• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrentE.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This game is like crack so addictive.
  2. SherlockH.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Excellent.
  3. RichardB.
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    The Punisher has its flaws but it's still one of the best shooters I've ever played. Many aspects of the game are average at best (for example the controls which do not allow to move diagonally while aiming or crouching - or the bad "shoot dodge") but the atmosphere, the story, the voice acting (featuring Thomas Jane as the Punisher), the graphics and also the gameplay itself The Punisher has its flaws but it's still one of the best shooters I've ever played. Many aspects of the game are average at best (for example the controls which do not allow to move diagonally while aiming or crouching - or the bad "shoot dodge") but the atmosphere, the story, the voice acting (featuring Thomas Jane as the Punisher), the graphics and also the gameplay itself are actually on a very high level. If you're playing for a high score you actually have to fight very professionally, planning your steps, looking for cover and using your equipment and capabilities the best way you can. And collecting the upgrades and the unlockable flashbacks and comic covers may tie you to this game for a really long time. Although Max Payne 1 & 2 definitely are better and more memorable games, The Punisher actually may be more entertaining if you try to enjoy it. And for fans of the comics this game is a must since it's as close to the original as it can be. The game is like a very long and interactive Punisher comic and even made me love the comics againg when I already had stopped collecting them. So really: I can recommend this game to anyone who likes brutal shooters requiring some brains to win and any fan of black humor. Expand
  4. SeanM.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Awesome Freaking Game!!
  5. EfeB.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    The max payne references below are correct, meaning...if you enjoyed that, you will love punisher. i am a "rag doll" nut...i just love shooting bad guys and watch them tumble around, down the stairs and over chairs and tables. if you are like me, then you will be in heaven with this game...because unlike max payne, punisher can throw people off windows, roofs, use flame throwers, bazookasThe max payne references below are correct, meaning...if you enjoyed that, you will love punisher. i am a "rag doll" nut...i just love shooting bad guys and watch them tumble around, down the stairs and over chairs and tables. if you are like me, then you will be in heaven with this game...because unlike max payne, punisher can throw people off windows, roofs, use flame throwers, bazookas and 'torture" bad guys. here's a nice "moment" i had i want to share with you, i walked into a room full of bad dudes, the room looked like a teenagers t.v room, couches, pizzas and beer bottles on tables...i was wielding two shot guns (left and right trigger independently fire both) i leaped over the couch blew one dudes head clean off...grabbed another fella used him as human shield to take the other dudes left arm off...i then put a magnum to that human shileds face and asked him some questions, he told me to make love to my mother or something so i threw the man out the window, he fell 3 floors down on his cranium. grabbed the last guy...dangled him off the balcony holding his feet...when he told me what i wanted to hear, i thanked him and let him fly to the pavement below to meet his other dead pal. yeaaah!....now that is fun. i wish only, that this game had a bullet time mode. otherwise....awesome. better than max, because this game doesnt have those idiotic "dream" sequences. go BUY it. Expand
  6. HponeMyatK.
    Feb 8, 2005
    9
    This game is totally awesome. i like the "special interrogation" methods as they are soooo cool. If u like action-packed games, this game is for u. There's only i problem, i agree with "Anonymous". If the game is rated "Mature" why should the kills be in black and white? However, this game is still cool.
  7. FrankS.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Great.
  8. MattE.
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    Very good game. i enjoyed it thouroghly. i uno if it has much replay value though. i rented it and beat it in 3 days. if i was you i would rent it first to see how it is then if i like it then buy it. better to waste 5 bucks then 50.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. 80
    A blast to play. Yes, there are many moments where it starts to get monotonous, but then you suddenly hit a new interrogation zone and suddenly it's a bloody fiesta.
  2. It's not all brutality. The Punisher is also one of the most immersive strategy games ever created. Aim for the head and enjoy.
  3. Laughable enemy AI, a poor targeting system, and sluggish movement really hold it back from being anything more than average. [Feb 2005, p.112]