TimeSplitters: Future Perfect Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In TimeSplitters Future Perfect, victory is in the hands of the player's past, present, and future self in a battle that stretches throughout time where humanity is on the brink of destruction from the malevolent TimeSplitters. Cortez--the tough-as-nails hero from previousIn TimeSplitters Future Perfect, victory is in the hands of the player's past, present, and future self in a battle that stretches throughout time where humanity is on the brink of destruction from the malevolent TimeSplitters. Cortez--the tough-as-nails hero from previous installments--finds himself in a frantic race against time in a desperate bid to trace the origin of the TimeSplitters and save mankind. This third installment of the best-selling franchise will feature hundreds of hours of gameplay and an improved Story mode that ties all the missions together, immersing gamers in an epic adventure between the years of 1914 and 2401. Innovative "meet yourself" time travel gameplay lets players be their own ally by teaming up with past and future versions of themselves. The game also will allow two players to fight through the Story in Co-op mode, and features extensive Challenge and Arcade modes, and a Multiplayer mode that allows gamers to battle in 16-player death match online on the PlayStation(R)2 computer entertainment system. In addition, gamers will experience an improved Map Maker feature allowing them to easily create and play their own maps and share them online. TimeSplitters Future Perfect promises to be one of the deepest arcade shooters on the console with hundreds of unlockables, more realistic environments, spectacular special effects, high quality animated cut scenes, an improved physics engine, smarter enemy AI, and much more. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. So say what you will about TimeSplitters being too arcadey or too cartoony or not serious enough—I'll just be over here having a hell of a time. Last I checked, that's what games were for.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    An intensive 3D shooter with a twist or two. The plot does not make much sense, but it is entertaining. [Mar. 05]
  3. Every aspect of the game feels polished and ready to go, whether it's the single-player story, the online multiplayer, the numerous unlockables, or the custom mapmaker. This is one of those rare Jack-of-all-trades that has actually mastered them all.
  4. Free Radical still offers up a fantastic experience that will make you laugh, cry, laugh some more, and feel like a kooky bad ass from the future.
  5. Play Magazine
    80
    What this game contains that is totally removed from everything else out there is a quirky, infectious, humorous character, one that seems to deeply reflect the personality of its makers. When you play it, you really sense a stamp of originality and zany flavor in its presentation and structure. [March 2005, p.48]
  6. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The main, single player story mode may be the biggest disappointment in TimeSplitters: Future Perfect but it makes a decent training mode for the variety of other fun offline and online modes.
  7. 60
    Lacks some of the technological prowess of other shooters, but its personality and extras keep its head above water.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. AbdulA.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This game is FUN. FUN. it may not have amazing graphics or great gameplay, but its FUN. last time i checked thats what games were made for...
  2. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    The best game in Time Splitters history
  3. MattC.
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    How can you not love this game?
  4. May 26, 2013
    10
    Probably the best FPS I've ever played. A awesome campaign full of memorable moments and cool supportive characters also co-op campaign AProbably the best FPS I've ever played. A awesome campaign full of memorable moments and cool supportive characters also co-op campaign A ton of challenges and arcade leagues. 150 characters to pick from in multiplayer. 10+ game modes and maps. Cool weapons. A well made OST. Profile stats in full detail. Mapmaker. It's just full with quality content. TS:FP is a great update from TS2. The only bad thing that I can come up with, is that I miss some TS2 maps. If you still have your PS2/XBOX/GCN, buy this gem.
    TimeSplitters:Future Perfect 10/10:OMG!!!
    Join a 100.000 strong for TimeSplitters!
    Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I know technically this isn't the best game in the world, but it captures the essence of what makes a game great anyway. It's pure,I know technically this isn't the best game in the world, but it captures the essence of what makes a game great anyway. It's pure, unadultered fun, and even today I find myself returning to my PS2 and firing it up occasionally. I don't know if it's nostalgia since I was 19 when I played it for the first time, but with a few exceptions I loved every second of it and can't resist going back to it again and again.

    I have it for both GC and PS2. I first got it for GC, then got it for PS2 when my GC crapped the bed and I wanted to play Future Perfect. I would say the GC version looks slightly crisper, but the PS2 version is superior because of the larger music selection in Arcade (that matters a lot to me). Otherwise there is no real difference, especially today with the online servers gone from the PS2's shelf of advantages. Both the GC and PS2 controllers handle about the same for FPSes.

    I'm a Timesplitters veteran. I've never owned TS1, but I logged 250 hours into the GC version of TS2, about 150 hours into the GC version of Future Perfect, and almost 100 hours into the PS2 version of Future Perfect.

    My reception of FP may have been even better if I didn't have TS2 to compare. FP gets a lot of technical things right. The graphics are undeniably the best in the trilogy, from smooth animations to artistry to character detail and texture design. The music is arguably the best in the series as well, and that's remarkable considering the whole trilogy has a tragically underrated OST. Some of this music is fantastic and worthy of a strong story to accompany it.

    Speaking of which, story has never been a strong point of the TimeSplitters trilogy, and in FP the attempt at a cohesive narrative is lame most of the time, and mouth-agape, face-palmingly stupid other times. There are nice moments in the dialogue and some of the characterization, but overall the narrative did nothing but make me wish Free Radical never even tried it. Two of the characters, one of which talks to Sgt. Cortez throughout the story through some crazy, reason and method the game never really explains, ruin any idea of a story I had about the TimeSplitters in my head. Make no mistake; this game pissed on my perception of the TimeSplitters as an alien race and features one of the worst main antagonists I've ever seen. I would have no problem with any future revival of the series discarding the story in FP as ludicrous hogwash and starting over with some of the same characters.

    The shooting mechanics in FP have been fine-tuned and offer the best balance between precision and speed of any game in the trilogy. In TS2, the focus was on speed, and my accuracy in that game compared to FP reflects that. In Arcade, bots in TS2 can be very imbalanced, with the hardest bots being titans of gunplay and the easiest bots being nothing more than rag doll targets. In FP, greater balance is achieved, and unlike in TS2 when the hardest bots seemed invincible at times, the player(s) always feels like he can kill anyone in the match and come out on top.

    That said, the near-impossible difficulty of TS2's Story mode on Hard is something I always treasured. It's much easier in FP. The balance is welcome in Arcade where you'll be spending most of your time anyway, but it's just another reason why FP's Story mode sucks.

    Improper English is somehow a prevalent problem in the trilogy. If you're an English nerd like me, it'll certainly annoy you to have to read things like, "it's every freak for themselves" in a commercial video game.

    What this game gets right, however, it really gets right. Multiplayer is outstanding. The stages are all awesome and quite varied. Character selection is massive and filled with a delightfully colorful cast, including zombies, robots, and four variations of monkey. It's all customizable too. Everything is up to you down to the smallest detail, like what weapons to use, what CPU bots are present, how good they are, and how many, what music plays in the background, whether you see the radar on the screen or not, whether or not health regenerates as you play, etc.

    Lastly, there's the game's sense of humor, which is stellar when it isn't shoehorned into the context of a bad narrative. It's part of the reason why I keep going back. The game is pure fun in a way that transcends logical thought. That, to me, is why video games exist, and it's why this is one of my favorite games of all time. That many people don't even know of its existence is a travesty.
    Expand
  6. JayS
    May 21, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome the mapmaking is better that the the 2nd game. it would be better if you could have a larger memory for each game. the This game is awesome the mapmaking is better that the the 2nd game. it would be better if you could have a larger memory for each game. the choice of weapons is very large. Expand
  7. MarkJ.
    Mar 30, 2005
    5
    Looks nice. but it breaks some of the good stuff from TS1 and TS2. continuous checkpoints mean that you can't get back very far, which Looks nice. but it breaks some of the good stuff from TS1 and TS2. continuous checkpoints mean that you can't get back very far, which seems bad if you are nearly dead at checkpoint. but since the game is so much more shallow than previous games, actually it doesnt matter. lots of locked door and other contrived things keep the game strictly on rails.(is this a memory limitation on the PS2?) of course, the game engine rocks, so the multiplayer deathmatch etc are great. shame about the game, though. feels more like an arcade game. Remember twin calibre? Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005