• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Oct 26, 2004
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. It’s a fantastic title, but for a very narrow audience. It’s not a game for everyone, as both the antiquated gameplay and the high difficulty curve can be definite turn-offs.
  2. 8 / 8 / 8 / 7 - 31 silver [Vol 816; 6 Aug 2004]
  3. I liked the game. And I played the hell out of it.
  4. 75
    If you're into testing your mettle against overwhelming odds and playing games that toss you into dungeon after increasingly difficult dungeon in a frantic, harrowing fight for damsels in distress and beautiful princesses, this game is for you.
  5. 70
    The video game equivalent of a hand-crafted reproduction of Howard Hughes' Spruce Goose -- laborious, archaic and best left to fanatics. That's not to say it's a bad game, though. On the contrary, it's great... but only if you evaluate it in the context of what it actually is.
  6. As a package The Nightmare of Druaga offers a spin on the RPG and action RPG genres. Druaga offers plenty of monster slaying, treasure hunting and dungeon exploring.
  7. The graphical elements are very nice, and somewhat simplistic, and growing your character with armor is enjoyable. Unfortunately, the gameplay holds this back and the sound effects should have been discontinued 10 years ago, which is when this game would have been a solid performer.
  8. We like to feel secure in our hard work, and losing progress we have made is a major turn off, especially if we can’t point the blame to anyone other than ourselves for the screw up.
  9. 60
    If you can tolerate its quirks and incredibly strict gameplay parameters, The Nightmare of Druaga is actually quite enjoyable and satisfying. Just don't ever, ever die.
  10. Even though I found myself somehow drawn in when I played, it often felt more like work than play.
  11. A dungeon hack of the most boring kind. You'll have the most fun farming for items, but that is predicated on an enjoyment of the simplistic, dull combat, the constant repetition of dungeons, and overall tedium.
  12. Often tedious and can be a little unfair. [Dec 2004, p.82]
  13. The sub quests that you can pick up in town are also a pain. For some odd reason, you cannot start these quests with any of the items that your character currently possesses.
  14. While maybe not quite a “Nightmare”, Druaga may at least make your sleep an uncomfortable one. I would pass this one by for a host of much better alternatives.
  15. A game designed solely and specifically to appeal to nostalgia-addled fans, released in a country where that nostalgia doesn't exist. [Dec 2004, p.102]
  16. The game has a solid storyline, and some interesting ideas, but fails to really do much with it at all.
  17. The “At-Once-Turn-System” adds a welcome strategic element to dungeon-crawling, but monotony and repetition destroy any redeeming value the system might have.
  18. So many other titles offer a richer, more fulfilling experience that it's hard to imagine why someone would want to tackle this anachronism. [Nov 2004, p.156]
  19. Anyone who has enjoyed any of the technical, aesthetic, and gameplay improvements of the past decade will probably want to pass this one up [Dec 2004, p.114]
  20. Sound is almost embarrassingly unremarkable.
  21. 35
    Banking almost solely on the nostalgic value of its namesake, Nightmare of Druaga is an extremely average dungeon crawl that’s infested with problems that keep it from being entertaining in almost any way.
  22. Very punishing death penalties and boring gameplay.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 2, 2013
    5
    I've never been too into the rouge style dungeon crawlers, but this one was a little different change of pace, which was nice, but all the oddI've never been too into the rouge style dungeon crawlers, but this one was a little different change of pace, which was nice, but all the odd features like the game thinking you are cheating when you turn it off kinda put me off fairly quick. Game play was fun, but to me, just didn't stay fun, may pick it up again in the future though. Full Review »
  2. BryantR.
    Aug 11, 2005
    7
    The only thing ad about this game is when you die.You loose all the items that you have equipped on you at that time.other wise it is an ok game.