Tony Hawk's American Wasteland PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rossh
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    i dont know why anyone can dislike this game, i honestly think that its the best ps2 game ever (and better than any game on another platform, for that matter), the BMX part played a v?tal part, as d?d the completley load?ng screen-free game world, and the soundtrack (? have fallen ?n love w?th astro zomb?es (my chem romance(covered from the m?sf?ts)) and ever fallen ?n lovei dont know why anyone can dislike this game, i honestly think that its the best ps2 game ever (and better than any game on another platform, for that matter), the BMX part played a v?tal part, as d?d the completley load?ng screen-free game world, and the soundtrack (? have fallen ?n love w?th astro zomb?es (my chem romance(covered from the m?sf?ts)) and ever fallen ?n love (thursday(covered from buzzcocks))) Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i dont know why anyone can dislike this game, i honestly think that its the best ps2 game ever (and better than any game on another platform, for that matter), the BMX part played a v?tal part, as d?d the completley load?ng screen-free game world, and the soundtrack (? have fallen ?n love w?th astro zomb?es (my chem romance(covered from the m?sf?ts)) and ever fallen ?n love (thursday(covered from buzzcocks))) Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best Tony Hawk game yet. I can't wait until the next one comes out.
  4. CoryK.
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    I was hoping this game would recover from THUG2. This game places more emphasis on skating...and biking too...but i still dont think there is enough emphasis on skating. now its about trashing l.a. and rebuilding an old skate park. i found myself questioning some missions and some of the new additions.
  5. Rhys
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    Bloody Awesome but the hallways to other locations such (it really is a different load screen) but hay that dosen't bring down the game Rock on! Tony Hawk and Neversoft
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    Free roam is an interesting and fun part of this game. Another Tony Hawk game that I spent money on and finished overnight. A reason to lose sleep when you're in elementary school
  7. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Actually my favorite game in the Tony Hawk series, this game is unique and addictive. It has the best Create-A-Park mode yet, as well as lots of places to skate. Yet again, Neversoft pulls off a masterpiece that is an instant recommendation. What else can I say?
  8. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    While the "no loading" advertisement may be a blatant lie, it has no real significance. The game is uber-fun, albeit with tons of fun bugs, a very mild soundtrack, and the fact that it's really bloody easy. Nevertheless, I recommend this to anyone who still knows what a PS2 is.
  9. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    This game is my childhood. It's my favourite tony hawk game and my 4th favourite game. American wasteland has all the other th games had AND MORE (Except create a goal). Parkour,bmx... Probably the most addictive game i've ever played

Awards & Rankings

#94 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. While the gameplay in Tony Hawk's American Wasteland is still sharp, and the game still looks and sounds just fine, this seventh installment just seems to lack that special spark that made the series so much fun in the first place.
  2. 85
    As a whole, the story, attitude and overall focus of the game is much better this time around than what we've seen from the two "THUG" games.
  3. It's the best Tony Hawk game yet, and as someone who's played them all to death, that's no passing comment. Better level design, better presentation and better overall polish, this is THE game to buy if you're a Tony Hawk fan.