The Sims 2 PlayStation 2

The Sims 2 Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: If the world was a blank canvas, how would you fill it in? Create a cast of characters and tell your own stories in The Sims 2. Create Sims, give them personalities, and directly control every move they make. Then customize their world, building their homes, creating their food, andIf the world was a blank canvas, how would you fill it in? Create a cast of characters and tell your own stories in The Sims 2. Create Sims, give them personalities, and directly control every move they make. Then customize their world, building their homes, creating their food, and designing their fashions. Help them in their careers and aspirations as they build a network of friends and avoid their enemies. Enjoy the peaks of pleasure and the trials of pain in your Sims' lives. Immerse yourself in a world created, customized, and controlled by you. Develop a master plan for your Sim's social life, career, and pathway to greatness...or live in chaos! Genuine console controls let you directly control every move your Sims make. Create thousands of your own food recipes and clothing designs from items you acquire throughout your Sims' world. Sims now have memories, adding a new dimension to managing your Sims' relationships. Play copperatively with a friend for double the fun with new split-screen 2-player mode. Experience endless possibilities! There's a surprise around every corner ... and in the couch ... and on the toilet. Investigate your Sim's world to find hidden opportunities that can help (or hurt) in achieving your Sim's goals. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    Every bit as addictive and charming as "The Sims" ever were. Degg-degg! [Dec 2005, p.91]
  2. It may not be as deep as the PC version but compared to most console games, this one is a bottomless pit.
  3. A fun little game. It does a great job of keeping everything that made The Sims so interesting on the PC. However, the game isn’t as well suited for consoles as previous Sims games were. The removal of a real story mode is certainly a detriment. The actual gameplay is top-notch as always, though.
  4. For PC fans, the adapted control system feels awkward and the gameplay limited, and I suspect that console gamers who pick this up to “see what the fuss is about” will be confused as to why anyone could get addicted to a game with such boring A.I. and predictable gameplay.
  5. 70
    The Sims 2 isn't the instant classic that the PC version became, but Maxis had to face a lot of issues when porting the game to the consoles, and aside from a lackluster story mode and less than ideal controls the game is still fairly enjoyable.
  6. 70
    There's still something addictive about this game once you get past the initially slow start. There are dozens and dozens of things to unlock, and charting your progress through the title really sucks you in.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    Left unattended, they are pale shadows of their more vibrant PC counterparts. They seem more vacant and literally dispossessed. [Feb 2006, p.91]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 84
  2. Negative: 48 out of 84
  1. Aug 23, 2016
    10
    O melhor the sims, the sims 2 , engraçado e divertido, graficos bons para o ps2, e muita mais muita coisa para se fazer durante o jogo, aO melhor the sims, the sims 2 , engraçado e divertido, graficos bons para o ps2, e muita mais muita coisa para se fazer durante o jogo, a crianção esta muito legal Expand
  2. TaylerG
    May 9, 2009
    9
    Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN Ok. first of all, on sims 2, you can't have babies. So what!? You can still have a house and everything else! and guess what? You CAN have a baby! Get a heart bed, whoohoo once, then kiss romantically excactly 15 times. if you puke, and start getting bigger by the days, then your sim is prego! but it only works sometimes. I got a baby the first time, then I didn't the second times. it's kinda like a cheat code that most people dont know. please try it and stop complaining! Expand
  3. Ashley....
    Apr 17, 2008
    6
    I like the game it's so cool and my friend has the same one that's what made me bought it because it was so cool. But after I look I like the game it's so cool and my friend has the same one that's what made me bought it because it was so cool. But after I look at all these zero's on this website is just weird. I keep on trying to get a baby LOL but i can't but I saw my friend do it!! :( Unfair! Still I think the game is cool even though you can't have stairs or kids ( but i still could ROFL ) it's still really great. I'm so excited for the sims 3 game I think it's gonna be awesome. Expand
  4. JamesO.
    Jan 15, 2006
    4
    the game is alright but i was very dispointed at not being able to age or have children but im not returning the game i ahve as much fuun the game is alright but i was very dispointed at not being able to age or have children but im not returning the game i ahve as much fuun burning my sim :P Expand
  5. Falon
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    i got the sims2 for ps2 for xmas and it really is a weak game sims 1 and busten out top this game i was really excited bout gettin it i had 2i got the sims2 for ps2 for xmas and it really is a weak game sims 1 and busten out top this game i was really excited bout gettin it i had 2 for pc and 2 for ps2 and when the sims2 first came out on pc i dint get it cuz it was 50.00 but this time i got it for ps2 and it really sucks computer says u can have twins, toddlers and babys and the grow up but ps2 dosent you shoud make a better sims2 or sims3 i was really excited bout this game and it sucks i am returning this game back its pose be bout life life isnt complete with children im sorry to say but you really disapointed me i give you a 2 sims1 a 9 and sims bustin out 9 but sims2 a 2 i hope you make another game!!! i dont think i'll bye another ps2 game from EA. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jul 12, 2006
    1
    The Sims 2 is fun,but mostly stupid. I paid 50 bucks just to play the sims again without the basic concept OF THE SIMS.plus I had the cheat The Sims 2 is fun,but mostly stupid. I paid 50 bucks just to play the sims again without the basic concept OF THE SIMS.plus I had the cheat codes and I was going to build like a giant mansion. In my viewThe graphics are good but otherwise this games sucks. Expand
  7. MatthewP.
    Nov 5, 2005
    0
    The p.c version is amazing but all i wanted was exactly the same put on to the playstation 2......the ps2 version is worser than the sims 1!!The p.c version is amazing but all i wanted was exactly the same put on to the playstation 2......the ps2 version is worser than the sims 1!! it has no conventions of the p.c version....you cant get pregnant or even have kids, u dont age andyou cant get engaged! the sims is all about being realistic and this game isnt. Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#87 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005