The Sims 2 PlayStation 2

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 164
  2. Negative: 84 out of 164
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatttMayo
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    This game is cool but i really need some cheats of some sort!!
  2. AnnaR.
    Jul 7, 2007
    6
    hi, i got Sims 2 Pets for $80 and i thought it was going to be like the PC ones but once i tried i got really bored and u can't have up stairs. i hate having pets on this game because they're too hard to look after, but now i did some cheats sold my pets and have eveything i want on Sims 2 Pets so its gone abit better but still i think the PC ones are sooo..... MUCH BETTER!!
  3. MatthewP.
    Nov 5, 2005
    0
    The p.c version is amazing but all i wanted was exactly the same put on to the playstation 2......the ps2 version is worser than the sims 1!! it has no conventions of the p.c version....you cant get pregnant or even have kids, u dont age andyou cant get engaged! the sims is all about being realistic and this game isnt.
  4. JoshicaM.
    Dec 4, 2005
    2
    EA has truly, truly dissapointed me today. I bought the game, took it home, ripped off the package, and once I played it, I was on the one who felt ripped off. Bustin' out, and the sims for PS2 had more than this. I don't care how many meals my sims can fix. I'm sticking to PC version. EA will have to show me the money before I buy another PS2 game from them. I still love EA has truly, truly dissapointed me today. I bought the game, took it home, ripped off the package, and once I played it, I was on the one who felt ripped off. Bustin' out, and the sims for PS2 had more than this. I don't care how many meals my sims can fix. I'm sticking to PC version. EA will have to show me the money before I buy another PS2 game from them. I still love you on the PC tip, but EA you really let me down on this one. Expand
  5. chasM.
    Mar 14, 2006
    3
    Hay! All you SIM fans or once was fans.I love the sims games but number 2 sucks. I would normally rate as a 10. But you can't get your sim to have a baby. If anyone knows if you can have a baby in story mode email me a cheatmaster7@hotmail.com. Also only email if you got an answer. also you people looking at this before you post it do not!!!!!!!!!!!! take my e-mail addess out !!!!!!
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jul 12, 2006
    1
    The Sims 2 is fun,but mostly stupid. I paid 50 bucks just to play the sims again without the basic concept OF THE SIMS.plus I had the cheat codes and I was going to build like a giant mansion. In my viewThe graphics are good but otherwise this games sucks.
  7. JamesO.
    Jan 15, 2006
    4
    the game is alright but i was very dispointed at not being able to age or have children but im not returning the game i ahve as much fuun burning my sim :P
  8. Falon
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    i got the sims2 for ps2 for xmas and it really is a weak game sims 1 and busten out top this game i was really excited bout gettin it i had 2 for pc and 2 for ps2 and when the sims2 first came out on pc i dint get it cuz it was 50.00 but this time i got it for ps2 and it really sucks computer says u can have twins, toddlers and babys and the grow up but ps2 dosent you shoud make a betteri got the sims2 for ps2 for xmas and it really is a weak game sims 1 and busten out top this game i was really excited bout gettin it i had 2 for pc and 2 for ps2 and when the sims2 first came out on pc i dint get it cuz it was 50.00 but this time i got it for ps2 and it really sucks computer says u can have twins, toddlers and babys and the grow up but ps2 dosent you shoud make a better sims2 or sims3 i was really excited bout this game and it sucks i am returning this game back its pose be bout life life isnt complete with children im sorry to say but you really disapointed me i give you a 2 sims1 a 9 and sims bustin out 9 but sims2 a 2 i hope you make another game!!! i dont think i'll bye another ps2 game from EA. Expand
  9. christinebakerbaker
    Feb 23, 2006
    3
    this is a good game but its kina stupid every one i asked said that sims can get pregnant by whohoing 10 times on the love bed . but now im thinking that u cant get pregnant and that is really stupid because everyother game cant it needs to be esier than that or put it on the label. i dont know if u can make 2 story houses but it was a waste of money im buying it on pc next time
  10. amyn.
    Jun 6, 2006
    2
    i know i hate the sims 2 it sucks coz you cany getr the sim to have a baby i spent since christmas
    trying for my si but no they didnt i thought that i would be able to get my sim to have a baby im discusted with this game f***
  11. BrookeSpencer
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    THIS ONE SUCKED!!!!! It was horrible i liked the 1st one when you could make babies i thought that was really fun!! I was gonna go pawn this game but then realized it wasnt worth it so i gave it to my dad to chew on!! This games was so stupid!!!!
  12. Annie
    Sep 13, 2007
    0
    I hate this game!!! A friend gave it to me and I thought it was going to be so much better than the first Sims game. What a rip-off!!! These games are supposed to simulate real life, well, in real life people get married in churchs or chapels or at least married by some licensed person, people have babies, and people grow older. The story line is soooo shallow and boring. What happened???
  13. MooMoo
    Feb 25, 2009
    1
    No wonder I found this game cheap! I only bought it for 20 bucks... And I don't even enjoy it! There's no children, stairs, etc.

    Ugh! I wish there was. I have the Sims 2 for PC but my computer is just toooo slow :[ I'm so disappointed and dying to play.
  14. TaylerG
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN have a baby! Get a heart bed, whoohoo once, then kiss romantically excactly 15 times. if you puke, and start getting bigger by the days, then your sim is prego! but it only works sometimes. I got a baby the first time, then I didn't the second Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN have a baby! Get a heart bed, whoohoo once, then kiss romantically excactly 15 times. if you puke, and start getting bigger by the days, then your sim is prego! but it only works sometimes. I got a baby the first time, then I didn't the second times. it's kinda like a cheat code that most people dont know. please try it and stop complaining! Expand
  15. AmyC.
    Dec 29, 2005
    0
    I am really dissapointed with the new Sims2 game. I spent hours trying to get my sim pregnant to ten find out it is impossible. It has non of the key featues from the PC version. At first I was really excited about this game but now i feel let down and ripped off! I shall be definately returning this to the shop I bought it from!
  16. SandraM.
    Jan 28, 2006
    0
    The game is a ripp off I paid good money for it and it's terrible. I find it very unfair they took all the Key features out of the PS2. The game "SUCKS" and I want my money back you pigs!
  17. AllisonW.
    Feb 4, 2006
    5
    I was quite pleased with the game. I mean, how many sims games can you get metal detectors and make your own meals? However, even though it probably took EA over a year to make, you can't have babies, and you can't choose from a toddler, teenager, adult, or elder.But It could be worse, so give EA a break! I mean, they could have made it so all the houses and people were already I was quite pleased with the game. I mean, how many sims games can you get metal detectors and make your own meals? However, even though it probably took EA over a year to make, you can't have babies, and you can't choose from a toddler, teenager, adult, or elder.But It could be worse, so give EA a break! I mean, they could have made it so all the houses and people were already made, and you just had to make them do stuff. Now that would be boring. Try harder, EA! Expand
  18. Jenn
    Mar 4, 2006
    5
    The game, while it has excellent graphics and game play, it a rip off. Before I played the game on Playstation2, I had heard about the PC version from my friend and thought the console version would be essentially the same. However, when I found out you can't have kids, I was very dissappointed. The Sims are about reality and family life, but there certainly wasn't much of that The game, while it has excellent graphics and game play, it a rip off. Before I played the game on Playstation2, I had heard about the PC version from my friend and thought the console version would be essentially the same. However, when I found out you can't have kids, I was very dissappointed. The Sims are about reality and family life, but there certainly wasn't much of that this time around. Expand
  19. SammyN.
    Mar 7, 2006
    4
    this game is really cool but i am having troble having children and that REALLY NOT COOL!! but other than that it is coool
  20. DaveC.
    May 1, 2006
    5
    I also bought this game thinking it would be better than The Sims 1 and Bustin Out, and it is except for the fact that you can't have kids or any other aged sim except adult. I also thought it would have 2 story houses but it didn't, but they are the only problems, otherwise I think the game is brilliaint!
  21. pickleslover
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    I have the game for computer it rox. You can have babies,get married,make kids toddlers and teens,and u can make 2 or 4 story houses.It's so much fun and i have about 6 games including pets and seasons so i can make it all the seasons and get pets.I also download stuff from the sims 2 official site.I'm a little worried for sims 3 to come out cuz im not sure my parents will get I have the game for computer it rox. You can have babies,get married,make kids toddlers and teens,and u can make 2 or 4 story houses.It's so much fun and i have about 6 games including pets and seasons so i can make it all the seasons and get pets.I also download stuff from the sims 2 official site.I'm a little worried for sims 3 to come out cuz im not sure my parents will get them for me. I no my grnadparents will there rich!!! Expand
  22. RazvyT.
    Feb 20, 2007
    6
    The game is so-so, it could have been better but it has some new nice features.
  23. SoniaD.
    Mar 5, 2007
    2
    This game ok but its really poor at the same time on the pc you get pregnant watch her belly grow as well as morning sickness and carry it for a Sims 9 month and when u have the baby to teach it to crawl and walk and your sim get to age grow old and die none of this is in the ps2 so I think the next sims game for the ps2 should have this added to it as well as keeping the old stuff to This game ok but its really poor at the same time on the pc you get pregnant watch her belly grow as well as morning sickness and carry it for a Sims 9 month and when u have the baby to teach it to crawl and walk and your sim get to age grow old and die none of this is in the ps2 so I think the next sims game for the ps2 should have this added to it as well as keeping the old stuff to then the game would rock. Expand
  24. GonnD.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    I think it was a the best version yet, I mean you can't have kids on it but hey, they'll fix it in number 3, lol.
  25. amyjones
    Apr 23, 2007
    2
    when the sims 2 first came out i bought it and on the computer it was ab n i lved it but then my computer broke and it wont work on my new one my mum bought me it on the ps2 and i though that it was such a let down, i was so dissapointed.
  26. BenjaminB.
    Jul 27, 2007
    0
    I don't like the sims2 for ps2 whatso ever. I payed $95 of MY allowance. Do you know how long that took to raise and save for. that took 6 months. I'm only 14. 6 months. EA the first sims for ps2 was alot better compared to sims2. EA, Why did you desert us? We expected the game to be wicked awsome. But you turned us down. Flaws: No 2 story housing, No children, No aging, No I don't like the sims2 for ps2 whatso ever. I payed $95 of MY allowance. Do you know how long that took to raise and save for. that took 6 months. I'm only 14. 6 months. EA the first sims for ps2 was alot better compared to sims2. EA, Why did you desert us? We expected the game to be wicked awsome. But you turned us down. Flaws: No 2 story housing, No children, No aging, No pregnancy, Nothing but raising an adult. I hope you make a sims3 that has all the features of the pc version. I'm returning my game rip off artist. Expand
  27. Vampi
    Aug 12, 2007
    0
    okay, see what i dont understnd is that you can have kids on the 1st sims for the PS2, but not the 2nd one, what happened? its stupid. the game was like $50 and it sucks, im going to have to spend another $50 [if not more] for the PC game i guess. >.< *is mad*
  28. mikec.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    dude ive played sims 2 for pc IT SUCKs duh the mods for the game are limited you barely get any opitans you have to worry about pop ups viruses horiible im get sims 2 PS2 bacause the pc wersion stinks an anoter thing whats with the controls bad i agree with many pepole to get console versions PC are old a better game for the pc is world of warcraft
  29. Sims2Lover
    Mar 20, 2008
    5
    Man, I wish you could have kids!! It was like $20 for the Sims2 and $30 for Sims 2 Pets and i used all my money and im 12!!
  30. Ashley....
    Apr 17, 2008
    6
    I like the game it's so cool and my friend has the same one that's what made me bought it because it was so cool. But after I look at all these zero's on this website is just weird. I keep on trying to get a baby LOL but i can't but I saw my friend do it!! :( Unfair! Still I think the game is cool even though you can't have stairs or kids ( but i still could ROFL I like the game it's so cool and my friend has the same one that's what made me bought it because it was so cool. But after I look at all these zero's on this website is just weird. I keep on trying to get a baby LOL but i can't but I saw my friend do it!! :( Unfair! Still I think the game is cool even though you can't have stairs or kids ( but i still could ROFL ) it's still really great. I'm so excited for the sims 3 game I think it's gonna be awesome. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Every bit as addictive and charming as "The Sims" ever were. Degg-degg! [Dec 2005, p.91]
  2. Game Informer
    78
    Even with these new elements, the game isn't as dynamic or addictive as others in the series, but it does manage to find some identity amid its more familiar feature that Sims fans will certainly appreciate. [Nov 2005, p.150]
  3. 90
    If playing the divine hand to a house full of simulated people appeals to you, this is as good as it gets.