TimeSplitters 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The evil race of TimeSplitters are traveling back into human history authoring events that are leading to the enslavement of mankind. In Control of a motley crew of renegade characters you must hunt down the TimeSplitters across time in historical eras like the gangster- Ridden 1920's, theThe evil race of TimeSplitters are traveling back into human history authoring events that are leading to the enslavement of mankind. In Control of a motley crew of renegade characters you must hunt down the TimeSplitters across time in historical eras like the gangster- Ridden 1920's, the lush jungles of Aztec temples, soviet military installations of the cold war and Futuristic robot factories in space. To end the evil plot of the TimeSplitters, seek and recover the crystals required to seal the rift in time. The Fate of humanity is in your hands. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    As a PS2 shooter it's the best I've ever played - I can't emphasize that point enough.
  2. I haven't been sleeping much, because I can't put this game down...Easily one of the best first-person shooters out there - on any system. [Dec 2002, p.176]
  3. Zen-balanced succulent gameplay. Sublime in single-player, supreme with friends. [PSM2]
  4. One of the more challenging titles in the genre with a difficulty that ramps up pretty quickly. [Nov 2002, p.36]
  5. With an intriguing Story mode, addicting Arcade battles, and a Challenge mode that truly puts you to the test, it’s no secret that the key features that made "GoldenEye" such a hit leaked its way into the TimeSplitters world.
  6. This gleeful variety is ultimately what gives TimeSplitters 2 most of its staying power.
  7. While the environments are beautiful, the hackneyed time-travel story line feels shoehorned into the experience... [which] ends up feeling a bit half-baked. [4 Oct 2002, p.158]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the most complete, amazing, hardcore, intense, random, and most awesomest shooters you will ever play.

    Campaign: I
    This game is one of the most complete, amazing, hardcore, intense, random, and most awesomest shooters you will ever play.

    Campaign: I really have never seen this type of campaign before. The missions are very fun to do and are even more fun with a partner. It has splitscreen co-op (only 2 players) and the difficulty system is unique. DO NOT JUST PLAY THE CAMPAIGN ON EASY! On easy difficulty for the campaign, it is very linear. Each mission will take about 15-20 minutes to do and there are aprox. 10 missions. On the other difficulty settings though (medium and hard), if you interact with cetain things in the enviroment, you will be given extra missions. Like on a mission on easy mode, I have 1-4 objectives and about 2-3 other side missions. On medium or hard difficulty, you will have just about the same amount of objectives but up to 3-5 side missions. You can choose to do the side missions for (I think) extra content.

    Challenges: This is the big playground. In challenges mode, you can do certain challenges for certain modes to unlock new modes and multiplayer characters. You can only have one player doing this, though.

    Arcade: This mode is where this game shoves it up modern game hineys so hard. This mode is separated in to two parts: Arcade Custom and Arcade League. Arcade League is just like challenge mode except that it has pre-made multiplayer battles. Again, only one play can do this. Arcade Custom is the beauty of the game. You can customize literally EVERYTHING (I mean it too)! Up to 4-player splitscreen can experience chaotic, awesome multiplayer battles on the same screen. What makes this mode so fun is that you can customize: what weapons you can have on the map
    the characters you want to fight against
    the map; game modes
    You will have mode fun with this mode than any othe game you will play in your entire life. You can have up to 14 player on one map (up to 10 bots and splitscreen). The bot A.I. actually reacts to the difficulty, and half the time you are fighting, you feel like you are in a actual war.

    Rating: I really wish I could rate this game higher. If I could it would be a 25/10. Here's why: No game ever in my life have I had this much fun with my family, EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This game deserves to be in a Hall Of Fame, because it is a landmark of what so many modern shooters are not today. Call of Duty, Battlefield, Medal Of Honor. These games are nothing compared to this. If you have a PS2, Origional XBOX, or a GameCube, buy this game. This game will show you why so many FPS's are failing today. I can get bored of Call of Duty in about 3 years. I'm still not bored of this game and it's been out for over 10 years.

    Follow my advice. Buy this game.
    Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Timesplitters 2 is one of the best first person shooter games ever!!! Story mode was good (could have been more levels.) awesome arcade andTimesplitters 2 is one of the best first person shooter games ever!!! Story mode was good (could have been more levels.) awesome arcade and mapmaker mode. If you don't get this game your missing a out on some of the most fun on a first person shooter you will ever get!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. RYANA.
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    The character models and environments are beautiful, when you get to enjoy them, and the game runs at a constant 60 fps. For all out fun withThe character models and environments are beautiful, when you get to enjoy them, and the game runs at a constant 60 fps. For all out fun with another player or a group of friends nothing out right now beats it. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    TimeSplitters 2 is one of the best shooters ever created. It's unique, challenging, packed full of content, and just incredibly fun to playTimeSplitters 2 is one of the best shooters ever created. It's unique, challenging, packed full of content, and just incredibly fun to play either solo or with friends. Thanks to its robust selection of game modes, levels, and characters, it stays refreshing after hours upon hours of play. The graphics are still visually pleasing after all these years, the controls are snappy and responsive, and the audio is some of the best and most memorable I've ever heard in a game. Games like TimeSplitters 2 are the reason I feel glad to be someone who plays video games and feel sorry for those who don't.

    Simply put, your PS2 library is worthless without this game. Get it.
    Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 15, 2002
    9
    Nearly perfect.
  6. EdB.
    Jun 13, 2005
    9
    Where is the save button in the story mode?
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    TimeSplitters 2 is the king of First Person Shooters, and it still is! The game may look repetitive, but the hours of gameplay will make itTimeSplitters 2 is the king of First Person Shooters, and it still is! The game may look repetitive, but the hours of gameplay will make it worthwhile. TimeSplitters 2 makes you imagine your type of action and relive it your way! This game is truly the pinnacle of shooters! Expand

See all 49 User Reviews