The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. AllJoin hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. All the mini-games are based on popular Nickelodeon TV shows including SpongeBob SquarePants, The Fairly OddParents, Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius, Rocket Power and Danny Phantom (brand new show!), along with special cameo appearances from other Nicktoons. [THQ] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The games are solid, responsive, and, most important of all, fun; but their similarities to previous titles holds it back.
  2. An excellent EyeToy title. It uses the technology in a very creative manner, even if the gameplay itself isn’t all that involved. As a party game, it is ideal as watching a few of your friends wave their hands crazily in the air is just a sight to behold.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    80
    Almost the perfect party game. Up to eight kids can take part in it. Unfortunately only one at a time can play and that's why I say "almost" perfect.
  4. The quality of the 13 varied games is uneven, and most have little depth, but some of Spongebob's amusing EyeToy challenges are as fun as Sony's excellent "Play 2."
  5. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Provides precious little depth, but as a way of getting the kids up out of their seats, the collection works nearly as well. [Jan 2005, p.106]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. RyanA.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever but i cant find cheats if any one nows were i can find chaets email me. raa9@comcast.net.
  2. Aug 4, 2016
    10
    This game is the best SpongeBob game and the best platform game out for the PS2! There's just so much to do and go but never gets annoying orThis game is the best SpongeBob game and the best platform game out for the PS2! There's just so much to do and go but never gets annoying or frustrating. You can ride the Patty wagon, collect Goofy Goober tokens, earn fab combos, play as SpongeBob & Patrick, Go tongue boarding, Earn rewards, and so much more!!! This game is a must have for all SpongeBob fans and even if you're not really a fan of SpongeBob but love platform games, this game is still for you! Best PS2 Platform game ever!!! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Slightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to theSlightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to the music (this applies to BFBB as well) Expand
  4. Jason
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    It's kind of funny to see what kind of ratings some of these games get from the "pros". This is actually an excellent game. I bought itIt's kind of funny to see what kind of ratings some of these games get from the "pros". This is actually an excellent game. I bought it for my 5 year old and was very surprised at how fun it was. Spongebob and Patrick have multiple interesting attacks, plus there are driving, sliding and exploration levels. A very good game.....shame on the ciritcs. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2017
    8
    [ Edited as of 2/2/2017 ] The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie manages to slide its game before its movie counterpart to face numerous other[ Edited as of 2/2/2017 ] The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie manages to slide its game before its movie counterpart to face numerous other licensed games of 2004 and outmatch them all to even the results with its superior spiritual predecessor named Battle for Bikini Bottom. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    This game is very addicting. There is a lot to do after the story too, like trying to do the time trials and collect all of the costumes forThis game is very addicting. There is a lot to do after the story too, like trying to do the time trials and collect all of the costumes for the characters. Expand
  7. PatrickS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?)I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?) easy and that you can do way more stuff than the last SBSP game. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews