The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. AllJoin hosts SpongeBob SquarePants and Patrick Star as they take kids through an amazing new gameplay experience. The PlayStation2 EyeToy allows players to literally jump inside the videogame, where they must use their own body movements to control the action in 11 different mini-games. All the mini-games are based on popular Nickelodeon TV shows including SpongeBob SquarePants, The Fairly OddParents, Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius, Rocket Power and Danny Phantom (brand new show!), along with special cameo appearances from other Nicktoons. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The games are solid, responsive, and, most important of all, fun; but their similarities to previous titles holds it back.
  2. An excellent EyeToy title. It uses the technology in a very creative manner, even if the gameplay itself isn’t all that involved. As a party game, it is ideal as watching a few of your friends wave their hands crazily in the air is just a sight to behold.
  3. Almost the perfect party game. Up to eight kids can take part in it. Unfortunately only one at a time can play and that's why I say "almost" perfect.
  4. The quality of the 13 varied games is uneven, and most have little depth, but some of Spongebob's amusing EyeToy challenges are as fun as Sony's excellent "Play 2."
  5. Provides precious little depth, but as a way of getting the kids up out of their seats, the collection works nearly as well. [Jan 2005, p.106]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Slightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to theSlightly inferior to Battle For Bikini Bottom but nevertheless a great game and one of my all-time favourites. Special recognition to the music (this applies to BFBB as well) Expand
  2. RyanA.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever but i cant find cheats if any one nows were i can find chaets email me. raa9@comcast.net.
  3. May 19, 2014
    10
    Wow... A great movie based game?! You rarely get that these days! The graphics are beautiful, the music are just ear-melting, the gameplayWow... A great movie based game?! You rarely get that these days! The graphics are beautiful, the music are just ear-melting, the gameplay itself really exciting. Ugh, I can't stressed this enough. This ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE is one of the best 3D platformer ever created and it's a must own for every PS2 owners. Expand
  4. DougK.
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    It's a good game but its hard and you need to get goofy foober tokens un able to beat the game. But i still think its a good game.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    The visual art style is a good one, and the voice acting and sfx is good. There was only a few glitches I encountered during my play time. TheThe visual art style is a good one, and the voice acting and sfx is good. There was only a few glitches I encountered during my play time. The story is excellent, and it's just like the movie. The mission structure and level design work well. The controls and combat work good as well, and the game provides a real challenge. The game if you want to comeplete everything last about 13 hours, and the gameplay is varied. If you like spongebob games, then I highly recommend you give it a shot. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2014
    8
    The greatest Spongebob game ever made. I've never had so much fun with a game based on this franchise. The platforming parts are challengingThe greatest Spongebob game ever made. I've never had so much fun with a game based on this franchise. The platforming parts are challenging but rewarding, the level designs are detailed and varied, and the gameplay itself... perfect. You jump a lot, kill enemies and solve puzzles in the normal platforming stages. you slide down tall slopes really fast in "bathtub slide" levels and race against the clock in the "patty wagon race" levels. Mixing all this together makes for a varied and exciting experience. There's several missions on every level (just like in Super Mario 64) and you unlock a bunch of special content (art, sound, videos and costumes) by just playing the game.

    This is what every Spongebob game should be like: a game enjoyed by both kids and adults.
    Expand
  7. PatrickS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    6
    I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?)I'm gonna agree with Game Informer : this is the best spongebob game evr, but it just isn't good at all. i love that its so ( too?) easy and that you can do way more stuff than the last SBSP game. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews