventure to a hardcore dark platformer. [Nov 2007, p.56]
  2. 72
    Overall I became quite fond of the violet dude, probably more appealing to the younger audiences but nevertheless fans of the series should not be disappointed.
  3. Spyro's gameplay works just like it's suppose to--just like it has in every other game in the last decade, so it feels like the development team just phoned this one in. [Nov 2007, p.142]
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    60
    Far too serious and combat-heavy. [Jan 2008, p.114]
  5. VideoGamer
    50
    Gamers deserve more for their money these days, and there are far better games out there.
  6. Games Master UK
    49
    Really difficult and mean-spirited. Puff was magic; Spyro is a jerk. [Christmas 2007, p.84]
  7. I vote that we petition Krome Studios to either make a new character, or do the world a favor and pick up a franchise that deserves to die.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Daniel
    Oct 28, 2007
    8
    This game was challenging enough that I had a little trouble getting past a few points in the game. Still I enjoyed this game even if it had This game was challenging enough that I had a little trouble getting past a few points in the game. Still I enjoyed this game even if it had some minor deffects. Now there will be pro's and con's that I would like to mention. con's -the controls were a little off -this game got sloppy at times -slowing time down was visualy annoying -voice acting in movies because it got a little too quiet.- they could have made going into enemy fights less annoying after death -they could have made one of the levels a little shorter pro's -the grapics were amazing, better than before , ( yet the most amazing part was not shown -good sound and music qualiity, ( sounds almost like myst and lord of the rings combined) -this game has a diffrent style than before, ( maybe not likable to some ) - it had a fine adventure - it was a very fun game to me. - this game was more challenging than before. -finally; this game wasn't too easy. these are my given ratings; grapics= 910, sound= 8.510, controls= 610, performance 6.510, fun factor 810. Expand
  2. KeenanSullivan
    Jul 14, 2009
    8
    This game is pretty solid for what it is. Sure it has camera problems and sometimes awkward difficulty balance, but this is still a rather funThis game is pretty solid for what it is. Sure it has camera problems and sometimes awkward difficulty balance, but this is still a rather fun and entertaining game. I wish more games looked this good on the PS2 because this game has wonderful level designs. This game also has pretty good platforming gameplay and solid combat skills. The music seems like it was pulled out of Lord of the Rings, but it's still pretty good. This game also has a nice celebrity voice-cast as well (Even if Elijah Wood seems bored during the game). Still, this is a solid game that provides a decent challenge and awards to keep the player interested. Collapse
  3. May 21, 2017
    8
    Right when I just finished the first game in this trilogy, I was ready to move on to the next game, but after seeing how poorly this game wasRight when I just finished the first game in this trilogy, I was ready to move on to the next game, but after seeing how poorly this game was reviewed by both fans and critics, I was genuinely concerned. To my surprise, though, I found this game very entertaining.

    The story intrested me in how dark it was getting, compared to the first. The gameplay, while imperfect, was enjoyable. My only, real problem with this game is its difficulty. Some parts are balanced, and fun, while others are Dark Souls level of frustrating. The game can even be unfair in some instances.

    But, despite that, I really loved this game.
    I recommend this to anyone who LOVES a huge challenge.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2016
    5
    It is better than enter the dragon fly but not by much. This game is glitchy and bland. There are some good qualities about this game but theIt is better than enter the dragon fly but not by much. This game is glitchy and bland. There are some good qualities about this game but the cons are much more bigger than the pros. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    4
    Even more wooden-hearted and mean-spirited than A New Beginning. Pros: Again, good graphics and visuals. Cons: Again, generic and formulaic,Even more wooden-hearted and mean-spirited than A New Beginning. Pros: Again, good graphics and visuals. Cons: Again, generic and formulaic, and refuses to push the boundaries of whatever genre it "claims" to be. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2017
    3
    If The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning wasn't the worst game in the franchise (which it is), then this one would be. It carries over the sameIf The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning wasn't the worst game in the franchise (which it is), then this one would be. It carries over the same story and gameplay problems from the first game (although with an improved save system), and on top of that, has a completely brutal difficulty! Fighting groups of enemies is now more rampant than ever, you get knocked back and temporarily stunned by each hit, giving enemies more time to kill you, and every time you die (which will happen a lot!), Sparks says something obnoxious. The formula for playing this game is: progress a little, get stuck and die 20 times, quit game and come back to it months later, beat what you got stuck on, progress a little more, get stuck and die 20 times, quit game and come back to it months later, and repeat over and over and over and over and OVER again! Does that sound fun? Because it most certainly isn't! Expand
  7. tom
    Sep 23, 2007
    0
    Spyro died after the 3rd release by Insomniac. The rest of the series is pure garbage. The same with Crash series

See all 11 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

90
12
#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007