Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
Buy On
  1. 90
    Minor camera issues aside, Return of the King is a refreshing example of competent licensing melded with the hack'n'slashery we all know and love.
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    If you take away the window dressing, the epic sounds and the preordained surprises this is a derivative, one-note and sometimes flawed game, but see it as a spectacular amusement ride and you can play and it's a distinguished achievement. [Christmas 2003, p.110]
  3. Does a fantastic job of putting you into the world of the movie through its graphically stunning reproductions of the film's war-torn sets, smooth transitions from thriling cinema clips, into exciting gameplay, [and] top-notch voice work. [Dec 2003, p.181]
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Fans will find much to enjoy, but don't blame us if you're as haggard as Gollum by the time you actually finish the game. [19 Dec 2003, p.L2T 20]
  5. This is without a doubt the best game based on a book/movie that I have EVER played. You can really tell that EA went to great pains to ensure its authenticity, and they truly went beyond the call of duty this time.
  6. 80
    But the exhilaration can quickly turn to frustration, perhaps hyperventilation, if you repeatedly fail some of the game's tougher missions.
  7. Offers some amazing visual effects and locations that will blow your mind, and it still remains a blueprint for movie video games. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  8. It’s bigger, longer and smarter than The Two Towers.
  9. GameNow
    100
    The graphics are first rate, and the action is intensely frenetic. Most important, ROTK turns up the LOTR authenticity full blast. [Jan 2004, p.55]
  10. 90
    The controls for all versions do a masterful job of managing the fierce action. Even in battle so pitched that you literally lose sight of your character amid the multitudinous combatants, you still feel you’re the master of your fate.
  11. A tremendous achievement. Genuinely exciting and immersive but not without its faults. A hack-'n'-slash treat, if slightly repetitive. [PSM2]
  12. It's still a relatively simple and short action game at heart, but a solid combat system, some extremely intense and cinematic levels, cool extras that fans of the movies will enjoy, and the option to play cooperatively with a friend all add up to make The Return of the King deserving of its name.
  13. 90
    It's one of the finest crossover titles I've ever played; mainstream gamers will enjoy it for its excellent use of the movie license, sharp visuals, and easy-to-pickup gameplay, but it also has enough challenge and variety for hardcore players to soak up.
  14. There is so much to do, and players will be drawn into the game, and it won't let them go until they unlock everything. This is the best movie to game conversion that has come out in a long time.
  15. The two-player cooperative mode is the real star of the show, overshadowing the online play that the PS2 version offers, and is the one critical feature the first game so desperately needed.
  16. Takes everything The Two Towers did well and improves upon it in every way.
  17. 89
    A modern day "Golden Axe", but ratcheted up to massive levels of production. With excellent sound, graphics, and theatrical work bolstering it, Return of the King is a hardcore gamers' game with tremendous mass market appeal.
  18. EA has done an exceptional job creating a game around the movie, and their efforts are certainly deserving of your attention.
  19. The presentation is just outstanding. It's just a shame that the gameplay was a little off, and that you couldn't skip the movie cutscenes.
  20. King is the best, most synergetic convergence of film and videogame I've ever seen. It turns Two Towers' wow factor into an emphatic "holy freaking crap!"
  21. Play Magazine
    91
    Few games are as excitingly presented, as gorgeously constructed, as intensely visceral as the extraordinary The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. [Dec 2003, p.52]
  22. 89
    They have concentrated on distilling the best action they can out of Tolkein's, (or should that now be Jackson's) masterpiece and presenting it in a well executed package. Lord of the Ring fans could surely want for nothing more this Christmas.
  23. PSM Magazine
    80
    A beautiful hack-and-slasher that lives up to the considerable scope and grandeur of the filmic source material. [Holiday 2003, p.32]
  24. The game’s technical flaws are minor, and the game’s only other negative point is that it’s somewhat short.
  25. The closest an interactive experience has come to re-enacting the utter chaos and undeniable fun that is being a part of an ongoing epic battle in which you (alongside either a friend or a complete stranger online) play an important role.
  26. Overall there's more to do and experience in Return of the King than in The Two Towers, but consequently this tends to frustrate more than please.
  27. Weekly Famitsu
    75
    8 / 7 / 8 / 7 - 30 silver [Vol 786]
  28. 80
    Rife with action and bursting at the seams with bonus content, the title will also go down in history as one of the most intense products ever created for hobbyists' consumption.

Awards & Rankings

#43 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I give very few games a ten but going back and playing this game again ten years later, I am reminded how a truly brilliant co-op game canI give very few games a ten but going back and playing this game again ten years later, I am reminded how a truly brilliant co-op game can give my friends and I a more fulfilling experience than many available today. Full Review »
  2. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    I give very few games a ten but going back and playing this game again ten years later, I am reminded how a truly brilliant co-op game canI give very few games a ten but going back and playing this game again ten years later, I am reminded how a truly brilliant co-op game can give my friends and I a more fulfilling experience than many available today. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    The best Lord of Rings game to date. Brilliant singleplayer and coop gameplay, and setpieces that mirror the movie. My only qualm is that theThe best Lord of Rings game to date. Brilliant singleplayer and coop gameplay, and setpieces that mirror the movie. My only qualm is that the game is overly linear and restrictive at points. Definitely a classic. Full Review »