Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. 37
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter is a very bad game on the PlayStation 2. It's terrible from a technical standpoint, and nothing else about its design really brings it out of the gutter.
  2. This version of the game takes what should have been a wide-open, tactical experience in a massive metropolis and turns it into just another run-and-gun shooter that ramrods you through narrow corridors.
  3. A game that just can't keep up with Clancy's ever-evolving war zone. [July 2006, p.80]
  4. It's a sloppy, rushed port of a game that deserved better. [July 2006, p.77]
  5. There comes a time when you should just move on. I think Tom Clancy games and the Playstation 2 should go ahead and part ways. The system just isn't powerful enough to do what I think UbiSoft really wants to do with their games.
  6. Laziness of the worst kind, this is a charmless shadow of the next-gen version. There are plenty of better shooters available on PS2. [May 2006, p.82]
  7. The PS2 game was never going to compete with the Xbox 360's graphics, and neither did anyone expect it to. What we didn't anticipate was a completely dumbed down version that doesn't seem to know whether it's a straightforward first-person shooter or a tactical war game.
  8. Unfortunately, all that's beneath the complex briefings and tactical-sounding objectives is some rather standard shooting. [June 2006, p.50]
User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    6
    This game is boring for the PS2 and i rated this game 6.0/10.I don't like the tactics,levels,challenges and the multiplayer but i only theThis game is boring for the PS2 and i rated this game 6.0/10.I don't like the tactics,levels,challenges and the multiplayer but i only the graphics for this game.If you ask me i prefer the Xbox360 and the PC version of this game more.I did play this game and it was so boring.

    GameSpot rated this game 4.4/10 and IGN rated this game 3.7/10
    Full Review »
  2. AmirulH
    Jul 21, 2009
    0
    The most disappointing game i ever seen.... When i played this game, it makes me not sense why the xbox 360 is better that playstation 2. The most disappointing game i ever seen.... When i played this game, it makes me not sense why the xbox 360 is better that playstation 2. Why? The playstation 2 cannot do more better than original PC games,but i`m gonna say, this game is worthless,stupid graphics, stupid gameplay , and you may throw this game into the rubbish.This game say the most advance graphics and gameplay but what i seen, it totally suck! But if you fan of tom clancy's game, i suggest you do not play this game.It`s bad for you. Full Review »
  3. GeorgeF.
    Apr 2, 2007
    2
    Considering this is supposed to be an elite unit, the gameplay isn't even close to being realistic. I thought GR2 was bad, but this is Considering this is supposed to be an elite unit, the gameplay isn't even close to being realistic. I thought GR2 was bad, but this is the worst GR yet. Even if it is, like awesome duuuuuuuuude, on the X-box 360 the Ghost teams don't act like any SF unit out there, maybe a glorified Ranger unit at best. I love how product placement by Crye and Hatch as well as the HK XM-8 (which is now a failed project and scrapped) are littered throughout the game. At least they got the Mutlicam right - everyone knows they will be replacing the useless ACUs soon anyway. Overall, it's just boring urban shooting and nothing more. Full Review »