User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillI.
    Oct 25, 2007
    4
    A complete, and utter disapointment for die-hard PS2/Tony Hawk Fans. Neversoft leaves all the goodys for the X Box 360, and playstation 3, such as Video Editor, and Room decorator. This came to me (as it will come to most) a definite letdown. Neversoft completely strips all the cool and new features from the PS2 and Wii, as they did for Project 8. Leaving the game as just another boring A complete, and utter disapointment for die-hard PS2/Tony Hawk Fans. Neversoft leaves all the goodys for the X Box 360, and playstation 3, such as Video Editor, and Room decorator. This came to me (as it will come to most) a definite letdown. Neversoft completely strips all the cool and new features from the PS2 and Wii, as they did for Project 8. Leaving the game as just another boring and droll Tony Hawk release. Although these are all serious disapointments, the game does have it's moments. One of these include the fact that the storyline is more deep and compelling. It allows you to make your own decisions and although it all leads up to the same point, it's interesting to see your character progress through 3 types of skating styles; Rigger skater, which allows you to essentually click into, and out of park editor mode at any time in the game. Another skate style is the Hardcore skater which is pretty much skating for yourself, and no one else. The final skate style is career skater, which is pretty self explanatory, you skate for money and fame. Neversoft also added in a new feature, Nail the Grab. Tony Hawk's Proving Ground on Playstation 2 is nothing new, and it raises the question; why did Neversoft Release it on Playstation 2 in the first place? The world of video gaming is moving on, and leaving the Playstation 2 in the dust. Tony Hawk's Proving Ground is a prime example of this statement. Expand
  2. TwistaS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Its a good game no doubt but I'm confused does or y doesn't proving ground on ps2 n xbox hav the more further or better storyline on the ps3 n xbox 360 i mean i played it and i just don't see it do i hav to get all done wit the career, hardcore, rigger, n street. I finished all except street.
  3. ColinS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    0
    The first game ever to crash whilst saving in my 7 years of owning a PS2? Tony Hawks Project 8. The second and only other game to crash whilst saving? Tony Hawks Proving Ground. Studio 44 have basically taken the PS3 version and butchered it until it's small enough to run on a PS2. Clearly they didn't care how it turned out. The game both looks and feels horrible. Even if you The first game ever to crash whilst saving in my 7 years of owning a PS2? Tony Hawks Project 8. The second and only other game to crash whilst saving? Tony Hawks Proving Ground. Studio 44 have basically taken the PS3 version and butchered it until it's small enough to run on a PS2. Clearly they didn't care how it turned out. The game both looks and feels horrible. Even if you manage to get past the horrible feel of it, you'll live with the constant fear that it might crash at any moment. And normally it does! If you can tolerate a half baked, frankly pathetic effort of a game that crashes during saving, thus losing everything you've managed to achieve then buy it. If you want quality, leave this poor effort on the shelf. There are no words to describe how abysmal the PS2 version is. Expand
  4. SandroZ.
    Oct 27, 2007
    5
    That's right Neversoft did leave out a lot.I was disappointed.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Tony Hawk's Proving Ground lacks in many things. Fans of the series may have found Project 8(PS2) disappointing, and I agree with them. It cut out too many things that people loved about the series. With Proving Ground, the series is even farther toward the gravestone. Again, there is no Create-A-Park to be seen. The story is truly uninspired and dull. The camera during gameplay is veryTony Hawk's Proving Ground lacks in many things. Fans of the series may have found Project 8(PS2) disappointing, and I agree with them. It cut out too many things that people loved about the series. With Proving Ground, the series is even farther toward the gravestone. Again, there is no Create-A-Park to be seen. The story is truly uninspired and dull. The camera during gameplay is very "odd" once again. Balance meters cover the whole screen...Yikes! The graphics are decent but not the best in the bunch. The story can easily be completed within a day or to by intermediate players. For new players, the learning curve is pretty easy, which I give the game props for. The game was pretty fun otherwise, but just not in the caliber of what we want. Collapse
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    The Proving Ground is not as good as in the previous sections because:
    - The same graphics
    - Monotonous gameplay
    - No new
    - Boring cities
    But because there are good things in it.
    - Tony Hawk's ancient atmosphere
    - Good tricks
  7. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    Many complaints about this game, as read by me while online reading 'walkthroughs. I found myself playing Glitch more that skating around. Soundtrack sometimes glitches and hangs in levels until console restarted. Game freezes up periodically. Classic goal' things cannot be completed, simply because items were never found. For example the fifth shoe in Baltimore skate park. And theMany complaints about this game, as read by me while online reading 'walkthroughs. I found myself playing Glitch more that skating around. Soundtrack sometimes glitches and hangs in levels until console restarted. Game freezes up periodically. Classic goal' things cannot be completed, simply because items were never found. For example the fifth shoe in Baltimore skate park. And the snake run moonwalk was done over with no prevail. Goals are too excruciating and must be done over and over before completed. No special meter or tone for focus control, the player is left to guess. Cheats required everywhere. I rate this a 3 Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Tony Hawk's Proving Ground lacks in many things. Fans of the series may have found Project 8(PS2) disappointing, and I agree with them. It cut out too many things that people loved about the series. With Proving Ground, the series is even farther toward the gravestone. Again, there is no Create-A-Park to be seen. The story is truly uninspired and dull. The camera during gameplay is veryTony Hawk's Proving Ground lacks in many things. Fans of the series may have found Project 8(PS2) disappointing, and I agree with them. It cut out too many things that people loved about the series. With Proving Ground, the series is even farther toward the gravestone. Again, there is no Create-A-Park to be seen. The story is truly uninspired and dull. The camera during gameplay is very "odd" once again. Balance meters cover the whole screen...Yikes! The graphics are decent but not the best in the bunch. The story can easily be completed within a day or to by intermediate players. For new players, the learning curve is pretty easy, which I give the game props for. The game was pretty fun otherwise, but just not in the caliber of what we want. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 70
    Tony Hawk's Proving Ground does exactly what most fans of the series probably expected.
  2. Tony Hawk’s Proving Ground does a great job of bringing the Proving Ground experience to the Wii and PS2. The game is a port of the next-generation versions and includes many of the same environments, goals, characters, etc.
  3. This version of Proving Ground makes it pretty clear that the priority for the Tony Hawk series is not on this platform.