Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Challenge up to four friends in online competitions over a LAN or the Internet. Take them on in both Trick Attack and Graffiti modes. [Activision]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Neversoft’s conspicuously elite design ability has created some of the most challenging, yet most rewarding levels ever conceived in a skateboarding game. [Dec 2001, p.94]
  2. 100
    This game will not be completed in a weekend – this is one of those rare games that will take a lifetime to play. Not a biggie – you won’t soon be bored with it.
  3. The courses themselves are also graphical masterpieces. The size of the skating environments in THPS3 dwarfs the levels that were found in THPS2 and each level comes to life with rich detail.
  4. 97
    Should go down in history as one of the best twitch-fests on PS2. Yes, TH3 is that good. The perfect skating game remains just a tiny hair's breadth out of reach, but if you are not satisfied with your purchase of this game, head examinations are recommended.
  5. Once you get used to it, however, tricks will come second nature, and you'll enjoy the view of the humongous levels, which explode in dazzling colors and glorified details.
  6. Neversoft must have made a deal with the devil, because this series refuses to cool down. [Dec 2001, p.246]
  7. While fans of the last installment may at first be disappointed in the apparent lack of notable new features and improvements, there are plenty of additions to be enjoyed after mastering the new options and levels.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 53
  2. Negative: 8 out of 53
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    THPS3 is definitely my favorite video game of all-time. The Career Mode is once again extraordinary, with bigger and better levels, (except the Suburbia level it wasn't that good of a level for me) the Park Editor is a downright upgrade to the THPS2 version, Create-A-Skater is much more fun to play around with, and much more. Absolutely everything works in this game. Try it, you will not regret it. Guaranteed. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Best Sports Game of all-time.
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    An extremely fun game with lots to do and hours of addiction. The game has many places to skate, including a foundry, suburbs, Los Angeles, and more! Tons of secrets are buried within the depths of THPS3, like locations from the first Pro Skater, and bonus skaters. Hundreds of tricks and even a PARK EDITOR make this game one of my top 5 favorite video games of all time!! Collapse
  4. May 5, 2011
    9
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 is even better than the first two games, including twice as much variety in visuals, control, and freedom. Pros: Excellent single-player and multi-player modes; great graphics; solid control with extra combos; some of the best level design on a Tony Hawk game; wacky missions. Cons: A hit-or-miss soundtrack; though it's certainly a step-up from the first two games, Pro Skater 3 doesn't innovate as much as it should've. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Yeah, it's great but should it get all teh attention and praise? Not really. I wasn't really playing games when this came out so I don't reallty think I'm one to judge but I played Grand Theft Ayto 3 around this time and even then, when I was 6, it blew me away. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    This game is awesome but it's not all that it's cracked up to be.The x box version is superior in this case.There is even added levels in the x box version,listen to your music,better graphics.But of course when it comes down to it it is the same game but the x box cleaned up the little bit of mess it left. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    The most excruciatingly boring and annoying game I have ever played in my 27 years to date. I gave my copy to charity but I would have paid someone to take it off my hands. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews