Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    One of the best graphical aspects is the biggest new game feature - that of being able to move out of your current house at any time or visit a number of different locations.
  2. The devil's in the details. Take a disco nap, shower, shit, and scooter to Club Rubb, grab ass, go home—mundane or fun, everything recedes into a heartbeat of flushing, snoring, and Simlish.
  3. A fairly unremarkable Sims expansion pack on the same disc as a new cut of the original game.
  4. It's monotonous, mundane, and frightfully addictive - just the way I like 'em. [Jan 2004, p.132]
  5. For those that have yet to experience a Sims game on a console and want to then Bustin’ Out is the way to go.
  6. This is a game without winners and losers. It's all about the personal satisfaction, and engrossing yourself in a wonderful game. Yes, I said a wonderful game.
  7. 85
    This game remains thoroughly addictive and is worth picking up if you're interested in a fun diversion with a reasonable shelf life.
  8. Makes good, solid improvements over its predecessor and stands on its own as a great version of The Sims for consoles.
  9. While TSBO isn’t a major overhaul to the original Sims (more of a "console expansion" if you will), it does however provide enjoyable game play coupled with never ending fun.
  10. 80
    There isn't really anything new to Bustin' Out.
  11. It's not the "best" version, but it's the most complete. If that makes any sense.
  12. It adds just enough to keep fans interested, but doesn't fix all the flaws or reinvent the game. With that said, the game has more focus, a bit more style, a lot more to do, and a definite ending if you choose to pursue it.
  13. 100
    Even the addition of crazy new Social moves like Break Dance and Booty Tease make interactions with other Sims much more fun than they were in previous titles.
  14. 7 / 9 / 8 / 8 - 32 gold [Vol 788; 23 Jan 2004]
  15. It's somehow mind-numbingly mundane and brilliantly addictive at the same time. [Jan 2004, p.92]
  16. We would have loved some additional competitive online options. [Jan 2004, p.29]
  17. Despite a veritable host of respectable changes and additions, this still can't live up to the standards of the original game. An improvement over the last console effort, but with so much more potential than is actually realised, Bustin' Out still disappoints a little. [Christmas 2003, p.126]
  18. The reason that I liked this edition of The Sims, in particular, is that the missions move along quicker than the real world or past versions of the game have offered. [Jan 2004, p.130]
  19. The thing that I see as a big plus is the fact that this game is playable with a friend or even online.
  20. Wilder and more addictive than the original. There are plenty of modes here to satisfy everyone and the fact that you can go out to different locations is just the icing on an already sweet cake.
  21. The Xbox has clearly the best graphics, the PS2 has an exclusive online option where you can trade items with other players. The GameCube and GBA versions have possibly the most exciting exclusive option.
  22. I’m going to go have Sara shag a few more sims, then I’m calling it a night.
  23. Whether embracing one's inner interior designer or one's inner "Porky's," players of all types have something to enjoy in Bustin' Out. [Jan 2004, p.126]
  24. 80
    Of the three, only the PS2 version seems prone to annoying split-second jitters and pauses that break up the animation.
  25. The addition of goals and plenty of different unlockable locations and items does breathe new life into this old game, and slower meters and a more responsive interface lead to a good version of The Sims. However, this game is very similar to the original PS2 version and might not feel filling enough for those who already made that purchase.
  26. There is more freedom in career choices, less intense caretaking, plus a few console specific features. But the gameplay is old hat for previous console players.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Fun. That's the word that can describe this game. As a kid, I absolutely astounded from being able to move from place to place. If your looking for something fun and simple with a little bit of crude humor, Bustin' Out is what you should pickup. Full Review »
  2. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    It's a fun game in the beginning. You visit, move into other areas of the residential area, and build skills and make friends to get promoted. You do this to defeat the filthy rich Macolm who steals people's things for not paying the high rent he set. You get to choose your career of your choice. Once you finished one, you get to choose another. You would notice when you progress halfway through the game, it gets too easy because you are so rich and get so many friends. Too bad really. Full Review »
  3. JennaS.
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    I loved everything about this game. I have completed every goal and played through every scenerio and spent countless hours playing and having a blast. The only reason for rating it a 9 instead of a 10 is because they discontinued online play. :( I wanted to try that so badly and the game box still says it's available but then when you try to connect it won't so we searched online and found out it was discontinued years ago. Major Bummer. But other than that, it's my favorite edition of SIMS of all time! Instead of just trying to keep them alive and happy which gets old, fast, I LOVED having actual goals to work towards in order to unlock the next level. Kept the game interesting!! :) Full Review »