• Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Jan 9, 2007
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 19 out of 22
  1. For a storyline that is both pointless and lame, considering it takes place almost three years ago according to the show's storyline, The Shield leaves a lot to wish for. Better gameplay, more responsive controls, no bugs or glitches or, even better, for games like this never to be made.
  2. I was happy that The Shield made great use of its police officer premise, but the game really wore me down. It probably doesn’t deserve a critical thrashing, but the gameplay and story can’t compete on today’s shelves.
  3. Fans of the show might want to give it a quick rental. [Aug 2007, p.93]
  4. Worst of all, the game is glitchy; I phased through a few walls and got gunned down after getting stuck behind some invisible cover.
  5. 40
    Much of the game may be poorly designed, cruelly difficult and obnoxiously unfair, but none of these flaws are necessarily show-stopping.
  6. Neither quality fan service nor a good action game on its own merits, The Shield fails miserably to live up to its license's pedigree.
  7. In the end, The Shield really can't even cater to its target audience due to committing one cardinal sin: it couldn't recreate the stylish, immersive atmosphere of the show.
  8. Sparse level designs and first-generation-like PS2 graphics are combined with unintelligent and unoriginal gameplay for the most corrupt television-to-game package in a long time.
  9. Sadly enough, the allure of running wild as detective Vic Mackey can't survive the beating the rigidly scripted and stupidly simple gameplay gives the player. [Apr 2007, p.88]
  10. 35
    The Shield is too little, too late; what would've been a merely mediocre license tie-in is now, due to its very late birth, simply a bad game.
  11. Even the most rabid of fans will be disappointed. [Sept 2007, p.80]
  12. You've lost a lot of respect and you've ruined the enjoyment of hundreds of your admirers. Look me in the eye and tell me you're not ashamed.
  13. Did the developers even watch the show before they made the game? [Aug 2007, p.112]
  14. Sadly, The Shield: The Game plays like a bad episode of the show and there is hardly anything here that will entertain fans of the show or gamers who are looking for a gritty action game.
  15. It's deeply flawed, with awful game design and mechanics marring the entire experience.
  16. The Shield, in the end, is a game that will only appeal to the true hardcore fans. If you love the TV series rent it, otherwise take a pass.
  17. 30
    This is one game that should have never been let out of a holding cell.
  18. 22
    The Shield is one of the most boring, generic games we've ever played, even with a strong character like Vic Mackey. There's really nothing about the gameplay, visuals, sound, or story that can justify a purchase.
  19. An unmitigated disaster. Terribly designed both technically and in terms of gameplay, it’s a miserable, useless, joyless experience entirely bereft of fun.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. spencerh.
    May 7, 2007
    1
    I rented this game because my friend likes the show. It sucked the life out of me in a way that was almost humorous. I thought it was a difficult game until I realised that it was (and remains) a broken waste of time. Full Review »
  2. Rob
    Jan 18, 2007
    8
    The game is much better then I expected it to be. It may not be the greatest game in the world but it has its strong points. You will love the game if your a fan of the show. If you've never seen the show, you may be a fan after playing the game. Full Review »
  3. MatthewS.
    Nov 7, 2004
    9
    Very good possibly better than Grand theft auto. Shame that you cant be other members of the strike team as it would get 10