The Simpsons Skateboarding Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grab your board and a nice piece of asphalt! A Skate Tour has come to Springfield, and the entire town has gone skate crazy on the half-pipes, ramps, and rails. Super skater Bart Simpson is the favorite to win the whopping $$ Mega-bucks $$ prize of $99, but Homer, Krusty, and many others areGrab your board and a nice piece of asphalt! A Skate Tour has come to Springfield, and the entire town has gone skate crazy on the half-pipes, ramps, and rails. Super skater Bart Simpson is the favorite to win the whopping $$ Mega-bucks $$ prize of $99, but Homer, Krusty, and many others are going to show just what they're capable of when money's at stake. So quit your job, skip class, and get to Springfield! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. Cheat Code Central
    70
    I'm not saying this game will replace "Tony Hawk 4," but I found it a heckuva lot more engaging and fun than "THPS3."
  2. GameNow
    58
    You're better off going with the pro. [Jan 2003, p.52]
  3. If you’re a fan of The Simpsons (who isn’t?) it’s likely that after the initial appeal wears off you’ll be left with a game that’s better served as a coffee-coaster.
  4. Control is brutal in this game, forcing players to grit their teeth and redo each maneuver multiple times before it registers correctly.
  5. It’s sluggish and unresponsive and absolutely riddled with annoying bugs that should have been detected early in the production process.
  6. If you’re looking for "Tony Hawk Pro Skater" for a much younger crowd or really love the show, Simpsons Skateboarding will surely disappoint.
  7. The gameplay is absolutely atrocious. Imagine a game where you can’t turn around without fighting the controller, where jumping is completley inaccurate, and the only way to finish the game is completing controller functions that will quite literally have you hating yourself for picking up this title in the first place.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 9 out of 14
  1. JoesephS.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    This game sucks...
  2. JohnM.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    This game is SICK.
  3. Uuhhhhh
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    Dude smoke weed then play the game!
  4. Jul 21, 2016
    3
    Simpsons skateboarding? Were at THAT point we have to be so unoriginal and bland. The gameplay is clunky and the graphics are UGLY. TheSimpsons skateboarding? Were at THAT point we have to be so unoriginal and bland. The gameplay is clunky and the graphics are UGLY. The controls are meh and the sound effects and music is mediocre. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2016
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been playing this game for about 5 years now and it is AWFUL. The gameplay tries paying homage to the tony hawk series but the controls are very loose.Very often you will approach a Half pipe quarter pipe etc. and push forward to gain momentum you have to pull back on the stick quickly before hitting the ramp or you will go forward and crash instead of going straight up.map design is awful there are random half pipes and quarter pipes littered on maps while this makes sense in scenes such as the construction site level it makes no sense on maps like downtown Springfield you will be skating around and see a random display of ramps and pipes. the gameplay gets worse the further you get due to the unresponsiveness of controls this is one of the biggest problems this game has you get taught new tricks that require more and different button presses but too many times you will press a button and the stick to preform a trick and you will preform other tricks or sometimes you wont even preform a trick. the mission structure is lazy every level consists of two main objectives to pass 1. skate around and catch some kids who are skipping school or hit some signs. and 2. collect letters that spell out someone or something that is themed to the level like "SKINNER" or "SQUISHEE". Seriously? you couldn't have come up with something more creative? 2nd place for worst part is the characters it sucks getting them and they suck at this game i wouldn't blame them either. You have to win a tournament each level to unlock new characters combine all of the problems above with even worse map design and a limited amount of tricks and try getting 70,000 points in two minutes its near impossible! and its a shame since later characters i actually liked from the show (Otto,chief wiggum) basically you will be stuck with nelson muntz for an eternity the music is bad its a remix of the original theme but it gives me a headache the game has a point system where you upgrade your skills it helps but barely changes your tournament performance. the voice acting sucks while the voice actors from the show are there the lines they recorded sound like they are emotionless.Overall simpsons skateboarding doesn't live up to be a good tony hawk clone good simpsons game or a good game for that matter awkward and unresponsive controls near impossible challenges and the presentation which makes it seem farther from a simpsons game than its supposed to be. the only points it can get is from the semi interesting but for the most part dull skill system. we should all be happy that fox interactive learned their lesson when they made hit and run and road rage Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2014
    2
    I have never played any tony hawk game's but i can tell that is WAY better then this, is just tony hawk with the simpson's logo, no story andI have never played any tony hawk game's but i can tell that is WAY better then this, is just tony hawk with the simpson's logo, no story and terrible control's, it started with the intro, the music, the composition, the effect's are just **** with into the game it starts to go down hill, the control's my god is it busted, kind of as bad as dark castle for the sega genesis, i tried spinning while going up a ramp, i could not for some reason, i seen the characters spinning in the intro but i could not do it, with every thing you do doing a trick, failing or EVERYTHING, you all way's get commentary from kurk witch gets annoying really fast, as for glitch's their's a lot out the ass, don't buy this game for any fun you want, want a good simpson game? go get simpson hit and run or any the other ones from the nes or sega genesis, not this worthelss thing, i give it a 2/10 Expand
  7. ArthurW.
    May 6, 2006
    0
    well if you want to buy this game, there is only one thing to do, DON'T it is all extremely boring and I can't even complete the well if you want to buy this game, there is only one thing to do, DON'T it is all extremely boring and I can't even complete the first level The graphics are terrible: you can't even see bart's mouth. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#52 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#82 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002