The Terminator: Dawn of Fate PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2002
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
Buy On
  1. 56
    This all-style/little-substance attempt at artistic greatness is saved only because of its convincingly recreated Hollywood atmosphere.
  2. The gameplay isn't particularly good, though it's decent enough that fans of the film series might as well consider checking out the game.
  3. The action isn’t quite as fulfilling or diverse as one might expect.
  4. Game Informer
    60
    Wallows in mediocrity. [Oct 2002, p.84]
  5. 60
    You'd have more fun watching both movies than playing this game.
  6. 60
    The major bones of contention are the clunky controls, clumsy camera, and awkward targeting system.
  7. It looks great and promising but in the end, it's like the ten-minute sequence we saw in the film-merely a glimpse of what could be done.
  8. Play Magazine
    60
    Save for the perspective glitches indicative of an older engine, Dawn of Fate delivers a fitting game based on the resilient Terminator franchise. [Oct 2002, p.76]
  9. 60
    Hey, we liked the hordes of emotionless cyborgs with nothing better to do than march towards certain destruction, but expect many to tire of the simple AI.
  10. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    The shifting camera angles almost always lead to confusion. [Dec 2002, p.174]
  11. PSM Magazine
    60
    The game itself is just plain sloppy....horrible camera and grippy controls. [Dec 2002, p.40]

Awards & Rankings

48
#48 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    1
    I like to think of myself as a patient gamer and I have persisted with other frustrating games but this was just too tedious. Poor cameraI like to think of myself as a patient gamer and I have persisted with other frustrating games but this was just too tedious. Poor camera angles and boring repetitive game-play left me very upset at the time of purchase. Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    4
    This game inspired by the Terminator universe is a generic and mediocre experience overall. First off, the gameplay and camera angles rip offThis game inspired by the Terminator universe is a generic and mediocre experience overall. First off, the gameplay and camera angles rip off from Devil May Cry, which makes it harder to get in to; the graphics are choppy, the music in the game is dull material from metal artists Fear Factory. It's story is neat, but could of been told better. It is a very simple game to get through, but their are elements that could of been improved. Full Review »
  3. TeeAteH.
    Jul 2, 2003
    0
    I dink dat da creators of T1 T2 and T3, mainly C2 pictures should get thier L1's and thier L2's in F-ing order, cause this Game is I dink dat da creators of T1 T2 and T3, mainly C2 pictures should get thier L1's and thier L2's in F-ing order, cause this Game is a shame to the name of the game that we have all come to fame. Geeze Loise, terminate it pleese. Full Review »