• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 4, 2006
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PedroA.
    Mar 7, 2006
    8
    the best riding simulator ever seen.
  2. KurdtK.
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    What a beautiful game! I thought moto gp3 for the xbox was the bee's knees, until now. The bike handling is realistic, and there is a great sense of speed and weight; and there isn't any of the moto gp bullshite where other riders may clip you and send you spinning... The bikes look beautiful, and there is a large selection of "classic" rides from the 80's, which is really What a beautiful game! I thought moto gp3 for the xbox was the bee's knees, until now. The bike handling is realistic, and there is a great sense of speed and weight; and there isn't any of the moto gp bullshite where other riders may clip you and send you spinning... The bikes look beautiful, and there is a large selection of "classic" rides from the 80's, which is really quite cool. I bought this the minute it came off the best buy truck (really). Best racing game since Forza. Collapse
  3. CaptainKirk
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    This game has a lot of problems and feels half finished. However, it's so fun to play and beautiful to see you forget all the issues after a few days and are left with riding bliss. Oh, and everyone should try ToCA3. It's better than Forza or PGR3!
  4. EfeB.
    Jun 19, 2006
    8
    its cool. i love how the bikes handle, feels like a tight simulation. i dont understand why people gave this game such low scores, its a moto-simulation...thats it, were people expecting flying monkeys? i also like how you acquire the bikes, not through money as in gran turismo but as you win a one-on-one race...which has a cool madmax feel about it. i dont know what else to say...a sure its cool. i love how the bikes handle, feels like a tight simulation. i dont understand why people gave this game such low scores, its a moto-simulation...thats it, were people expecting flying monkeys? i also like how you acquire the bikes, not through money as in gran turismo but as you win a one-on-one race...which has a cool madmax feel about it. i dont know what else to say...a sure buy, very fun...even if you are not into bikes. Expand
  5. BillK.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I really like it, it's not perfect, but then again, what game is? Perfect for the times that I can not ride my real sportbike.
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    This game is a little absurd in that it is not really about racing. Its about you vs. the track. It is a calm game with a narrow premise. It exceeds in technical excellence. The detail and controls are perfect. It even has 1080i so you can see ahead on the track on new TVs. The tracks are great. The bikes are great. It is better than any bike game I've played. However, it just doesn't giveThis game is a little absurd in that it is not really about racing. Its about you vs. the track. It is a calm game with a narrow premise. It exceeds in technical excellence. The detail and controls are perfect. It even has 1080i so you can see ahead on the track on new TVs. The tracks are great. The bikes are great. It is better than any bike game I've played. However, it just doesn't give you the excitement of other driving games. Its a bit ridiculous you must do hard challenges to earn bikes, then go race them lastly. This is a narrow and technical bike game, that will probably give you hours of frustration. Its so cheap its worth picking up though. It is more fun than I had with GT4. I'd get this if you want to demo motorcycles, but not for a racing game and not for the sake of gaming. Overall its kind of cool to own. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    best bike simulator by far. Even if it has some little issues, the haven't been something similar till today. Hopefully there will be a sequel to this game.
  8. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Technically its a proficient game for the PS2 with great graphics and sound. The bikes are highly detailed and sound incredible and the tracks are nice to drive in. The physics are realistic, many though will be turned down as a bike handles wholly different than a car so its learning curve is higher than its car equivalent. Despite this though i can safely say that once you get the hangTechnically its a proficient game for the PS2 with great graphics and sound. The bikes are highly detailed and sound incredible and the tracks are nice to drive in. The physics are realistic, many though will be turned down as a bike handles wholly different than a car so its learning curve is higher than its car equivalent. Despite this though i can safely say that once you get the hang of it, it is an enjoyable experience. The main career feels shallow at times as there is no feature to win money with which to buy new bikes and modify them. It also lacks some different modes. it has standard races and time attack, but it could have offroad races like enduro and motocross while there could be more bikes. Still, upgradable or not, varied or not, no riding game gave you the chance to ride that many types of motorcycles from a variety of different eras and lets not forget that a bike is a bike, the symbol of freedom to many people giving you the sense that you are the king of the road and could fly. The game does a great job at giving you that very feeling, a feeling which turns out to be addicting. I found myself returning in the game to get my dose of speedy freedom and i give the game props for that. In the end tourist trophy succeeds. succeeds in doing to a gamer what a fast motorbike does to its rider, giving you the sense of freedom, thrills and excitement of riding a motorbike. It did it to me and i have no past experience with a fast motorbike. For this, tourist trophy is the best motorbike game out there. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 56
  2. Negative: 4 out of 56
  1. Tourist Trophy is never anything more than you, a motorcycle, and the quest for the racing line. It’s more than accomplished enough to fulfil fanatics of bikes and simulations, but too dry for anyone else. [Apr 2006, p.86]
  2. 80
    Tourist Trophy is highly customizable, and provides a chillingly realistic riding experience. While it may lack a few obvious features, this is still a strong start for the first real extension of the Gran Turismo franchise, and one that can only get better with time.
  3. There is plenty of fun to be had here, but there is also plenty of room for improvement.