The Sims 2 PlayStation 2

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 169
  2. Negative: 85 out of 169
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatttMayo
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    This game is cool but i really need some cheats of some sort!!
  2. TaylerG
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN have a baby! Get a heart bed, whoohoo once, then kiss romantically excactly 15 times. if you puke, and start getting bigger by the days, then your sim is prego! but it only works sometimes. I got a baby the first time, then I didn't the second Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN have a baby! Get a heart bed, whoohoo once, then kiss romantically excactly 15 times. if you puke, and start getting bigger by the days, then your sim is prego! but it only works sometimes. I got a baby the first time, then I didn't the second times. it's kinda like a cheat code that most people dont know. please try it and stop complaining! Expand
  3. pickleslover
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    I have the game for computer it rox. You can have babies,get married,make kids toddlers and teens,and u can make 2 or 4 story houses.It's so much fun and i have about 6 games including pets and seasons so i can make it all the seasons and get pets.I also download stuff from the sims 2 official site.I'm a little worried for sims 3 to come out cuz im not sure my parents will get I have the game for computer it rox. You can have babies,get married,make kids toddlers and teens,and u can make 2 or 4 story houses.It's so much fun and i have about 6 games including pets and seasons so i can make it all the seasons and get pets.I also download stuff from the sims 2 official site.I'm a little worried for sims 3 to come out cuz im not sure my parents will get them for me. I no my grnadparents will there rich!!! Expand
  4. GonnD.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I think it was a the best version yet, I mean you can't have kids on it but hey, they'll fix it in number 3, lol.
  5. mikec.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    dude ive played sims 2 for pc IT SUCKs duh the mods for the game are limited you barely get any opitans you have to worry about pop ups viruses horiible im get sims 2 PS2 bacause the pc wersion stinks an anoter thing whats with the controls bad i agree with many pepole to get console versions PC are old a better game for the pc is world of warcraft
  6. TiaN.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    I like dis game but its a bummer that u can't av kids or age.
  7. ChassEuphoria
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    I agree the game is really cool but diff need cheats.
  8. RosemaryR.
    Feb 19, 2006
    8
    the Sims 2 is an ok game but could be better.for instace you should be able to create a child in Free Play and you should be able to pick a hairstyle and make it longer or shorter and there should be better choices in the Sims wardrobe!
  9. SimsLoversimscrazy
    Jul 15, 2007
    8
    I absolutely love the sims i have everyone i also loved the idea that you could have families an it was like it was real then i found out you cant have kids on sims pets an sims 2 i was gutted an can't believe that Ea could leave this out i am not very happy now why can you have them on pc an not ps2 i will not be buying your games again unless something is changed!
  10. AbbyM.
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    I love all of the sims games. Yay! :) Lol. They're so fun. But anyways, everyone is complaining. Blahh.. It's really ANNOYING! Jeez, maybe you should try a game out before you buy it and start complaining all over the place.. That's what I do.. But yeah. So what , you can't have babies? Or age?... It's still fun :] I thought both Sims 2, and Sims 2 Pets were I love all of the sims games. Yay! :) Lol. They're so fun. But anyways, everyone is complaining. Blahh.. It's really ANNOYING! Jeez, maybe you should try a game out before you buy it and start complaining all over the place.. That's what I do.. But yeah. So what , you can't have babies? Or age?... It's still fun :] I thought both Sims 2, and Sims 2 Pets were great. :D Get the PC games and don't complain. -.- I can't wait til they come out with Sims 3. Expand
  11. JackKyle
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Guys liston up. I am a member from EA and I know you are upset you can not get pregnent or age and ect. Look we tried we really did but the PS2 does not have the capicity for it. We spent months to get in to a fact instead of a hope but the PS2 just isn't strong enough to hold an ageing engine and a spawning simulater. We will make sure that when Sims 3 comes around it will be 100% toGuys liston up. I am a member from EA and I know you are upset you can not get pregnent or age and ect. Look we tried we really did but the PS2 does not have the capicity for it. We spent months to get in to a fact instead of a hope but the PS2 just isn't strong enough to hold an ageing engine and a spawning simulater. We will make sure that when Sims 3 comes around it will be 100% to your likeing. I will tell what we are thinking about Sims 3 when I have the oppurtinity. Thankyou for listoning to me. EA and I are greatful for you co-operation. Expand
  12. MitsyS.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    I love all Sims games! =) They are great. I was a bit disappointed that you couldn't have children, but.. the pets are cute!
  13. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    Game Rating (8.5): The Sims 2 improves in every level and aspect from the first The Sims. This was a very fun game and addictive at many points while playing.
  14. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    O melhor the sims, the sims 2 , engraçado e divertido, graficos bons para o ps2, e muita mais muita coisa para se fazer durante o jogo, a crianção esta muito legal
  15. Oct 31, 2016
    9
    This game was one of my favorites back in the '0Xs. Not only does it have a story mode (Which the newer games try to emulate with side quests, but truly lack) but it also is the only game featuring the awesome-yet-short-lived Direct Control mechanic. It has a good catalogue size and some unique gimmick items (Genie, costume trunk) as well as a nice conversation system. Though taking careThis game was one of my favorites back in the '0Xs. Not only does it have a story mode (Which the newer games try to emulate with side quests, but truly lack) but it also is the only game featuring the awesome-yet-short-lived Direct Control mechanic. It has a good catalogue size and some unique gimmick items (Genie, costume trunk) as well as a nice conversation system. Though taking care of my sims was never something I was good at (Cheat city, baby) the game was still a wacky, fun game.
    Pros:
    >Control ghosts
    >Easy resurrection
    >No permadeath
    >Fun items and gameplay
    >Story mode
    Cons:
    >No internet connectivity (Not sure if the PC version had this. Disregard this if it didn't.)
    >Not the largest clothing selection
    >No object colour customization (Again, disregard if the PC version couldn't do this either)
    >Do you want your sim to be an adult or an adult ghost? Disclaimer: To create an adult ghost sim, kill an adult sim

    In conclusion, The Sims 2 Console Version is undoubtedly in my Top 5 PS2 Games of All Time, and near-certainly in my Top 15 Games of All Time.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Every bit as addictive and charming as "The Sims" ever were. Degg-degg! [Dec 2005, p.91]
  2. Game Informer
    78
    Even with these new elements, the game isn't as dynamic or addictive as others in the series, but it does manage to find some identity amid its more familiar feature that Sims fans will certainly appreciate. [Nov 2005, p.150]
  3. 90
    If playing the divine hand to a house full of simulated people appeals to you, this is as good as it gets.