The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Undertake a fantastic journey following the same path as the Fellowship in the book. Play as either Frodo, Aragorn, or Gandalf the Grey. As you take the fabled One Ring closer to its fate, you will explore the most dangerous wilds of Middle-earth from the Shire to the very edge of Mordor.Undertake a fantastic journey following the same path as the Fellowship in the book. Play as either Frodo, Aragorn, or Gandalf the Grey. As you take the fabled One Ring closer to its fate, you will explore the most dangerous wilds of Middle-earth from the Shire to the very edge of Mordor. [Universal Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. A very big disappointment for gamers everywhere, because it is a lackluster effort for a game that had the potential to be awesome.
  2. This game will only suit hardcore fans of the J.R.R. Tolkien series.
  3. The game suffers from some repetitive missions with a lot of "fetch this and find that," plus many of the camera angles are finicky.
  4. PSM Magazine
    60
    The focus should have been on making the experience as exciting as possible, not just accurate. [Holiday 2002, p.50]
  5. 60
    Captures the beauty and magic of Tolkien’s world...visually. Once you pick up the controller, you’ll find your enthusiasm slipping quickly away.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    52
    True fans of the books will look past the problems and enjoy the game. [Dec 2002, p.210]
  7. Even though the graphics and sound are splendid, the almost across-the-boards flat acting and boring enemies along with the used and abused game play elements combine for one lame game touting more of the same.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. SeaToad
    Aug 24, 2003
    10
    BEST PS2 GAME EVER. hey! dont listen to the people saying "oh! i cant get past the nazgul" thats just hobbiton, what do u expect in the shire BEST PS2 GAME EVER. hey! dont listen to the people saying "oh! i cant get past the nazgul" thats just hobbiton, what do u expect in the shire helms deep or something? GET THIS GAME. Collapse
  2. BobITSABOY
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    It is the one of the best games out there for the Playstation Two and if you're a fan of Lord OF the Rings well the this is a must have It is the one of the best games out there for the Playstation Two and if you're a fan of Lord OF the Rings well the this is a must have for your collection. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2016
    8
    A game for people who like the book and want to play the story instead of just killing stuff over and over. Not the best game ever but not theA game for people who like the book and want to play the story instead of just killing stuff over and over. Not the best game ever but not the worst either as some have said. A decent, light adventure game not aimed at the hard-core gamer market. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    Not quite sure what I was expecting when I began playing this game, and I'm still not quite sure what to make of it. It has some "nice"Not quite sure what I was expecting when I began playing this game, and I'm still not quite sure what to make of it. It has some "nice" moments like when you travel with Tom Bombadil as Frodo, or fight of oncoming trolls and orcs as Gandalf, and had some potentially nice level designs. But therein lies the problem. The developers, Black Label Games, seemed to have got about half way through rendering its world, and then stopped, and took many shortcuts whilst getting to the halfway point. I found myself wandering through Hobbiton, and walked into a river, only to find they had left out both the sound of water flowing, but also the effects of you walking in it. I was basically walking on a thin sheet of white, with two inanimate ducks floating about . This is just one of the many simple things that you would expect to find in a game. Some environments were completely bland, and devoid of any life, only the odd sound of a bird to keep you company. Character models were surprisingly worse, and almost comical, with Aragon looking like a women, and Sam as...I'm still not sure. The only good looking one of the lot was Gimili, which was a bit strange considering how poorly he was rendered in the game based on the movie the first two films, by E.A games. In the end you will probably only get this for being based on The Lord Of The Rings books, and that is probably what the developers expected too. I also found it the one of only two reasons for continuing playing through some poorly developed mission and basic combat. The second, well it those have the occasional charming moment, like when you find yourself saving Merry and Pippin from Old Man Willow, which is absent in the films, but these few moments aren't enough to play through some shoddy few hours of boring game play. Expand
  5. EldonT.
    Mar 7, 2004
    3
    The game is an attempt. it's really bad in the beginning. about the only good thing about it was the fact that it meticulously followed The game is an attempt. it's really bad in the beginning. about the only good thing about it was the fact that it meticulously followed the storyline. the game needs more fighting. i mean come on! you probably kill about 40 enemies tops. and most of it is just "go find this" and "retrieve that". gandalf's limited abilities kill whatever interest you had in playing him. in short: don't pay more than $6.99 for this "interactive experience". Expand
  6. Bunny1022
    Mar 9, 2003
    2
    While i appreciate the attention to detail from the book, the game as an rpg sucks. the missions are pointless, the character design isWhile i appreciate the attention to detail from the book, the game as an rpg sucks. the missions are pointless, the character design is laughable, and the camera angle are the worst ever, period. Do yourself a favor, if you MUST play this game do to some odd mental dysfunction you have, at least save yourself $50 and rent it. Expand
  7. hnfcx
    Jan 11, 2003
    0
    This game is so bad I can't even give it a 1.

See all 12 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#67 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#49 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002