Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon 2 PlayStation 2

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Joeaverage
    Jan 30, 2005
    4
    A good idea with good graphics but if your looking for a team based shooter dont buy this the team ai is terrible your team could hit a fly with a grenade from a different country but they can't shot someone who stands in front of them very disappointing.
  2. MargaritoZ.
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Good game good story line great graphics and a good sigle player option with lone wolf.
  3. JasonG.
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    Excellent, intense game. Great amount of strategy integrated with quite a bit of action makes for a superb gaming experience.
  4. Nick
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Having played ghost recon 2 as well as rainbow six and socom 2, i can say that this game has by far the best and most fun online gaming i have ever seen. it can play up to 16 in one game and has great map. i would recommend to anyone interested in an online shooter.
  5. Brad
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    I have to give the ps2 GR2 a 9 because it is still an amazing game but because the xbox GR2 gets the 10.
  6. BenN.
    Jan 14, 2005
    6
    Very disappointing, but altogether standard.
  7. JoshB.
    Mar 1, 2005
    7
    This was a practical game I enjoyed half of the missons. The gharphs are pretty good maby a 7.5 and the sound in great 8.5. The few things I did not like was no SPLIT SREEN MUTIPARYER! and Scott mitchell, the leader, does not put the rpg on his bhich is odd.
  8. TimL.
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    I think this is a great game and that anyone which is looking for a shooter game, to get this one.
  9. Socom2FAN
    Dec 5, 2004
    0
    This game sucks, the graphics, movements, everything is just terrible. Playing this game is not even as good as playind Duke Nukem 3D!
  10. JackM.
    May 16, 2007
    3
    This was very boring. Sure the graphics may look good but gameplay was boring. It's easy to take damage; your constantly taking cover. There are no health packs. Your team is useless. And once you die, you start from the beginning of the mission; there are no checkpoints. All I can say is, very boring!
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    Very Poor. They took away all the best things about the first two games (Open and non-linear landscapes, a second fireteam and the ability to fully customize them, switching between team members) and instead produced a SOCOM clone that has nothing to do with the first two games, and is vastly inferior to SOCOM in all ways to boot. The AI is a joke, watching two of my team mates and oneVery Poor. They took away all the best things about the first two games (Open and non-linear landscapes, a second fireteam and the ability to fully customize them, switching between team members) and instead produced a SOCOM clone that has nothing to do with the first two games, and is vastly inferior to SOCOM in all ways to boot. The AI is a joke, watching two of my team mates and one enemy firing away at each other in the open from three feet away and no one getting hit, but everyone of their soldiers is a sharpshooter when aiming at you. Your team mates do nothing to aid in the missions at all. They don't even draw fire away from you. If all that didn't kill the atmosphere from the first two games, your Commanding Officer sounds like he moonlights as the Movie-Fone guy. This ought not have the Ghost Recon wording on the box. It's actually an entirely different shooter, and an extremely poor on at that

    Pros: Graphics and Background story
    Cons: Everything else
    Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. A brave sequel that tries a little too hard... Its lack of accessibility will annoy "Rainbow Six 3" die-hards, while the new direction will leave fans of the original feeling rather cold. [Christmas 2004, p.102]
  2. A flawed experience from start to finish, Ghost Recon 2 on the PS2 has its share of really good action-packed moments, but its glitches are just too hard to ignore.
  3. An inferior product. This is a linear, action-oriented shooter that has precious little in common with the original game's realistic and tactical squad-based combat.